We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge(Brookings)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookings Inn(Brookings)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westward Inn(Brookings)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt. Emily Ranch(Brookings)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Suites Motel(Brookings)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
73
19
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
19
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightplace to staya lovely stayroad tripcoasthwy
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 99 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the South Coast Inn, which is housed in a home built nearly a century ago. Lots of character and charm in the place, from the decor to the old-fashion tub.

Bed was comfortable (we had the Rose Room), and the room was very spacious. It was nice to have satellite TV in the room to catch up on international news.

Bathroom was across the hall, but we had it to ourselves. Water pressure was so-so. Tub was quite high and sloped down, so can be slippery when showering. Toilet didn't flush very well, and it's something that needs to be looked at.

WiFi was very erratic, often terribly slow. As such, I was unable to get much work done other than late at night or early in the morning.

Breakfast is included in some units. The two breakfasts we had were very good - French toast and frittata with plenty of fruit.

Hosts were friendly and helpful, offering great advice on things to see and do.

Decent value for the price, but a few small changes could make this Inn quite outstanding.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sciinnkeeper, Owner at South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Good Morning,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments. The Rose Room does have a detached bathroom, private to that room. We will definitely address your concerns and repair the problems you mentioned. Our WiFi is usually quite speedy but I will arrange the routers differently to see if that room can get a better signal. I also have asked the internet provider to check internally for any problems. The toilet issue has been resolved since you mentioned it here. The tub....that is a tough one. We will try placing a mat in the tub and see how that works out. Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the house in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

Driving down from Portland, we arrived in Brookings around 7:00pm without a hotel reservation. Fortunately we found South Coast Inn on Trip Advisor.

This bed and breakfast inn was perfect for us. Our room was a little small, but the atmosphere at the house was wonderful. There is a spacious living room. And outside, the house is surrounded by beautiful plants and trees. I could have set in this environment for hours and relaxed in its setting.

The breakfast consisted of yogurt, juice, coffee, fresh fruit and French Toast.

I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank BKC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

We were unsure where we were going to stop for the night. When we made the decision to stop in Brookings we started making some calls. Luckily South Coast has one room open for the night, the Maybeck Room. The room was fantastic- it had a small patio entrance and a separate bathroom with a large tub. I was able to take a bath and it was very relaxing after a long days drive. The owners were very hospitable and recommended a great spot for dinner. The breakfast was very tasty and we met some nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforfun2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

The house, filled with antiques, and gardens were just gorgeous. Miles met us at the front door and took us to our room on the second floor. We were several blocks from the ocean, however could get a glimpse of it from our room. We asked for recommendations for dinner, and the owner said to go to the Art Alley Grill which was within walking distance. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We hated to leave the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AHCIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015

We were cycling and came across this quiet B&B. The Northwest upstairs room had a great view of the ocean! Breakfast was brilliant.

Only drawbacks: The bathroom is private, but across the hall. You are still about 2 miles from the pacific ocean.

Thanks Miles for being a one of a kind of host.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jab555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews