We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent....”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed here with family in June 2011 for 2 nights. We used Choice Hotel points for the hotel with the purpose of visiting Cedar Point and Soak City. Staff was friendly, room was okay. Beds were extremely hard, but it was still a bed and a place to rest after a long day!!
When we checked into the room, we noticed there was a stain that appeared to be blood on the inside of the lampshade, they immediately came and changed it. Other than that, the room was okay, outdated but overall clean. No coffee makers in the room tho!!!
Would stay again if doing Cedar Point but would not stay if planning on spending lots of time at the hotel. Did not use the pool but it was very small, breakfast was minimal but did the job.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manders1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    23
    6
    12
See reviews for
33
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Econo Lodge Cedar Point South was an excellent value & very close to Cedar Point. Very small motel was quiet & comfortable but office is not open 24 hours. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Maid did an excellent job of cleaning the room. Breakfast was limited & items had to be taken back to the room to be consumed but items were individually wrapped, fresh & tasty. A tray would be a nice touch to carry items for your family back to the room but is probably not done so you don't overindulge & exhaust their limited supply. No in-room coffee but daily paper on the door was a nice touch. One ice machine but it kept up with demand. Only one pop machine & it was out of order. No candy machine but Mexican restaurant in the parking lot & Friendly’s right next door. Outdoor pool was clean but didn't care for the additional remote cleaning pump in the way. Mattress was worn & needed replacement. Bathroom recently remodeled with separate sink & high ceilings/shower head. Cable with full line of channels though some not as clear as to be expected. Overall an excellent value for what we paid & was clean, comfortable & a close place to crash after being at the park all day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apxcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This motel was OLD but clean. My husband and I with two young children stood here for two nights for a trip to Cedar Point. The beds were unconfortable but you get what you paid for. I must say that the personnel were very accomodating and friendly. We originally were booked for three nights but they let us cancel without penalties for the 3rd night! Very Nice! This motel is in a great location where food and groceries were readily available. I would recommend it for a family on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama2purplemonkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We arrived at 8am, which is before our check-in time. The owner let us check in right then, no questions asked. The breakfast consisted of bagels, donuts, muffins, coffee, orange juice, nothing fancy, but it was breakfast. We were there to go to cedar point, not stay in the hotel room. It was an average room, not dirty, quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pencil_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The location was great, my husband and I didn't care about walking distance to Cedar point, but to the Thirsty Pony for dinner and a few drinks. Minus the staff burping mid sentence they were pleasant for the 5 seconds we interacted. The "non-smoking" room smelled like 5 year old nicotine. Still, not terribly dirty, but not great. The company around us was a tad trashy - heard two guys fighting at 2:00 AM loud enough to wake us up and there were some interesting looking women when going to grab a pop and water out of the machine. Would we stay there again...eh...probably not.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzpanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Our room was on the front side, just a few doors down from the lobby. There is a Mexican restaurant on site that looked good, but we were too tired to try it. The room had a musty stuffy odor upon entry, but was aired out quick enough by turning on the air conditioner. The room was clean, except for that deep dirtiness you always have in the carpets of cheap hotels. My son was crawling around on the floor playing with cars, and when he got up his knees and the tops of his toes were black, so if you decide to stay here, bring your slippers. Other than that the room was clean. Sheets were soft and clean with no stains. Comforter had some odor, but it is typical for cheap hotels to not wash the comforter between guests. Breakfast was toast, muffins, danishes, juice, coffee. I only had the muffins and they were moist and delicious. Close to Cedar Point. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klbh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I booked this smoking room because it was the only type available. Apparently the smoking rooms do not face Milan Rd. Instead they face the Ghostly Manor and Skating Rink. There was noise from this until midnight it seemed. Also one night occupants of the room next door were quite noisy, and it took several calls to the front desk to get management to tell them to quiet down. The room was OK but certainly smelled of smoke. The hotel is a few miles from Cedar Point but we went to Summit Raceway in Norwalk. Breakfast consists of meager pastries and juice and coffee, so we went to McDonald's. We were only there two nights, and paid $85/night.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizard4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.5 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Address: 3309 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South is located in the heart of Sandusky Ohio on Milan Road. Just minutes from Cedar Point or the water parks of Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Maui Sands & Cast Away Bay. 32 rooms with external access: Single Full Bed with sofa-bed, Single Full Bed with Jacuzzi, Double Full Bed, Double Full Bed with Mini-fridge & Microwave, Double Full Bed Suite with sofa-bed. A Mexican restaurant, Casa Real, is located on the premises. Ming's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, and Denny's are within walking distance. And, Ghostly Manor Thrill Center, a Family Entertainment Center with roller skating, bounce houses, arcade, mini golf, motion theater, walk thru haunted house and jungle gym, is located on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econolodge Cedar Point South
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing