We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food”
Review of Las Cascadas

Las Cascadas
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Davis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 29, 2017

The food here is very authentic and when staying in Davis, makes a great evening place to go out to eat.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Devin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 74 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

A marvel of nature that leaves you ecstatic and breathless for the magnificiency of a water fall of a clear blue sea color. Waterfalls form natural pools where you can swim. The depths of the same vary. You can swim in the designated area with vigilant lifeguards and demarcation ropes for deep areas. This area is just at the the foot of the fall of the major waterfall. However you can venture down waterfalls and swim at your own risk in the many natural pools. They charge at the entrance per person, not by car, claim that the money collected by the indigenous community of the area is for cleaning, which is a very insulting and fraudulent lie. Actually the site is dirty, there are plastic bottles, papers, wrappings and food waste. Starving and hungry dogs surround you when you eat. There are businesses that offer food with a hygiene that is dubious because you can see how they wash dishes in the back in plastic containers with overused water wich is ironic considering they are surrounded by plenty water. The crafts are expensive and in general the place is depressing because of the primitive and dirty of all those restaurants, stalls of food and sale of trinkets. I advise you to bring your own water, food and sanitary towels. The bathrooms are broken, there is no soap, toilet paper. Just concentrate on the water, the blue, the green, the sound of the water and get out of there fast.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Nothing special here. The bistek and guacamole were ok, rice and beans blah, chips nothing special. They give you queso dip with the chips which was watered down and fairly tasteless. Chili on the tamale taste like canned. Just pass it by folks, there has to be something better nearby.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank TvlGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

Sometime you enjoy a place and when you go back it's not the same. Maybe it was the company or the time of year...who knows. We had intended to return to Las Cascadas for a few years and finally made it back...and enjoyed it again.

It's where the locals eat and the staff treated us like we belonged.

Good was good, chips were hot, salsa tasty.

It's nothing fancy, but we'll stop in again for sure. If you're there when the weather is good, try to enjoy the outdoor seating n next door.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank WkndrTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through during a family road trip. The service was not great, but not terrible either. Everything we ate was "just okay"... I will say my vegetarian mother really liked the spinach enchiladas. I felt they were bland. I enjoyed the queso dip w/chips, most of all, which was complimentary with our meal. But in my opinion- that's not really a good thing to say is the best part. The shrimp cocktail could have been very good but for tomatoes that were strangely too crisp (cut too raw?). The Mexican rice was gross... not sure how a Mexican restaurant can mess that up, but it wasn't very appetizing. Needless to say, I was disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Las Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing