We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant let down. Zero customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Westlake
Reviewed 9 July 2017

After a 10 hour road trip, we couldn't wait to get to our favorite hotel chain, the double tree. When we got to the front desk, we were greeted by "last name" no warm welcome, no how are you, nothing. The gal at the front desk was busy chumming around with some of her co workers, didn't bother to offer the traditional cookie upon arrival, or ask if we needed anything for our stay. She was not dressed in front desk attire, but something completely unprofessional, that did not fit.

We had to cross through the 1970's style giant atrium that is wall to wall carpet that encompasses the oddly positioned indoor pool...the indoor rooms have outdoor windows that overlook the pool. When these windows are closed by shades, it looks like a weird tenement building. It is extremely hot and smelly in this area, as the pool is heated as well as the spa. Chlorine and steam permeate the air. If you have to stay here, beg for a room away from this smelly noisy area.

This property has 1 elevator, so prepare to just use the stairs, the employees have no choice but to use this for banquets and functions, along with housekeeping. Very crowded and busy.

We arrived in our very clean, newly remodeled room, which is very nice. However, having 2 adults and 2 teenagers, trying to squeeze into the "fullsize" beds was nothing shy of a joke. One person is plenty for these "fullsize" beds. I called down to front desk, asked for a roll out bed for my tall son, and was told by the charming front desk lady, that "we don't have roll out beds". We went to Walmart and bought a pump and some blow ups. (fast forward 4 days, and low and behold there were two roll out beds on our floor that were brought in for some little league players!! really?)

Our room had no toilet paper, or any hangers in closet, and no extra blankets. I walked down to the front desk after waiting 3 hours for a blanket to be brought up, grabbed my toilet paper and my blanket.

Our hallway had dirty room service plates, utensils and old food at two rooms that stayed out overnight, gross. There was paper, luggage tags and junk all through the hallway of our floor, and we just joked about when and if it would be picked up.

One of the housekeepers put the fold out lock slide in each door to keep it open as she came and went to her cleaning cart. She started cleaning around 9, and the giant slam, slam, slam, slam each time she came and went to her cart, was our cue to get rolling. One young lady was kind enough to bring a wooden wedge to keep door open the whole time she cleaned, to avoid the chronic slamming.

This entire staff needs to be retrained. From the distracted, unprofessional, uncaring front desk staff, to the disorganized housekeeping staff, and the really bored, disgruntled bar and wait staff.

They are all doing YOU a favor, not the other way around.

Sadly, I would rather sleep in a tent then spend money on this place!! go down the street to Hyatt.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank christine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

Very unprofessional staff - breakfast buffet was not good and expensive. We were staying 2 days and said we did not need the room cleaned the first night. The housekeeper came anyway banging on our door 4-5 times - when I went to the door after calling the front desk - the housekeeper said he wasn't banging on my door but on the room next to us. He was very rude and unprofessional. This was NOT representative of the Hilton reputation AT ALL!!!!

Room Tip: don't stay there - unprofessional, food not good, not the Hilton quality we are used too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judygirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Stay there for my son's wedding. Pre-arranged guest bags were not delivered. Bride and groom were told the bar would remain open for their guests and it was not. However, security guard took $400 for conference room rental from one of the guests and an additional hundred dollars every hour on the hour to allow them to stay. Shuttle was not available. A complementary suite was denied to the couple due to their Incorrect calculation of guest bookings and then no availability. Very disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank patricialE5651KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Great Stay! Rooms are clean and the Manager is Great!!! Great Staff as well!!! I would definitely stay at this hotel again. We were there for our family reunion and it was wonderful! Definitely a place to book you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 737brandyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This was the worst hotel experience of my life! The bath tub did not drain and the toilet didn't flush! When I told the front desk they said they would send somebody, waited for an hour and nobody came. The next day I called again and they sent somebody to fix the tub, the toilet was never fixed! They never even offered to switch us to another room!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank johnrF7076ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We thought since this was a Hilton property our stay would be at least adequate. Wrong!
We checked in late,around 10PM, unpacked and ready for bed then realized our toilet didn't have a handle to flush. Called the front desk and was told there were no more rooms and they wouldn't have maintenance until the morning. So my husband said he would manually flush it by removing the tank cover until someone comes in the morning. The said they would credit our bill $100.00 and give us free breakfast while we stayed (4 nights). Naturally the desk help the next morning knew nothing of this and said they can't authorize a free breakfast and we would need to talk to the manager that would be in on Mon. Ok I thought I'll sign breakfast to our rm and deal with it then. I'm thinking what kind of hotel doesn't have someone of authority on property over a weekend. So as we leave for the morning we mention the toilet handle again (which they seemed to know nothing about) and was assured it would be taken care of. Wrong! Upon our return that evening still no toilet handle, we call and now they sent some one, wow after 3 reminders. I go to the pool, no towels. I should mention you will wait at least 10 min. for an elevator and then when the door opens you see a housekeeping cart taking up the entire space, no rm for guests. I need to mention the restaurant. It's $15.00 a person for the breakfast buffet which is terrible. We at least expected a buffet like at a Hampton Inn. You have to know to ask for a menu, it sure wasn't offered. They said an omelette was part of the buffet so I ordered one, a 3" omelette came out on a 5" plate and was awful to say the least. So After 2 nights we decided we couldn't do 4 nights and left. The disorganization of this hotel was the worst. To Hilton, this hotel brings your credibility to 0, we will totally rethink our stays at Hilton property's. We thank God for the wonderful Hyatt down the road which by the way was less expensive.

Room Tip: Go to the Hyatt Place down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank kuehnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Numerous dead roaches outside the guest room in the hallway, set the mood. No one seemed concerned about cleaning them up throughout he day. The quality of food provided at the banquet was mediocre at best. The food was cold, and not in the least bit tender. Extremely disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westlake hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Westlake
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Cleveland / Westlake / Crocker Park
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cleveland West - Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Courtyard Cleveland Westlake
0.2 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Cleveland Westlake
4.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Cleveland Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake

Address: 1100 Crocker Rd, Westlake, OH 44145-1033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cleveland -West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Westlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Westlake
Price Range: $116 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree By Hilton Cleveland - Westlake is a 266 room full service hotel located just off I-90 at exit 156 in a prestigious western suburb of Cleveland. The DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland - Westlake is just minutes from Crocker Park and Lake Erie (Huntington Beach.) We are only 20 minutes from Cleveland attractions: Progressive Field (home of the Cleveland Indians), Cleveland Brown s Stadium, The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Science Center, and the Quickens Loan Arena where LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers play all their home games. Special in room amenities are free high-speed Internet, free local calls, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cleveland -West Hotel Westlake
Westlake Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Westlake
DoubleTree By Hilton Cleveland Westlake Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing