We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast trip ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here on our West Coast trip from San Diego to Seattle. Staff was wonderful with great recommendations for where to go to eat In Old Town. Great access to the beach. Very clean rooms with nice accommodations. Thanks for a great stay. Great acean views from our room

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We have stayed here at least 6 times...This time we had a new rescue dog ...she loved the beach ... and out neighbors staying across from us..... I love this place's access to the beach ..... being able to cook breakfast and cleanliness of the cabins... We will always be back...one of our favorite places...Thank you
Mike, Judy and Merlot (Therapy dog) Howe

Room Tip: All cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on guest satisfaction and super clean rooms. It was a pleasure having you and we are pleased we are your go to place! See you again.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night in October. It is truly a find. This is a very old hotel, that has been meticulously maintained. We loved It. Very comfortable. Very affordable. Terrific access to a magnificent beach.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Red_Cat_Kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I love the Oregon Coast where, using common sense, you can let your dogs run free on the beach. Windermere on the Beach is right smack dab on the beach. It is SUPER pet friendly and our dogs had a grand time. Most of the time we had the beach entirely to ourselves! I stayed in cabin 22 - a kitchenette with a gas fireplace. Beautiful ocean view, great place. Bed was comfortable, kitchenette was nice to have plus a small dining table and a couple of comfortable chairs. The owners/managers/helpers were all super friendly and helpful. Definitely a must if you have dogs, love the beach and peace and quiet. I'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are happy to hear you and your furry friends enjoyed the accommodations . Thank you for choosing the Windermere and we look forward to your return.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We love the absolutely stunning views from the Windermere property and from the rooms. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are very clean.
Last year (september 2016) we stayed in a king-size room and we had a fantastic visit without issues.
This year (sept 23-25, 2017) we stayed in a king-size room, north end, upstairs unit and our experience was ruined by the repeated smell of smoke coming into our room and onto our deck from guest in other rooms who would light up cigarettes outdoor : either on the deck next to us (Saturday afternoon) or on the patio below us (all sunday afternoon and evening) as well as Monday morning. One guest would sometimes walk 15 ft away- but the smoke still went straight into our room - first thing you smell going to bed and first thing you smell waking up, yack!

Most hotels in the area have clear no-smoking signs on the patios and decks.
We love your wonderful property and having said that, we unfortunately do not plan on returning for another stay unless the property either becomes completely smoke-free or has a no-smoking policy for the exterior areas near the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJ-AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with the smoking. We are a smoke free property and unfortunately we were not made aware of the problem. The guests are usually very understanding when told about the policy of non smoking and will go away to smoke.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I'll start by saying the the rooms are dated and a long way from 5-star. If your looking for marble countertops and the latest and greatest amenities look elsewhere.

The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The location is fantastic and the beach is beautiful. We stayed twice in about 2 weeks--once on our way down the 101 and again on the way up.

1st night we had a double bed room--beds where actually very comfortable and the view from the room was beautiful. The room was clean and well kept but dated. The dark wood interior made the room feel darker than it actually was but not enough to be a problem.

The 2nd night we stayed in their suite (had a 2nd floor loft). The stairway up was very steep and felt a bit dangerous. We had to keep a close eye on our 4 year old daughter. Otherwise the room was much the same as the one above. I would not recommend this room due to the steep stairs for anyone elderly, with small children or prone to serious intoxication! :)

All rooms overlook the ocean and are just a short walk to the beach. The beach here is beautiful and has some incredible rocks that are beautifully polished by the surf. My wife and daughter brought home a couple small bags of them. About a mile down the road are some incredible sea stacks and neat little caves to explore. Great area for kids assuming the weather cooperates.

Internet was OK--nothing special. Don't expect to do any serious gaming but just fine for email, facebook and surfing the web.

I will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the loft due to the steep stairs for anyone elderly, with small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superpete93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

For all of you who remember your parents sleeping in the "big" bed and you, as well as any siblings, sleeping in the couch that converts to a roll away bed will fall in love with this place. It's like stepping back into the 1950's that has been updated with all of the modern conveniences. Okay.....the bathroom is still the original small size bathroom of that era but how much time does anyone spend in the bathroom anyway??

My husband and I spent two nights there and enjoyed the most spectacular view of the Oregon coast from our room. The sunsets were absolutely stunning! We left the small horizontal window open and fell asleep as well as woke up to the waves crashing on the shore.........wonderful!

The staff was friendly, helpful and willing to do whatever it took to make your stay there as comfortable as possible. My only complaint was that the mattress on our bed was a little too mushy for my back (but I do have lower back problems) but was fine for my husband. I mentioned this to the Manager and, not only did she genuinely appreciate my concern, but also guaranteed me that she would let the owner know the mattress would, more than likely, need to be replaced.

Both my husband and I would highly recommend that you stay here. It's quiet, has incredible views, great staff and not too far from all of the various amenities that Bandon has to offer.

A BIG thank you to all of the staff at Windermere on the Beach!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PWO'Neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you from everyone at the Windermere. We love hearing about your stay and appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We are continually upgrading and making changes to make our guests stay all that it can be.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.6 km away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
0.1 km away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
2.3 km away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
597 reviews
3.1 km away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
123 reviews
3.9 km away
Lamplighter Inn
Lamplighter Inn
#10 of 12 in Bandon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: $138 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing