We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage just steps from all the amenities...”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit. Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Bedding and art rotated with seasons
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a diswasher
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
Queen size sofa bed with full 600 thread count linens.
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the 'Stairway to Heaven'
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken C
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage just steps from all the amenities in downtown Bend!”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

First, this cottage is immaculate- clean, efficient and everything is in top working order. It is well maintained and the pride of our hosts shines through. The setting is just beautiful in a park-like setting in our hosts' large backyard. Second, the cottage has an outdoor patio which opens to a beautifully landscaped garden. We enjoyed coffee there each morning. Often deer and other wildlife would wander into the garden which was very interesting. Third, the cottage is located within an easy walk from downtown Bend. My wife and I walked to local shopping and restaurants several times during our recent 10-day stay.
Our hosts were very responsive to us - they provided a National Parks Pass which enabled us to visit the nearby parks at no cost. This is normally a $10/day fee. Also, our hosts were available,yet respected our privacy.
This is our second visit to the cottage and we intend to return- this is a perfect accommodation in a beautiful section of a beautiful town!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
This cottage is immaculate- clean, efficient and everything is in top working order. It is well maintained and the pride of our hosts shines through. The setting is just beautiful in a park-like setting in our hosts' large backyard. Second, the cottage has an outdoor patio which opens to a beautifully landscaped garden. We enjoyed coffee there each morning. Often deer and other wildlife would wander into the garden which was very interesting. Third, the cottage is located within an easy walk from downtown Bend. My wife and I walked to local shopping and restaurants several times during our recent 10-day stay. Our hosts were very responsive to us - they provided a National Parks Pass which enabled us to visit the nearby parks at no cost. This is normally a $10/day fee. Also, our hosts were available,yet respected our privacy. This is our second visit to the cottage and we intend to return- this is a perfect accommodation in a beautiful section of a beautiful town!Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway.
My Response

Thank you for the great review and of course, your business. With over .25+ acres of property, Cottagers enjoy a myriad of micro gardens and seating areas. Located just a few minute walk to downtown and all that it offers, the Cottage is a secluded retreat. A few years ago, the property was on the Central Oregon Master Gardeners annual tour. While the deer think of the gardens as their personal salad bowls, we work to keep them at a high level of attractiveness. Marline and I do hope you will return soon.. Best, DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a can't miss place to call home for a few days in Bend. Don was a great host, the accomodations were first class all the way. Stellar location as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thanks for your business Jeff. We strive to provide an immaculate, well stocked,and peaceful lodging alternative. While just a few minutes walk to downtown and all it has to offer, the seclusion of the property and numerous gardens make the Cottage a unique value. Situated on over .25 acres, Cottagers are ensured plenty of elbow room and options for solitude.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbirds1
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great stay convenient to downtown Bend, Oregon”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is very comfy and nicely appointed. The kitchen is stocked with everything you might need. If you were to discover you needed something that was not there, Don seemed like the kind of guy that would try to help you out and make your stay comfortable. The chilled glasses and the small, chilled beverage carrier in the freezer was a nice touch. Another thing we appreciated was that Don provides a wilderness pass for guests to display in their vehicles so that you can visit all the nearby state parks and National Forests for free and with no hassle.
Sliding doors at the rear open to a really nice patio and a beautifully landscaped yard where some deer visited one morning while we were there. Nice spot for coffee/breakfast in the morning or a cold beer in the evening. Don even provides a nice gas grill for cooking out if you so desire.
In less than 10 minutes you can walk to downtown where there are numerous restaurants and shops to check out.
It's a little tricky to find the place initially. Be sure to follow Don's directions and don't rely on your GPS. The off-street parking in the alley is pretty tight, but we managed with our Chevy Tahoe. Checkout procedures are easy and straightforward (Run the dishwasher, place dirty towels in the tub and take out the garbage.)
I recommend this cottage as a place to stay in Bend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
WOW! Thank you for such a detailed review. You are absolutely correct that travelers need to follow the detailed directions I email them several times before arrival. Parking a full size SUV or pickup can be a little tricky the first time. After arrival, Cottagers will discover an alternative approach to the alley which allows much easier parking of even big rigs.
Thanks for taking great care of the Cottage and do come see us again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
1 review
“Best Vacation Rental We've Ever Stayed In!”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Simply and beautifully decorated; great outdoor space -- we dined on our private patio every night! Every need is anticipated from the well-stocked kitchen to bathroom amenities to detailed instructions for every electronic device to a nice selection of books about the area to a host-made information book full of personal suggestions of local shopping, dining, sights, you name it! Our hosts were so friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. While the cottage was quiet and peaceful, it was only a few minutes walk to the river and the charming restaurants and shops of downtown Bend and a short walk in the other direction to the delightful Newport Market. And to top it all - evening visits in the beautiful garden by a momma and baby deer! Just lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you Rosalind for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We cannot promise the deer will visit every evening but the odds are good--not for the garden as they love the Cottage "salad bowl" of landscaping.
Really do hope you will visit again soon. DonP (the gardener) and Marline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn A
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved staying in this gorgeous cottage. It included all the thoughtful touches that make you feel welcome. The peaceful outdoor seating area was also lovely - especially in the morning with the sun coming through the trees. Best of all was the location - so easy to walk or bike to downtown, breweries/tasting rooms, and the amphitheater. It was lovely to leave our car behind all weekend. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. To note that you left your car parked all weekend is a great testimonial to the Cottage location. And thank you for appreciating the patio and gardens. Please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R
1 review
“This is a great place for 2 in the heart of Bend.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This small but perfectly appointed cottage has everything you could want in a rental. It is located walking distance to downtown, hiking/biking trails and the river. The kitchen is better equiped than any rental I've ever been in and the cottage is comfortable and perfect for 2. There is a beautiful patio and garden right out the back door. The owner is nearby and available to answer questions and make recommendations on restaurants and nearby activities; very helpful and hospitable. If I return to Bend this is where I'll stay; highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a testimonial. The Cottage is licensed for up to 4 guests and as you said..."a great place for 2". Marline and I strive to ensure every Cottager has a unique lodging experience; one which solicits .....we will return. There is so much to do and see in central Oregon, we try to recommend sights, hikes, activities tailored to our guests desires. Hope to see you again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

2nd time at 2nd Street Cottage - Again met all our needs - Perfect location,immaculate and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Repeat Cottagers are the best testimonial for which a host can ask. Perfect location, immaculate and comfortable says it all. Thank you for taking time to write a review and please do come see us again soon. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing