We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit. Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Bedding and art rotated with seasons
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a diswasher
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
Queen size sofa bed with full 600 thread count linens.
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the 'Stairway to Heaven'
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary M
1 review
“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was so comfortable and peaceful that we ended up staying an additional night beyond the 3 nights we originally booked. The location, in a neighborhood very close to downtown, is surprisingly quiet. We enjoyed evenings in the back yard surrounded by lovely gardens. It was a short walk to downtown and Galveston Ave brewpubs and an easy drive to locations farther afield for hiking, etc. Don was a great source of information and was always concerned that we were enjoying ourselves and had everything we needed. The cottage is very well-equipped, including a variety of condiments and all the cooking equipment and utensils you might need. We plan to return to this cottage and would highly recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you for mentioning the peacefulness of the Cottage and grounds. Since the Cottage is only a 4-5 minute walk to downtown, we are often asked if the neighborhood is quiet (?). That is such a subjective question to ask someone who has lived on the property decades. We think it is quiet and your testimonial affirms our beliefs. And yes, the kitchen is fully stocked with nonperishables. We think providing the “basics” (probably more than some have in their own kitchen), we save our guests time and money. What a waste to buy a spice or condiment one might only use once and then discarded upon departure? Please do come see us again and perhaps be surprised. We change out bedding and even some art work to reflect the seasons and holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heidi433
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our Second Time at Second Screet”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is our 2nd straight year staying in the Second Street Cottage and we enjoyed both experiences very much. To begin, Don is easily the best and most accommodating host that we have stayed with during our ventures out to the PNW. He is always there to greet us with a couple of beers and a special surprise in the fridge. Don has given us tons of information on the area and a multitude of personal advice, we feel as though he is like a friend to us. The cottage is quiet, secluded and the backyard is beautiful. Everything is clean, well kept, and well stocked with all of the necessary condiments, teas, coffee, etc. that any vacationer would need on a trip out to Bend. Furthermore, the cottage is in a pristine location, only a very short walk from beautiful Drake Park and the Deschutes and the restaurants and shops of downtown as well as a quick walk down to up and coming Galveston and all of the activities there. The Second Street Cottage made both of our visits to Bend feel more personal, and I genuinely couldn't imagine visiting bend without staying here! Don's beautiful property might even have convinced us to move toward the area as well! Don, Marline, and the cottage have been amazing for the past 2 years and we hope to return again sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Prior to arrival, we try to ask what a guest is interested in doing and seeing. Then we can provide suggestions even before arrival. It gives the traveler, especially those coming to Bend for the first time, a leg up. And if a Cottagers invites interaction with Marline and I, we are happy to engage. Having lived in central Oregon over 40 years, I can suggest the paths less traveled for those who want to escape the crowds.
Many of our past guests have actually turned into good friends and several have subsequently relocated their families to Bend. We are blessed with much repeat business; a honor and trust we do not accept lightly. Whether one wants to get away to a secluded property or be in the hub of downtown Bend, the Cottage offers both ends of the spectrum.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonNN...
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Little Corner of Heaven”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have just completed my 5th stay at the Second Street Cottage, and f that doesn't say it all, I don't know what does. Bar none, this is the best property I have ever rented. It's hard to sing its praises sufficiently. It is so thoughtfully and tastefully set up, one feels at home the instant one walks through the door. From the incredibly well-stocked kitchen (I hosted a dinner for 6 here!) to the superbly appointed bathroom, to the comfy, comfy bed and finally to the garden - everything is wonderful. In addition, the location simply cannot be beat. I come to Bend for work, and our office is downtown. If I walk very slowly, it takes me 10 minutes. Perfect. I spend over 100 nights/year on the road, and I have no interest in staying any place else in Bend but the Second Street Cottage.
(One little Bend tip: I discovered the Jinsei spa around the corner on this last trip. Fantastic, and not more than a 2-minute walk from the cottage.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things! Garden, bed linens, kitchen, bathroom.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you for the great review and of course, your repeat business. We are honored that you take the time out of your busy schedule to even write a review. Thank you. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joerg W
1 review
“Would come back any time”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Don has a excellent place for relaxing in Bend. Walking to downtown is right there. You are in the middle of a lot of good restaurants, not far from bike trails, hiking, etc.
Kitchen is well stocked, nothing for you to bring. Very clean, modern looking. Lots of storage places. Beautiful garden to relax and watch the deer.
We would come back any time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you for the review and mentioning the well-stocked kitchen. Our goal is to maximize our guests’ play time by minimizing the time, inconvenience, and expense of going to buy “stuff”. A simple trip to the grocery store for a spice or bottle of catsup suddenly take 45 minutes out of “play time”. We even have a Northwest Forest Pass available to use.

You mentioned the gardens for relaxing (and BBQing too). In 2012, the property was on the 2012 Central Oregon Master Gardeners tour. We cannot promise that every guest will see deer in the yard but chances are very good one will. Come see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2lostsoul...
The Dalles, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Returning Cottagers”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

As a busy family we like to call the cottage home away from home. It is a very relaxing place that is big enough for everyone but yet cozy so we still stay connected. The sleeper sofa slept both kids comfortably with out being in each others way. The cottage is always well stocked so don't worry about packing up the whole house they have you covered in every means necessary. It makes packing light and simple for your travels. Upon every arrival the cottage is always immaculate! The cottage is a hop, skip, and a jump away from downtown which is easy for the kids to truck along and go for a walk to either grab a bite to eat, shop around, or walk around Drake park. There is also a nearby park for the kids to play at to burn off some energy. If you are in need of groceries Newport Market is right down the road less then a 5 min drive. The patio outside is peaceful and private and a great way to enjoy the beautiful landscape. I cannot say enough about his place it is truly one of our all time favorite places to visit. We will continue to call the cottage home away from home and make many more family memories at this wonderful gem in Bend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Wow! Thanks for the outstanding review. See you again in a few weeks. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtisanJo...
Tahoe City-California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Bend”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Cottage was perfect in every respect. Upon arrival, everything was as the innkeeper stated: immaculately clean, kitchen was well stocked with all condiments and cooking utensils, outdoor living was comfortable and peaceful and to top that off, a split of champagne chilling as an arrival gift.

The location is also perfect; walking to downtown in minutes, to the Deschutes River walking trail and a quick drive to Newport Market.

Don was a gracious host who attended to questions quickly and allowed us absolute privacy.
We look forward to our next trip to Bend and will coordinate our dates with the 2nd Street Cottage availability calendar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
hello Paula
The dates are still available and I do accept pets on a case-by-case basis. Before confirmation of your reservation, we will need to have a phone conversation so I can learn more about your dog.
Pets are never allowed to be left alone in the Cottage and the yard is not fully fenced. There is a $10 per night pet charge which is in the revised quote.
Please do call me if you would like to discuss your pet. 541 480 8556
DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra D
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“The perfect little place.”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

2nd Street Cottage was perfect for my family of three!
We loved the location: while one family had the car, the other family member could walk into town (5-6 mins.).
The space itself if lovely - super clean, professionally decorated (think Pottery Barn) and quiet. Since it is a stand-alone own house on an alley, we didn't worry about neighbor noise.
Don is a very caring host and did all that he could to ensure we were comfortable. I would happily stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super clean, had everything we needed, easy going, private, cute and comfortable.
Liked least: I have nothing to complain about. The reviews and ad for the place set the right expectations.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your Cottage experience. It was nice that you mentioned the convenience of the Cottage to downtown and all that it has to offer only a few minutes’ walk away. Regardless of which route one takes, you will walk by/through at least one park on your way to town across the Deschutes. You have a keen eye for furniture. All of the furnishings are from Pottery Barn; even the bathroom hardware. The Cottage is a stand-alone dwelling situated in our multi city lot back yard. The grounds have a feeling of seclusion and privacy and the property was on the 2012 Central Oregon Master Gardeners tour; one of 6 Bend gardens selected that year.
Marline and my goal is to ensure every Cottager has a trouble free and unique lodging experience. Check out the numerous reviews of the Cottage and book your special lodging experience today.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing