We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely B&B and Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt totally welcomed into Michael’s home. Knowing we were British, he already had the kettle on before we’d even got the cases out of the car. Once the cases were in our room we then joined Michael for a cup of tea and a good chat about the area and what there is to see and where to eat. As we were on a touring holiday we only had one night at this wonderful place, we stayed in the Angel room which was very comfortable. I understand it’s the smallest room but it was more than adequate.
As has been said by many others, the breakfasts are great and Michael includes an example menu when he sends the email booking confirmation, just let him know if there’s something you don’t like on the menu. The gardens are very pretty but I would have loved to have seen them in the summer when I’m sure they would be spectacular and we could have made more of the outdoors area. The breakfast area is very homely with antique furniture, you can tell a lot of thought has gone into making the B&B very inviting and welcoming. We would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We needed a stop over on the Oregon Coast on the way from Portland to the Redwoods and came to the South Coast Inn. Michael was extremely accommodating and the breakfast was delicious in the morning - great coffee, egg frittatta, danishes and fruit. There was also wine waiting for us on arrival and nice seating on the outside decks overlooking some beautifully manicured gardens. Would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Great to have a private bath in Angel Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kells277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The South Coast Inn proved to be an absolutely wonderful place to stay in a town that didn't seem to offer much in the way of nice accommodations. I dealt mostly with Michael, who was as friendly and helpful on the phone encouraging us to stay as he was in person. He and his family are extremely organized, confirming my phone reservation within minutes via email and including various useful attachments.

When we arrived, we were offered beverages, tips about where to go for dinner, and shown the snack drawer. We stayed in the Angel Room, which was full of angel-themed art, books, and knick knacks. It was extremely homey. The entire house, in fact, was full of plants, books, and interesting things to look at. There were plenty of books and movies to borrow. Everything was very clean and the Internet was fast. The home cooked breakfast was delicious, and Michael was very careful to make sure we could eat everything he planned to serve.

Overall, an extremely pleasant stay. We couldn't have asked for more! If we are ever back in the area, we will certainly choose to stay at South Coast again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crims0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury,
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Three of us visited this Inn for one night. The hosts were very welcoming and offered us refreshments when we arrived. The breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented and cooked. The room was very comfortable and clean. We would thoroughly recommend it and would like to have stayed longer, but this was only a brief trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrewsbury_Meeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

A very nice place to stay, the breakfast was gorgious and the owner is very helpful, recommandations for a place for diner was very good, the room was perfect and the historical house was very interesting, the place is quiet and we had a private garden, we will come again. We had good informations about the redwood park that we wanted to visit

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcetannie187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed this small B&B on our drive up the California/Oregon coast. We spent one night in the Maybeck room. The room was large, clean and has a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and the hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Michael, Cheryl, and Grace: you extended gracious hospitality above and beyond what one might expect at a B&B. Beautiful historic home and lovely grounds. I actually tried out 3 rooms during my extended stay and will note the upstairs rooms require a walk up a steep stairway. The Cottage proved to be my favorite; it is a free-standing unit amid trees and flowers.
Don't change your breakfasts - they are healthful and beautifully presented.

Room Tip: The Cottage is easily accessible and has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.8 km away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.0 km away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
12.5 km away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
8.0 km away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing