We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good deal, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Point's Express Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good deal, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

we booked the halloweekend deal including tickets and parking it's very near the park. the room is a bit garish in terms of colors, but well outfitted and comfortable. i loved how decorated the lobby was for halloween. last year we stayed at a $50 hotel from priceline which was one of these old-school MOTEL's with the doors facing out and the room inside felt really "yucky" (and I'm typically a budget traveler, but this just felt gross). For about $10 more once you factor in tickets and parking which was included (plus better proximity to the park), this was FAR better than a $10 upgrade, so I'd definitely recommend it. The park was a total blast and it was a great halloween weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicanmadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    349
    202
    116
    91
See reviews for
580
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at Breakers Express on October 22, 2011 with my daughter and two nephews. I wanted a safe place to stay since I was traveling 4 hours away with teenagers. We received extremely discounted tickets and a free parking voucher for Cedar Point. We arrived at the hotel around 9:30 a.m. to just pick up our park tickets and to our surprise our room was ready. So we grabbed our luggage and took it to our room. Hotel was very nice and clean. Very smooth check in and out process. After a long day at the park, it was nice to only have to drive a short distance to the hotel. Very well lit and safe feeling parking lot. Beds were very comfortable after a long day. My only complaint was the walls are very thin. I could hear the mother in the next room halloring at her kids at 6:30 in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTSELEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is an average hotel that allows Cedar Point perks. Nothing is really bad about the hotel, there is just nothing great about it either. The beds are decent, you get wireless (a perk compared to so many hotels these days that charge) and it is right down the road from the best amusement park in the world. The perk of staying here is that you get into the park an hour early before the general park opens. This means sometimes riding Millennium Force over and over and over with no lines at all. So pretty much this hotel is a bed and a warm room and the rest is at Cedar Point.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justatravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Breaker's Express on Friday, October 7th & Saturday October 8th. The check-in process was smooth. There was a bit of a wait to check in because it was completely booked. We got a great package deal that included park tickets for Friday night and Saturday. The room had a musty smell to it and the beds were hard. But after spending the time at the parks, no one really cared about the beds...was just too tired. I would stay here on our next trip, but definitely take air freshener! The hotel was decorated for Halloween and it smelled like an old house that hadn't been lived in for years...I wonder if the smell was part of the decorations? It could have been..it was that bad.

Room Tip: Take air freshener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbrenner0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here when Cedar Point just opened for the season. For around $100 a night, we received VERY discounted Cedar Point tickets for two days, and two days worth of parking for free. For how much we were at the hotel, it was right for what we needed. Big room, and way nicer than any of the other hotels we've stayed at in the area without paying an arm and a leg. Definitely recommend staying here, and will be staying again many times.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikiroo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here in September 2011 for just one night while chaperoning a school trip. We arrived late, so were really there just to sleep. And since we stayed in September, the pool was closed, so can't comment on that. Oerall I think this is a good basic, no frills place to stay if you are visiting Cedar Point. The hour early access to the park and the close location to the park make this worth a stay. Our room was very clean...no issues there. Since we had a very large group, we had brought our own breakfast, but I did notice they had a little quick stop area in the lobby to purchase small breakfast or snack type items. Hotel lobby area was decorated nicely for Halloween. I have no complaints here and would likely stay again, depending on the price compared to other nearby properties. As this was a school trip, my cost included my Cedar Point ticket as well, so I really can't comment on the cost to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funsandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent a few nights here mid week in August. Room was the no frills type but clean, quiet and roomy enough. A fridge would have been nice. Outdoor pool was clean and supervised, not deep though (less than 4 feet)

Stayed here mostly for the deals to Cedar Point. Ticket discount, one hour early entry and free parking. The one hour early entry was really worth it. You can get a couple of good rides it before the wave of people comes rolling in at 10am.

If you are planning to go to Cedar Point and not in the need of being pampered then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alt-F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
5.7 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
5.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
5.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
4.3 km away
Hotel Breakers
Hotel Breakers
#1 of 35 in Sandusky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Express Hotel

Property: Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Point's Express Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming in 2017, Breakers Express receives a complete makeover and transforms into Cedar Point's Express Hotel! 69 new rooms will be added to the popular overnight haven. All guest rooms feature two queen beds and will be completely renovated with new bathrooms and bedding, mini fridges, microwaves and connecting family suites for additional time to spend together. In the center of the property, a new splash pad and an outdoor courtyard featuring conversational living spaces will join the whimsical swimming pool and relaxing deck area. The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Express Hotel offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Express Hotel the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cedar Point's Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Cedar Point's Express Hotel Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing