We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facility but is more casino than hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Catoosa
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma CIty
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice facility but is more casino than hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed two nights May 2012 for a seminar at hotel. Had a room in the Cherokee tower which is the original tower. They have opened up newer towers so so of my cons may be corrected. The entrance to hotel is on the back side of the facility. There is free valet parking but no sign that says it is free. There is adequate parking in parking garage which is maybe 100 yards at most from front door.

Check in was smooth with only a couple people in line. No issues with reservation. Check in was friendly and smooth but could use some fine tuning to personalize it a little. Address the customer by name and welcome them. These are minor points but are the little details that set aside a nice hotel from a fantastic hotel.

This property is a casino first and then hotel was added. It was not originally built to be a hard rock but obtain the branding during their growth spurt. Thus, if you expecting a true hard rock...this isn't it. No guitar shaped pool and no hard rock cafe.

The staff was helpful when asked and the hotel and rooms were clean. The public restrooms could use some work as far as running the cleaner crew through a little more often. Sunday morning at 10 am....trash cans overflowing and water all over counters.

Pool area is small but nice with cabanas and lounges. On Thursday afternoon with nice weather.....cocktail waitress only came through one time.

Room was nice and nicely decorated. Water pressure and air worked great. The a/c is loud though if you need total silence. There is gap under the door so you get a lot of hallway noise coming into room and you can hear the neighbors clearly through the bathroom vents. Room has coffee maker and overheard that mini fridges were available if you requested on. Beds were adequate but not overly comfortable. Quality of sheets and towels were good. Flat screen tv. Room size was fine. Marble countertops and minibars in room. Carpet was not worn but had big wrinkle down the middle sticking up from loose and poor installation.

They have improved the restaurants from my last visit and will review separately. The I had the buffet for lunch and was 11 dollars. It was excellent and worth the money. The drink prices at the bars were fine. There was a restaurant called lyric that I saw that I didn't eat at but looked at prices. Biscuits and gravy for 3.95 so looked decent.there are a couple of places to eat including a steak place and a Toby Keith's.

The Casino is in an area that really isn't anything around. It is a 35 dollar can ride downtown. There is a Walgreens, taco bueno, and waffle house but not really anything else nearby. There is a small shop that sells soda and a Starbucks on the property. I tried to find some fruit to eat and could not find a apple for sale anywhere in the hotel. A bowl of apples at front desk would be nice or at least sell some fruit at Starbucks .

They do have an early checkout at 11 instead of noon.

Remember, Oklahoma doesn't have true gambling. Craps is played with cards instead of dice. Blackjack is the same but you have to pay a fifty cent ante with each hand. Tables were friendly and there were 5, 10,15,25 dollar tables on friday night. There was a no smoking area in the slots.....not sure about the game table areas. There is a faint smoke smell in the casino in most places. There is a night club called friction and several bar areas.

Overall, cool place to hang for a day or two if here for seminar or going to concert. Joe Walsh played while I was here and zz top is coming. There is a golf course on property but no spa. The exercise room is small but equipment looked new and it was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okcJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    256
    78
    43
    40
See reviews for
83
268
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed one night during the week. The room rate was very reasonable Reception staff were great, as were the valet staff.

I really like the room decor, very modern. Casino was large and fun.

The only improvement I could suggest would be to have 24 hour coffee shop. We ate breakfast as what seemed to be a snack bar. The employees there were very friendly and the food was okay. I just like having more choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed one night in standard king in the Hard Rock tower. We were very satisfied with the room. It was spacious and clean. The only other thing I could have asked for is a refrigerator in the room. The casino itself is large and does have some non-smoking areas. Ate at McGill's on 19 where the service and food were exceptional! Toby Keiths Bar and Grill was also very good, although a little pricey for the food you get, and Lyrics Restaurant is great for a 3am snack. Overall we had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandkrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hard Rock for a convention the week. The most noticable characteristic was the smoke, which annoys me and I can still smell on my clothes. The room was comfortable but they did not clean my room during my stay. The decor was nice and convenient to get to. I would have liked more restaurant choices.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russodavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed with family. Nice, clean rooms. Indoor / Outdoor pool was nice - good for small kids because of large shallow end.
Friendly staff. The older tower is somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed after a concert at The Joint. I was pleasantly surprised with The Joint and how nice the venue was. There isn't a bad seat in the house. It is clean, bright and open. The hotel room was nice, neat, and accomodating. The bathroom was large as well as a nice walk in shower. We had nice, stout drinks at the Center Bar and then danced for a while at Friction. I do agree with everyone, for a non-smoker, the smoke is awful. The next day, our clothes smelled like a bar. The hotel rooms however did not smell like the casino. Also, as a roulette player, I was disappointed they only had one table. We couldn't play at all because the table was always packed. We will be pack for The Joint but not the casino.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRVistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Rooms are nice and roomey, well decorated. They are not however quite, heard just about every person that came and went down the hall, and at least 5-6 that came and went in and out of their rooms. I don't know what it is that people have to let the door slam shut from a full open position to rattle every room within 5 doors from them. There was also too much light inside the room from the iPod compatible alarm clock to the massive phone system that took a engineer to figure out how to answer a voice mail notification from a shop down in the Casino it'self trying to sell something. I really expected better towels than what was presented, I've seen better @ Motel 6. I expected great soft towels and robe from this place as I have gotten that at other Indian based Hotels/Casinos (Chukchansi Gold) and since there(CG's) towels were from Sobel Westex an Indian based linen provider I just expected that they would be the supplier @ Hard Rock. They are currently building another tower of rooms, lets hope they do better on those rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muff_1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catoosa
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulsa / Catoosa
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulsa - Catoosa
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Catoosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
20.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
20.5 km away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#16 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa

Property: Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa
Address: 777 W Cherokee St, Catoosa, OK 74015-3235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Catoosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Catoosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and stylish, and absolutely packed with hip and modern amenities, Hard Rock Hotel & Casino is the! Choose from 454 rooms and suites that will rock your world. Play a round at our challenging, 18-hole golf course followed by a variety of dining options including Toby Keith's I Love This Bar & Grill, all-you-can-eat buffet, HWY 66 Diner,Food Court and fine dining at McGill's on 19. Then, have we got choices for your evening out. Chill out at Center Bar or listen to live music at Riffs or rock out in The Joint featuring live top-shelf acts, followed by an action-packed extravaganza in our 24-hour casino. Replay Sports Bar is a sport lover's dream with 51 TVs, a sports ticker and a full bar with 12 beers on tap located in our non-smoking casino. Our 75,000 square feet of meeting space is enhanced by excellent service and enough catering options to impress a room full of rock stars. All this and more make Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tulsa the premier choice while visiting Tulsa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Tulsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Catoosa
Cherokee Resort Catoosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing