We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Brookings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt totally welcomed into Michael’s home. Knowing we were British, he already had the kettle on before we’d even got the cases out of the car. Once the cases were in our room we then joined Michael for a cup of tea and a good chat about the area and what there is to see and where to eat. As we were on a touring holiday we only had one night at this wonderful place, we stayed in the Angel room which was very comfortable. I understand it’s the smallest room but it was more than adequate.
As has been said by many others, the breakfasts are great and Michael includes an example menu when he sends the email booking confirmation, just let him know if there’s something you don’t like on the menu. The gardens are very pretty but I would have loved to have seen them in the summer when I’m sure they would be spectacular and we could have made more of the outdoors area. The breakfast area is very homely with antique furniture, you can tell a lot of thought has gone into making the B&B very inviting and welcoming. We would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We needed a stop over on the Oregon Coast on the way from Portland to the Redwoods and came to the South Coast Inn. Michael was extremely accommodating and the breakfast was delicious in the morning - great coffee, egg frittatta, danishes and fruit. There was also wine waiting for us on arrival and nice seating on the outside decks overlooking some beautifully manicured gardens. Would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Great to have a private bath in Angel Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kells277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The South Coast Inn proved to be an absolutely wonderful place to stay in a town that didn't seem to offer much in the way of nice accommodations. I dealt mostly with Michael, who was as friendly and helpful on the phone encouraging us to stay as he was in person. He and his family are extremely organized, confirming my phone reservation within minutes via email and including various useful attachments.

When we arrived, we were offered beverages, tips about where to go for dinner, and shown the snack drawer. We stayed in the Angel Room, which was full of angel-themed art, books, and knick knacks. It was extremely homey. The entire house, in fact, was full of plants, books, and interesting things to look at. There were plenty of books and movies to borrow. Everything was very clean and the Internet was fast. The home cooked breakfast was delicious, and Michael was very careful to make sure we could eat everything he planned to serve.

Overall, an extremely pleasant stay. We couldn't have asked for more! If we are ever back in the area, we will certainly choose to stay at South Coast again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crims0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Three of us visited this Inn for one night. The hosts were very welcoming and offered us refreshments when we arrived. The breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented and cooked. The room was very comfortable and clean. We would thoroughly recommend it and would like to have stayed longer, but this was only a brief trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrewsbury_Meeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A very nice place to stay, the breakfast was gorgious and the owner is very helpful, recommandations for a place for diner was very good, the room was perfect and the historical house was very interesting, the place is quiet and we had a private garden, we will come again. We had good informations about the redwood park that we wanted to visit

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcetannie187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed this small B&B on our drive up the California/Oregon coast. We spent one night in the Maybeck room. The room was large, clean and has a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and the hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Michael, Cheryl, and Grace: you extended gracious hospitality above and beyond what one might expect at a B&B. Beautiful historic home and lovely grounds. I actually tried out 3 rooms during my extended stay and will note the upstairs rooms require a walk up a steep stairway. The Cottage proved to be my favorite; it is a free-standing unit amid trees and flowers.
Don't change your breakfasts - they are healthful and beautifully presented.

Room Tip: The Cottage is easily accessible and has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
1.8 km away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
369 reviews
1 km away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
12.5 km away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
0.2 km away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 516 Redwood St, Brookings, OR 97415-9672
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range: $108 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our in house rooms offer full breakfast at 8:30 am, included in the price of the room. You are welcome to have tea, coffee, wine and use of the refrigerator and microwave. The Garden Cottage does not include breakfast as there is an efficiency kitchen in that accommodation which has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster over and hotplate. If we can accommodate you for breakfast and you would like to join us, please ask. There is a small fee of $10.00 per couple. The Sea View apartment is a full apartment with a great kitchen. We do not include breakfast with the apartment but if you would like, and if we can accommodate your party, we are happy to do so. Please ask on check in. There is an extra charge of $10.00 per couple. We would love to be able to include breakfast for all our rooms, but if the main house is full we simply cannot seat and serve everyone to our standard. We will absolutely do the best possible for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing