We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be Better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Couldn't be Better”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Everything about this B and B is terrific. The location is right on the ocean in the attractive town of Bandon, Oregon. Shirley is a wonderful hostess; she made suggestions for restaurants and activities in the area. Her breakfasts were several courses, all delicious. We spent a lovely afternoon just reading and relaxing on the deck watching the waves and seagulls.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsmith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

What a wonderful B&B. Had a lively room overlooking lighthouse and marshlands. Nice morning walk along the beach. Yummy breakfast - French toast was amazing ... I got the recipe from Shirley.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Great location, but severely overpriced for the ambiance, the overall look of the property, and the food. Major issue: a two week cancellation policy, which leaves a traveler zero freedom to change plans mid-trip. The town appears economically depressed, like most along this lower stretch of the coast, offering virtually nothing but tacky waterfront shops, golf and beach combing (and the beaches aren't nearly as nice as the beaches around Florence up north). We would have cancelled our reservation had we been free to do so, but 2 weeks notice is outrageous. Despite all of this negativity, the inn keeper was a pleasant, accommodating person. The property, though clean and adequately appointed, lacked the typical guest-pampering luxury of a typical B&B. Look elsewhere if you want an elegant B&B, and skip Bandon in general if you're looking for excitement.

Room Tip: Ours was cramped and unremarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Shirley runs an amazing B&B. Everything is five star from the rooms to the breakfasts. There is a peaceful feeling in the B&B, the views of the river and the sea are mesmerising. Shirley goes out of her way to make your visit memorable. The town is close by with good restaurants which Shirley is happy to give you information about and then book a table for you. The high speed internet which is available was the best we experienced on our trip. I would recommend the Lighthouse B&B to anyone. Margaret & Dave - England

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Shirley, the owner, is a character--she will keep you entertained while you scarf down the amazing breakfast spread she cooks every morning. Plenty of delicious options that vary from day to day (she'll even ask what you feel like eating tomorrow). Make sure she introduces you to her seagull friend, Baby.

The room was cozy and comfortable (no TV for those of you who can't live w/o, though you're welcome to use the one in the living room). The best part about it was the view--you can lie in bed and see the ocean, the Coquille River, the lighthouse, and the sunset. One night we happened to catch the Coast Guard doing practice maneuvers in the river--search lights, helicopter raising and lowering a backboard to the deck of the ship.... It was quite interesting to watch.

This B&B is definitely a gem and the cost is a steal!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9manties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

As many others have noted, the location is spectacular and Shirley is a wonderful host. From the complimentary wine to the fabulous breakfasts to the wonderful living room with outstanding views, you just can't go wrong staying here. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halls120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We've stayed in a number of excellent B&B's around the country and this one rates with the best, starting with the bottle of wine and snacks set out for us on our arrival. It is also an easy walk into Bandon for some very good dining options. The setting for the B&B is marvelous, perched right alongside a river inlet and looking over at a lighthouse with nothing else horning in the near vicinity. A short walk takes you out to the coast or into Bandon itself. Breakfast is a treat, in our case with fresh fruit, copious amounts of quiche, french toast, and breakfast meats. The hostess is also a marvel, although she readily admits she needs to sell out so she can comfortably retire, if only she could find a buyer. It was to our benefit, and that of our companion guests, that she still owns and operates this B&B, providing us with a pleasant respite as we worked our way down the Pacific coast to San Francisco. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.1 km away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
333 reviews
2.9 km away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.6 km away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
167 reviews
28.4 km away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
33.0 km away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 650 Jetty Rd SW, Bandon, OR 97411-9528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a five bedroom B&B, all have private baths....Two are suites with TVs, whirlpool tubs for two, and fireplaces. The location can't be beat! We are located with a view of the river, ocean, and lighthouse. There is no one around us, but a short walk to Old Town. And, ten minutes from Bandon, Dunes Golf Resort. We serve a full breakfast, and leave out comp wine in the evenings. No children under the age of twelve, and no pets, thank you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing