We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Is A Dump!!”
Review of Super 8 Elk City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Elk City
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This was our first and last stay at a Super 8. We picked it because it was halfway between our two destinations and because it was in our Wyndham rewards list. It was a dump, literally. The room was tiny with one bare overhead light fixture. The microfridge was broken as was the in-room coffemaker. The door to the room wouldn't shut without slamming it, which I guess is why we heard doors slamming all around us. There were truckers coming and going at all hours, leaving their diesels running outside our room window all night. The "free' breakfast was poor. A little juice, some dry cereal and lukewarm coffee that tasted bad. We complained upon checkout to the only person on duty and she could have cared less and offered no apology. Just said that "well, that happens a lot here". Since we couldn't sleep, we got up and left at 6 am. Just glad to be out of there!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwlindakay445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

When management was confronted they would only refund 60% of rental charge because "you used the room for 2 1/2 hours" We checked in at 8:00 PM, inquired about dining and were directed to the next I-44 Exit on West of the Motel. We put our suitcases in the room and went to dinner. Returned about 9:30 and cleaned up and watched the 10:00 PM news. Then turned back the covers to get in bed. We found small dark spots on a light blue blanket! It looked like insect feces. We started looking around the bed and found brown bugs crawling along the wooden support bed frame. We called the desk and packed our bags and asked for a refund. We were told only 60% would be refunded. We were furious! We were told "because you used the room we can't rent it again tonight!" THIS IS YET TO BE RESOLVED!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank museumkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

July 25, 2008
Military family moving to CA
You get what you pay for! The carpet is nasty dirty and smells musty. The bathroom has brown splatter on the walls, looks like the walls hasn't been cleaned in a couple of years, behind the toliet the wall is coming apart in a four foot section...gross, and the lamps won't come on. I called 2 other motels in town they were $85-99 and this room was $66. It's definately worth the extra money if you have it. The worst place we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dymisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Got to the location late at night and they had given my room away. Ended up having to get a king size, non-smoking room. It was small. It appears that there has been some remodeling going on...the walls looked newly painted and the vanity in the bathroom was new. All in all...it was sufficient for a place to sleep after driving all day.

It could definitely use a face-lift on the outside. Some of the other patrons were up and running around all hours of the night and early morning.

I booked this room using my Wyndham Rewards points, so I really didn't dish out any money...hopefully other hotels in this reward program are nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank notanokieever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Multiple issues: nictoine-stained bathroom, dirty toilet seat, broken coffeemaker, generally "unfresh" smell, unimpressive breakfast.

Will not recommend and will not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dbpennock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Room smelled of smoke even in the non smoking rooms, I think the cleaning crew smoked while making up the room. We stayed 7 nights on a bed that felt like wood. We asked that our room not be made up daily, to which they made the room up daily even though we posted to not make the room up daily. The reason we did not want our room made up daily was we had asked for the few sparce extra towels that they had and would let them dry out during the day, so if they made up the room you would start all over with 3, what looked like hand towels. After 3pm if you need more towels, toliet paper, soap you can forget it. I would expect this of a $30 hotel, not a $70 hotel. I have stayed in many motel 8 in the city, this was yuckie, yuckie, yuckie, keep driving.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sooner019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2005

As you travel through Oklahoma on I-40 be careful where you plan to spend the night. There is a Holiday Inn in Elk City. If you cannot plan to stay here keep going to exit 82. There is a Comfort Inn that would be the best choice for the area. We checked out several motels in Elk City and cleaniness was not a priority. Dead bugs in the hallways, towels used a few too many times and need to be thrown away and replaced with new ones, etc. ALWAYS ASK TO SEE A ROOM BEFORE YOU CHECK IN. Some places put a good face on the lobby area and the rest is down hill. On a positive note, the places we did check had very nice front desk personnel.

9  Thank herd4sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elk City hotels
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City
4.5 km away
Days Inn Elk City
Days Inn Elk City
#8 of 17 in Elk City
171 reviews
4.4 km away
Bedford Inn
Bedford Inn
#12 of 17 in Elk City
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#4 of 17 in Elk City
163 reviews
5.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Elk City
0.4 km away
Motel 6 Elk City
Motel 6 Elk City
#13 of 17 in Elk City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Elk City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Elk City

Address: 2801 E Highway 66, I40 Exit 41, Elk City, OK 73644-9635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Elk City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Price Range: $72 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Elk City 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right off I-40 at exit 41. We have free parking as well as plenty of truck and trailer parking. We also offer free continental breakfast. In room Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, iron and ironing board, cable TV with HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Elk City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Elk City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing