We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Lovely History & Architecture

This iconic building in the old state capitol of Guthrie is bursting with gorgeous architecture and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Steve S
via mobile
Beautiful for a wedding

Several years ago we attended a wedding at this site. It was elegant, comfortable and allot of... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2018
Carol C
,
Watonga, Oklahoma
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
29
17
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
17
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide stained glass windows several years mason interior marble building capital davidson organ state wedding designer room oklahoma reception pen
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 50 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

The Scottish Rite temple is massive with its impressive columns and lavish, historical interior. The building is big enough to host a state dinner with marble floors, stained glass, and gold finishing. It truly feels like you've stepped back in time. A wedding here, especially themed, would be amazing! Don't miss your chance to visit this when it's open to the public (I went to the high school Christmas concert, which was fabulous!)

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Found a grumpy mason,who gruffly asked us what we were doing and when we told him we were looking for a geocache he angrily stated, "I wish they would take it out of here." The cache was gone, so he got his wish. However, his attitude left a bad taste in my mouth for this place.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank charylec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I were curious about this place so we decided to take a guided tour. The tour lasted at least an hour and was only $5 per person. You cannot take an unguided tour. Our tour guide was a longtime Mason and very knowledgeable about the building and their organization. This massive building is like something you would see in Washington, DC. Many of the rooms still have all the original pieces in tact, even though the building is still utilized today. The architecture is beautiful, along with the stained glass windows. I am not familiar with this organization at all, so I was very intrigued by it. If you're visiting the Guthrie area and you're interested in the history of the Scottish Rites there, you would enjoy taking this tour.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank 416LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Absolutely worth a visit ..a heritage site ..a bygone era..art deco furnishings and marble abounds..Masons families free..

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank roofingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2017

This is a beautiful building built originally as the state capital, the acoustics in the theater are really amazing the decor is really beautiful this is a wonderful place to visit

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank lesleywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews