We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“On the Beach, But Not Perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Ranked #6 of 18 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
San Ramon, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the Beach, But Not Perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a resort hotel, not a B&B. It's a small property with probably 8 rooms. While it's close to the beach, we had really a challenging time rather than a comfortable one.

There are a few chairs to sit on to view the ocean, but far too few to be enough. When we were there 1 family had taken all of the chairs over to their area, leaving none for anyone else. They need to get probably 3 times as many. In the morning we went out and got 1, but it was too wet to sit in and no one thought o come and dry them. We used 2 of our bath towels to get 1 chair dry. There is a wooden table to sit at, but it's uncomfortable and really not suited for more that 1 family/couple to use at a time.

Also this is a resort area, so there are a lot of children. Our room was on the bottom floor, so we were kept up for hours (until probably 2) with the noise from the people (adults and kids) in the room above.

It was expensive for what you get and the brochure over sells it (like many places are). If I came back to Cannon Beach, I'd definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were sorry to only have one night here. Packed itinerary didn't allow more. Very nicely furnished, loved the quilt. Great to be right on the beach to visit Haystack rock and see the tufted puffins nesting and all the rock life. And the bunnies!! This place is worth an extended stay.

Room Tip: The studio is a bit small, worth paying more for a bit larger upstairs accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The light filled #4 was okay. For me, the King bed was too firm, and the TV was placed too high above the fireplace mantle.
But the location is right on the beach! Beautiful views, easy access, lovely adirondack chairs for lounging and reading outside. No smoking, no pets. This unit is a one bedroom with a full kitchen and a designated parking spot. They were able to accommodate our last minute reservation and gave us a wonderfully unexpected discount for needing to change locations (they did not have a room available for 2 nights, but could provide us with one night at Haystack and the next night at their other location, the Sea Sprite Estuary).
Having said that: The TV is a minor problem, one doesn't go to the coast to watch TV, but since we did want to watch a family movie it was uncomfortable and that was unfortunate.
Kitchen was well stocked with supplies. Staff was very friendly and helpful! We hardly heard our upstairs neighbors, so noise was not a problem. The shower is snug, no bathtub in the unit. The price is average for Cannon Beach, but when you consider the full kitchen and the great location and the spaciousness of it all, it is quite the good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit; more ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Spent two nights at Cottage #5 with my mom and girlfriend. The entire place was spotless and nicely furnished. There was enough space that we each had privacy when we needed and company when we wanted. The kitchen was fully stocked and we were able to enjoy the location and views without having to go out for meals. Watched a couple of complimentary movies in the evening and sat on the chairs on the lawn to write postcards.

I was surprised by the number of people around for May but the location of the cottage is just perfect. We were able to enjoy the view from the windows with the slight rise off the beach providing some privacy from the people walking on the beach.

It took only a few minutes to drive into Cannon Beach and we easily walked in on the beach the next day as an alternative to driving and trying to find parking.

Great location, clean and fully equipped. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Enjoyed one evening at Cannon Beach in one of the beach facing suites at Sea Sprite. The room was quite nicely appointed, with interesting decor, and had a decent sized kitchen. Excellent view of the beach and haystack rock. Rooms were clean, if a bit basic.

Only minor complaints was the price was relatively high for the quality of stay (although this seems to be common to Cannon Beach) and the bathroom shower was tiny.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radioflyer0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed in Haystack #3, which has a great view of the ocean & haystack rock. It is just a few steps to the beach...or when the weather was too blustery, you could have a fire & watch the waves in comfort. Having a kitchen is especially nice & this one was well equipped (plenty of pots & pans, a blender, toaster, coffee maker, etc.). I would hightly recommend the Sea Sprite!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The location of the Sea Sprite is fantastic - an easy walk to Cannon Beach and the hotel offers a beautiful view of Haystack rock. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which was nice and clean with a good ground floor view. However, if we return we would stay in a second floor room instead as the view is even better and a drawback to the Lighthouse Suite is you can hear people walking over head. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.2 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.7 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
2.8 km away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 km away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#8 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock

Property: Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Address: 280 Nebesna St, PO Box 933, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3126
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Cannon Beach oceanfront inn offering studios, one and two bedroom suites and cottages overlooking Haystack Rock.For generations families vacationing in Cannon Beach have chosen to reconnect and enjoy the simpler things in life at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock. With charming rooms overlooking Haystack Rock and the spectacular Oregon Coast and a staff that is passionate about helping each guest create cherished moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HRS so you can book your Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite At Haystack Rock Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing