We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average don't stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #45 of 148 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below average don't stay there”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Valet took 45 minutes to get car. The Lobby was packed with people waiting for cars. Way overpriced for the quality of rooms and service. Concierge-a joke-printed out a map from mapquest after a 30 minute wait. Then it was for the wrong destination. Egg undercooked for room service $18! Two thin towels for two ppl in room for all day! Sound on tv didn't work for half the stations. And! It was very pricey!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rojorider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
It’s disappointing that your stay was not as anticipated but your feedback is greatly appreciated. We do encourage guests to share any concerns with us at the time of the stay and regret that we did not have the opportunity to make your stay exceptional. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    155
    92
    44
    35
See reviews for
90
103
17
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I just spent the night at the Renaissance and conducted a confernece in the ajoining conference center. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and I have found the valet staff to really work hard to assist guest. However, I can not say the same for the level of service offered by the hotel staff.

First of all it is very difficult to get to this hotel. It is downtown, but on this occasion almost ever street was under construction. My GPS seemed to get as frustrated as me. I finally called the hotel to get directions and the young man who answered the telephone had no idea of how guide me the few blocks I needed to go. The Renaissance is basically a convention hotel and is usually busy with large groups of people attending conferences at the convention center.

After reaching the hotel I checked in and even though I am a Marriott Platinum Premier Elite member, the hotel could not even provide me a room on the club level. However, I did have access to the club and the staff were kind enough to put me in a suite. When I went up to the club I found the oly food they were serving was meat balls, and they were cold. I had alraedy been warned about ordering food from the restaurant, so I decided to go out for dinner.

The hotel room hot and it was several hours before I could get the room cooled down. My Marriott profile calls for extra towels in my room, but I found only two towels. In addition, my suite did not even have the usual robe that Marriott places in room. When taking a shower I discovered the shower head was clogged and water sprayed in ever direction.

It was very windy the night I was int he hotel and my room was close to the hotel flags. Throughout the night the flapping of the flags kept me awake. Then after getting to sleep, the radio alarm went off at 4:30 AM. Evidently house keeping failed to check to ensure that it had been turned off from the previous guest.

When checking in I had severl boxes of materials and the young lady at the front desk told me she would chck to see if she could places the boxes in my conference room. I asked her to call me and let me know where the boxes would be placed. She never called me back and the next moring the boxes were still setting were I left them. I am lucky they were not stolen or misplaced.

At 12:00 noon when checking out, I left a note for the manager outlning my concerns with the hotel. I returned to the front desk at 4:00 PM, after my conference just to see if the General Manager had left a message for he. The GM had not, and has still not contacted me.

The Renaissance Hotel is a great hotel for people attending a conference, but I would not select to stay at this property unless I just had no choice. Construction around the hotel is terrible and the hotel staff certainly do not provide the level of service I am use to receiving from a Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect great customer service from the hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLJ021251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. We are truly sorry that the city’s road construction presented so many obstacles for you as you made your way to the hotel. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuba, Missouri
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 9 times over the last 9 years. So we are familiar with the hotel. We like the location, with in walking distance to Brick town. Valet parking is the best way to park, but runs $25 per night. Generally very busy on Saturday nights. There is always a major event in town. Best deals are rooms that include breakfast buffet, which is very good, will make to order omelets, good fruit selection and great coffee. Nice exercise room, pool is always crowded on Saturday and Sundays as large number of families stay here. They do have complimentary limo, Cliff the driver is very nice and will answer all questions you have on downtown. Took us past the OKC memorial at night, which is down the block from the hotel. King rooms are nice, suites are great two rooms with wet bar. Rooms used to have a mini bar but have not for several years.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked through Hotels.com. Received confirm. Paid full price for the week ($1200). Well, the Renaissance over-booked. Everyone has their share of blame in this one. Yes, it was booked through Hotels.com, but it is up to Renaissance to update their inventory. I received a phone call from Hotels/Expedia the day I was to check-in, as I was boarding the plane. They told me that sometimes the hotel would find a room for me if I showed up, or else I would have to be rebooked to the only other nearby hotel, a Econolodge over 2 miles away and for a refund of $700. Really, its $500 a week at the Econolodge, Hotels.com? I told them I had to go (plane taking off) and would see what happens at the Renaissance because she stated that the RENAISSANCE WAS STILL LISTING THAT THEY HAD INVENTORY. Well, the Renaissance didn’t even have my reservation, let alone a room. Nothing could be done. No rooms available. We’d be happy to drive you to a new hotel and don’t let the revolving door hit you on the way out. Did I mention the hour and a half with Renaissance staff on the phone with Hotels and then me on the phone with them? In short, I fulfilled my responsibilities as a guest. I booked. I received a confirmation. My credit card was changed with the full amount. I arrived at the hotel with bags in hand. It warms my heart that everyone was apologetic about the situation, but the Renaissance turned me away. The Renaissance should not overbook. If they do, they should make sure that people cannot make reservations, let alone pay in full. They should have “found” me a room that hotels always seem to have just in case. I had, after all, already paid. Now, we can await the Management’s response below, apologizing, yet again, for any inconveniences…blah blah blah. You turned me away. Its Hotels.com fault. Its Expedia’s fault. The Sun revolves around the Earth. Gremlins overran the hotel. There was a glitch in the system. You turned me away. I booked. I paid. I came. I saw. I was politely thrown out. And I didn’t even get a t-shirt.

Room Tip: Make sure that they actually have a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We sincerely regret being unable to accommodate your room request with the issues you encountered with the third party site. Had there been availability, we would have happily helped you with your stay. Your frustration is understandable but unfortunately we do not control the maintenance of the room inventory with other sites. Thank you for sharing the details of your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I was traveling to Oklahoma City with a friend to see all the sights and decided to do a last minute Priceline which assigned me to this hotel. What a great deal for such an awesome hotel! I usually don't give as many excellents as I've listed here on a review. The staff at this hotel really goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. The bell boy, concierge and doormen are all outstanding. They held our bags after check out when we wanted to walk around the city.

The hotel has a complimentary limo that will take guests and drop them off in the Bricktown Entertainment District. We used the limo to get there even though it is just a few blocks away and can be walked. It was a nice touch to starting a night off right.

Checkin was really easy. I was a little confused at first as they have several different random desks in the lobby area where you can check in. It was quick and easy. I only had to wait behind one person while at the desk I chose. They have little dum dum suckers sitting on the desks if you would like one.

This hotel has about 19 stories. The atrium area is really nice with flowing water over beautiful river stones. There are a couple of restaurants and bars in the hotel as well; but we never used any of them for their services. I was only there one night so I didn't have time to check out the pool or fitness center at all. I did have trouble finding the gift shop as it was actually located within the cafe restaurant. There wasn't much to the gift shop at all.

Our room was on the 3rd floor in room 322. It was nicely appointed. We had the two queens room. The remote to the TV didn't work; but I am not much of a TV watching person anyway. I just used the side buttons to put on some music. We had a great view out of the window of our room even being on the 3rd floor. The bathroom was spacious and the mirror/sink areas were good. The shower had great water pressure and temperature. I definitely slept well here. The beds are comfortable.

We were able to walk to Bricktown the next day and wandered all around that area and along the little canal. We also were able to walk to the Botanical Gardens and to the Oklahoma City Memorial. This hotel is also close to the arenas located there in downtown as well. I really enjoyed my time at the Renaissance and had a great experience here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kts70281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
It was absolutely wonderful to read your review and learn of your experiences in OKC and at the Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel. We are thrilled that during your short stay, you were able to explore Bricktown, visit Myriad Botanical Gardens and also see the Oklahoma City National Memorial! You certainly made the most of the time you were here. On your next visit to Oklahoma City we would love to welcome you back again and hopefully for a little bit longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at the Renaissance several time in the last couple of years and have never had a disappointing stay. This time was no different. The only down spot was the streets in Bricktown are torn up and traffic is a problem. The hotel was very helpful with directions, and free limo service around the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonerMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
At the Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, we value our guests and are always proud to learn that we continue to live up to your expectations. We're delighted that our staff was able to help you with directions and getting around any obstacles due to the road construction. Thank you for being a loyal and frequent visitor of the Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is not the newest or nicest in downtown OKC, but they upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary trip. The limo is a wonderful treat - it shuttles guests back and forth to Bricktown.
The server at breakfast, Miriam, was absolutely wonderful! So sweet - she deserves a raise!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceOKC, General Manager at Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Happy Anniversary! We are truly honored that you chose to spend such an important occasion with us and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as the limo service to and from Bricktown. Your gracious comment with regards to your breakfast server is being shared with everyone. Thank you for your kind review of the Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.0 km away
Sheraton Oklahoma City Downtown Hotel
Sheraton Oklahoma City Downtown ...
#33 of 148 in Oklahoma City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard Oklahoma City Downtown
Courtyard Oklahoma City Downtown
#40 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Oklahoma City Downtown/Bricktown
Residence Inn Oklahoma City Down...
#29 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Colcord Hotel
Colcord Hotel
#3 of 148 in Oklahoma City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-Bricktown
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City – Bricktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel

Property: Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel
Address: 10 N Broadway Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-9202
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance of Oklahoma City, a Marriott Brand hotel located in the heart of downtown, connected to Cox Convention Center and just steps from popular destinations. Walk or take our complimentary limo to Bricktown Entertainment District, ATT Bricktown Ballpark, OKC National Memorial, the Chesepeake Energy Arena and more. With 4-diamond status, well-appointed guest rooms and public space, this downtown hotel is your choice for style, class and a provocative ambiance. The only hotel downtown to include The Spa at 10 North and Caffenia's Marketplace, offering Starbucks and unique local gifts. 10 North Grille features a world-class executive chef. Airport shuttle is available to our registered guests for a discounted price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Oklahoma City Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Oklahoma City Hotel Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing