We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Should have stayed longer.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Seaside Retreat

Kitchen area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen area
Queen size bed Queen sofa sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen area
Queen size bed
Queen sofa sleeper
3/4 Bathroom
Oversize shower (no tub in Guest Cottage)
Washer & Dryer
Electric Fireplace
From the front door view
From the sliding glass door
Dining area
Small semi-private yard
Patio
Small yard
Big Redwood Tree in Stout Grove
Winchuck River as it runs into the Pacific Ocean
Nearby ocean with deeded beach access
Driveway
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oregon320...
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should have stayed longer.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful guest house, very nice owner. Lovely yard and walking distance to beach. The fresh flowers on the table were beautiful and unexpected. Loved it and will return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I enjoy gardening and like sharing with my guests the current blooms! I do hope you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0gIA
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, beautiful unit.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed there with my wife and my college son for one month, extremely enjoyed the area and the unit, and feel responsible to help others with more details in my review.

The unit is in a quiet safe retirement neighborhood. We barely see another moving car or person when we drive/walk in and out.

Easy access to the private-like sandy beach. Miles long. 3-minutes' walk to access it (easier than driving). Daily witness of very obvious high/low tide change. Ask Lana for the route.

Campfire on the same beach: big fire with endless driftwood to burn. The fire is legal and you are typically alone on the beach at night with no disturbance but wave noises a few yards away.

The Crissey Field state park is right next to where we stayed across the Winchuck River. The river has a wide, 7-feet deep, lakelike section right next to the beach. I swam in it. Prepare to cross the river when it's low tide.

The beautiful Samuel Boardman state park is 10 miles away and goes north along the coast. Tens of beaches (some hidden), oceanview trails, change of landscapes, solitude, and sands on the way. A must-go - easily needing one-week's exploration. Beware of poison oaks.

Oregon redwood trail is 5 miles up hill from the Lana's home (guest house) on the other side of 101. The other, better-known redwood trails are only 18 miles away.

Grocery stores (cheaper than my home town) and restaurants (both local and fast food chains) are 5 miles away in Brookings. No shops in the "Harbor" community where the unit is. Brookings is a nice, peaceful, and safe town. Smaller than nearby Crescent City and Coos Bay up north, but a lot neater, cleaner, quieter, and (feelingly) safer than both of them. We do not lock our doors when going out for daily trips and neither the car at night.

About the unit/apartment:
Real 1-bedroom unit with living and dining areas. Pictures on the web are not showing all its nice features. It has convenient and separate two sleeping areas by a door and kitchen/dining area in the middle. Spacious for my 3-member family vacation. Very clean. Washing/drying machines are included in the unit. Bathroom with large shower room is located in the bedroom.

Kitchen: full kitchen and fully equipped with oven, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, utensils, etc. We seriously cooked there.

The unit is quiet in the back of the property. In the unit, we almost never see or hear neighbors' activities. No traffic noise. Only a neighbor's dog barks occasionally.

Out of a sliding glass door at the back is fence-separated, landscaped backyard of a decent size just for the guest house. Yard table and chairs are included and all are just for the guests. Owner taking care of it.

Out of the front (side) door, there is a small park-able area that is protected from rain and could be used as storage of shoes, beach chairs, tent, etc.

The unit is like a fully furnished apartment including basically everything we needed to have a home-like stay while vacationing.

Parking: easy, private, convenient right out of the door. Plenty of paved space in the back.

Lana and her daughter are very helpful, friendly, and decent people. They can be accessed immediately most of the time, but at the same time they give sufficient respect to tenants' privacy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay here in Brookings. You certainly had the best weather while you were here.
Lana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lana was extremely welcoming from the moment we arrived. She made sure we were comfortable with the arrangements and took a little extra time to show us the beach access trail (which was really close by). The place was perfect for the two of us and was very affordable. Would even be a good place if there was a party of 3 or 4 looking for a place near the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The price and proximity to a secluded beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay in my Guest House. Please keep my place in mind when you need another get away from the real world for a few days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria1...
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“QUIET”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I thought I would try this place, as the comments were it was quiet, well maintained, and good place to get away.
I needed 2 nights of quiet, and I got it, no interruptions of any type. Which was wonderful.
Mrs. Larsen was very professional when I arrived, and very nice.
I hope to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness
Liked least: Could not stay longer!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and were able to find the rest and relaxation you were looking for. Please visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxman195...
Eureka, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Value”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a great place to spend a few nights! With the fully equipped kitchen, lovely garden, great host, and amenities, we didn't lack for anything. Well, maybe an ocean view (but it was only a block away), so a short walk got you on the beach. Thanks Lana!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like being a guest in someone's home
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
I'm so glad to have met the two of you. I wish I had an ocean view as well. Glad you liked my little piece of paradise. Come back and enjoy new adventures any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
I'm so glad you found what I consider paradise and enjoyed it as much as I do. It was great meeting you and your family. I'm certain there are new adventures to be discovered here. Look forward very much to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Collette...
Layton, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Guest Cottage in a Beautiful Part of the Country.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Seaside Retreat was just as the name describes. The cottage was lovely, homey adn well set up. The area around the cottage was beautiful. Lana was a magnificent host and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We visited Stout Memorial Grove, rode a jet boat upthe Rogue River and shopped in Bandon, Gold Beach, & Brookings. We all had a great time and will definately be back! Thanks Lana!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing