We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
74
19
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
19
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 100 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

A lovely old house, but a bit stuffy and wearing. This place is clearly family run and has good bones, but could do with a bit of upkeep. The grounds are a little overgrown and the way to a quiet cottage in the back is across an uneven grass with no path. They do have ocean views but it's looking over 101 and blocks of town, not close enough to hear the surf.

It is convenient for walking to town (and the very good Black Trumpet restaurant). Breakfast was a lot of food and fruit, but the French toast was dry. Clearly they are trying and open to suggestions. It was clean and the price was right.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anselandyosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sciinnkeeper, Manager at South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Hello, Yes, we are right in town. It is nice to walk to places. You can only hear the ocean here in the storms or when the surf is high. The garden was not so good this year due to gardeners broken leg. We have not discussed putting in a path to the cottage, but a very good idea. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

We were on a journey to drive the Pacific Coast, and on one of our nights, our goal was to reach Brookings and the South Coast Inn. I never know what to expect with a Bed and Breakfast as I've stayed in beautiful places and not so great, however, this one turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.
We got in late, so didn't have much chance to sample much of the local scenery, but from what we saw, it seemed like a very nice little town, and South Coast Inn was a beautiful house with a huge picture window with a great view of the coast.
The room was very big and quite elegant with, what turned out to be our run of the upstairs as no one else was up there.
The breakfast they had prepared for us was fantastic and quite surprising. In no way did we expect anything so fancy and delicious.
Unfortunately, our stay ended then and we were on our way, but I would definitely recommend this house for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the South Coast Inn, which is housed in a home built nearly a century ago. Lots of character and charm in the place, from the decor to the old-fashion tub.

Bed was comfortable (we had the Rose Room), and the room was very spacious. It was nice to have satellite TV in the room to catch up on international news.

Bathroom was across the hall, but we had it to ourselves. Water pressure was so-so. Tub was quite high and sloped down, so can be slippery when showering. Toilet didn't flush very well, and it's something that needs to be looked at.

WiFi was very erratic, often terribly slow. As such, I was unable to get much work done other than late at night or early in the morning.

Breakfast is included in some units. The two breakfasts we had were very good - French toast and frittata with plenty of fruit.

Hosts were friendly and helpful, offering great advice on things to see and do.

Decent value for the price, but a few small changes could make this Inn quite outstanding.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sciinnkeeper, Owner at South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Good Morning,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments. The Rose Room does have a detached bathroom, private to that room. We will definitely address your concerns and repair the problems you mentioned. Our WiFi is usually quite speedy but I will arrange the routers differently to see if that room can get a better signal. I also have asked the internet provider to check internally for any problems. The toilet issue has been resolved since you mentioned it here. The tub....that is a tough one. We will try placing a mat in the tub and see how that works out. Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the house in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

Driving down from Portland, we arrived in Brookings around 7:00pm without a hotel reservation. Fortunately we found South Coast Inn on Trip Advisor.

This bed and breakfast inn was perfect for us. Our room was a little small, but the atmosphere at the house was wonderful. There is a spacious living room. And outside, the house is surrounded by beautiful plants and trees. I could have set in this environment for hours and relaxed in its setting.

The breakfast consisted of yogurt, juice, coffee, fresh fruit and French Toast.

I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank BKC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

We were unsure where we were going to stop for the night. When we made the decision to stop in Brookings we started making some calls. Luckily South Coast has one room open for the night, the Maybeck Room. The room was fantastic- it had a small patio entrance and a separate bathroom with a large tub. I was able to take a bath and it was very relaxing after a long days drive. The owners were very hospitable and recommended a great spot for dinner. The breakfast was very tasty and we met some nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforfun2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews