We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ehhh....”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The location was great, my husband and I didn't care about walking distance to Cedar point, but to the Thirsty Pony for dinner and a few drinks. Minus the staff burping mid sentence they were pleasant for the 5 seconds we interacted. The "non-smoking" room smelled like 5 year old nicotine. Still, not terribly dirty, but not great. The company around us was a tad trashy - heard two guys fighting at 2:00 AM loud enough to wake us up and there were some interesting looking women when going to grab a pop and water out of the machine. Would we stay there again...eh...probably not.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzpanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    23
    6
    12
See reviews for
33
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Our room was on the front side, just a few doors down from the lobby. There is a Mexican restaurant on site that looked good, but we were too tired to try it. The room had a musty stuffy odor upon entry, but was aired out quick enough by turning on the air conditioner. The room was clean, except for that deep dirtiness you always have in the carpets of cheap hotels. My son was crawling around on the floor playing with cars, and when he got up his knees and the tops of his toes were black, so if you decide to stay here, bring your slippers. Other than that the room was clean. Sheets were soft and clean with no stains. Comforter had some odor, but it is typical for cheap hotels to not wash the comforter between guests. Breakfast was toast, muffins, danishes, juice, coffee. I only had the muffins and they were moist and delicious. Close to Cedar Point. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klbh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I booked this smoking room because it was the only type available. Apparently the smoking rooms do not face Milan Rd. Instead they face the Ghostly Manor and Skating Rink. There was noise from this until midnight it seemed. Also one night occupants of the room next door were quite noisy, and it took several calls to the front desk to get management to tell them to quiet down. The room was OK but certainly smelled of smoke. The hotel is a few miles from Cedar Point but we went to Summit Raceway in Norwalk. Breakfast consists of meager pastries and juice and coffee, so we went to McDonald's. We were only there two nights, and paid $85/night.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizard4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Don't expect anything spectacular. The rooms are your typical motel room and out-of-date, but clean enough. The continental breakfast is just pastries, OJ, and coffee. The location is great and this price was great.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Probably reflects its rating for Cedar Point Hotels (half way down the list), definitely not the bad hotel indicated in some reviews - that was my experience anyway. Breakfast was minimal to take to your room, but nevertheless was available, and we took that refreshment. This hotel is what it states, ECONO LODGE, so dont expect 4 star accomodation. My only criticism was that we were in a smoking room, and as non smokers, become very critical of any smell to the room (the room was well cleaned on a daily basis). We did not ask to be moved because it was not that bad. Daly's has an excellent buffet further down Milan Road, and there is a massive Walmart also on Milan Rd, so you wont go without reasonably priced food one way or the other.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfart_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I chose this hotel because the reviews seemed better than at the other local Econolodge, and at $82 a night for an efficiency it seemed like a really good deal. It wasn't; maybe for $45 a night I would stay there again.

The room as OK, but not an efficiency. They put a microwave and refridgerator in the bathroom area which I think is a little gross. The room was so damp that the clothes in my suitcase got damp from it. A continental breakfast was supposed to be included, but they didn't have any sort of dining room, or any counter space to put food, so I didn't bother going.

The gal that did my checkin was very unfriendly. However, the lady who cleaned the room, I think her name was Jennifer, did a good job and was very helpful. The gentlemen who checked me out was also friendly.

One more thing ... the pic of the 2-story hotel is the other Econolodge, which is actually a lot closer to Cedar Point.

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — was damp and a little gross
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyface522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Okay - we were meeting some friends who were staying at "Econo Lodge Cedar Point" for $107/night. thinking Econo lodge cedar point south was the same hotel, I booked this one, also for $107.

I hated this place!

First, the staff are awful. We arrived at 1pm, and I went in and asked if we could check in early, the staff said yes we can and took my credit card. I told her I have to use the restroom (it was a loong drive), so she said she could give me the key to the room while she processed the card. Ok, great. Walked ALL AROUND the building to get to my room, the key did not work. I went all the way around back and asked her the problem, some other guy came in and said this girl is new and doens't know and we CANNOT check in right now but they have already processed my card. I inquired whether I could use their bathroom and he said No Way. Then they said I should come back in 2 hours for check in. We went to meet up with our friends at the other Econo Lodge (NOT south.) Their room looked quite nice. We came back around 4 to check in, got the key, the key worked...

arrived at the room, which was STILL DIRTY. We called the front desk and were answered by "Good afternoon, Day's Inn." Anyway, then they said the room would get made up - we came back around 9pm and it was. So at least they did that.

The room itself was dirty and had an "interesting" odor.

There is no reason I would EVER stay at this hotel - the other Econo Lodge for the same price is closer and far nicer.

  • Liked — ok location
  • Disliked — awful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
222 reviews
4.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.5 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Address: 3309 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South is located in the heart of Sandusky Ohio on Milan Road. Just minutes from Cedar Point or the water parks of Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Maui Sands & Cast Away Bay. 32 rooms with external access: Single Full Bed with sofa-bed, Single Full Bed with Jacuzzi, Double Full Bed, Double Full Bed with Mini-fridge & Microwave, Double Full Bed Suite with sofa-bed. A Mexican restaurant, Casa Real, is located on the premises. Ming's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, and Denny's are within walking distance. And, Ghostly Manor Thrill Center, a Family Entertainment Center with roller skating, bounce houses, arcade, mini golf, motion theater, walk thru haunted house and jungle gym, is located on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econolodge Cedar Point South
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing