We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a queen bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The room was very small. I requested a queen bed. My husband said this isn't a queen so I went to the desk and was told well its almost a queen. Wanted to cancel my reservation but was going to charge me for the night so I asked if upgrade to king desk called manager and not sure what was said but girl at the desk wasn't able to upgrade for the price I could get it for online. We'll see what the management has to say about but not real happy a this time. The room need to be dusted also. It was ok not anything special. The girl at the desk was wonderful. She really tried...

Room Tip: If you want room and a good sized bed get the king room. The queen room is very small for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truckin548211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesSE, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

These guest were very hard to please. The queen beds in our Hotel are BRAND STANDARD QUEEN BEDS. They checked into the room and after being in the room an hour decided the bed was too small and wanted to move to another room. I agreed to let them do this, but, they wanted to cancel the reservation and go on line and make their own, stating they could "get it cheaper" on line. Which is impossible. I tried to explain to them if they cancelled the reservation it would charge their credit card. That we could do an upcharge to a KING and simply do a room move. Sometimes you simply cannot please people. We tried our best to please these guests. Their entire argument was that the bed was a full size bed and they requested a QUEEN. IT IS A BRAND STANDARD QUEEN BED.
We did our best.
Lisa Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Working for FEMA and always traveling throughout this immediate 5 state region, we have stayed at numerous fine hotels...Without a doubt, this was our most pleasureable stay of all in the past 4+ years. Christi and her staff was wonderful to us during our July and August 2011 stay. We loved the comfortable bed and quietness of our stay. We also carry our pet with us and they were very helpful with the pet fee, as well. Thanks Christi! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Festus6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I travel to this area frequently for business and have stayed at other hotels in the area. the staff was very friendly and the rooms were well stocked and clean. Toni was exceptionally helpful, and always with a smile and pleasant attitude.
Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The place was awesome. Just everything about it made me comfortable. Lisa was wonderful and the housekeepers always had my room cleaned very well. not like a nasty motel. This was nice! Will be back.

Room Tip: Turn your ice makers on in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni_young24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I work for R.W.I and i just have to say i have a good time everytime i walk in i am greeted and they always ask if i need somthing. Lisa, Christi, and Toni and everyone eles who works there. My room is always cleaned. I will always bring my business here when I come to town.love yall:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here only one night on our way to Branson but would gladly have loved to stay more. The rooms were big and clean. There was a nice flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable with nice bedding. The bathroom was equipped with a tub and there was a nice kitchenette. The price was great. They don't serve breakfast but I don't usually like a continental breakfast anyway. Would prefer to eat out. The front desk lady was very friendly and particularly kind to my parents. I would recommend this place to anyone and will plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Rooms are clean and large. Full Kitchen with utensils. No oven, Full size refridgerator. It is a long stay property so maid service is weekly. No Pool but a 24hr exercise room. You can get maid service on additional days for a small fee. Across the street from Local Supercenter.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAlester hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
3.1 km away
Best Western Inn Of Mcalester
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites McAlester
Comfort Suites McAlester
#10 of 16 in McAlester
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-6092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range: $101 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing