We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, unexpectedly wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock
Ranked #6 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in room number three... Which is the place to be. We have a Toddler and the room provided a separate place for her to sleep. The view is terrific. Same view as nearby places like Stephanie, etc but for a third of the price. This place is truly excellent value.

One disappointment, the office closed early and unexpectedly and there was a miscommunication about whether we would stay two nights (we wanted to stay an extra night and were to.d it wold be okay... But they rented the room to someone else)

The guy at the front desk the next day dealt with the unpleasant situation wonderfully. It's too bad it happened but there's bound to be trouble every now and then, right? He comped us a night, found us another place to stay, was gracious, and we couldn't be happier.

If we come back to cannon beach, we'll start by calling sea sprite.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjakew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

I had never stayed oceanfront in Cannon Beach and I wanted a a cozy, cottage like feel within steps to the beach. The Sea Sprite and Haystack Rock exceeded my expectations. We stayed in Suite 3, the best in my opinion, as it was upstairs, had it's own private deck and best views of the Rock. The suite was clean, cozy and perfect for two ladies on a girls week-end retreat. Access to the beach was steps away. For a more picnic like feel the grass area above was equally alluring. We sat on our balcony for morning coffee and in the colorful chairs for evening wine. I will stay again!

Room Tip: upstairs is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a resort hotel, not a B&B. It's a small property with probably 8 rooms. While it's close to the beach, we had really a challenging time rather than a comfortable one.

There are a few chairs to sit on to view the ocean, but far too few to be enough. When we were there 1 family had taken all of the chairs over to their area, leaving none for anyone else. They need to get probably 3 times as many. In the morning we went out and got 1, but it was too wet to sit in and no one thought o come and dry them. We used 2 of our bath towels to get 1 chair dry. There is a wooden table to sit at, but it's uncomfortable and really not suited for more that 1 family/couple to use at a time.

Also this is a resort area, so there are a lot of children. Our room was on the bottom floor, so we were kept up for hours (until probably 2) with the noise from the people (adults and kids) in the room above.

It was expensive for what you get and the brochure over sells it (like many places are). If I came back to Cannon Beach, I'd definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were sorry to only have one night here. Packed itinerary didn't allow more. Very nicely furnished, loved the quilt. Great to be right on the beach to visit Haystack rock and see the tufted puffins nesting and all the rock life. And the bunnies!! This place is worth an extended stay.

Room Tip: The studio is a bit small, worth paying more for a bit larger upstairs accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The light filled #4 was okay. For me, the King bed was too firm, and the TV was placed too high above the fireplace mantle.
But the location is right on the beach! Beautiful views, easy access, lovely adirondack chairs for lounging and reading outside. No smoking, no pets. This unit is a one bedroom with a full kitchen and a designated parking spot. They were able to accommodate our last minute reservation and gave us a wonderfully unexpected discount for needing to change locations (they did not have a room available for 2 nights, but could provide us with one night at Haystack and the next night at their other location, the Sea Sprite Estuary).
Having said that: The TV is a minor problem, one doesn't go to the coast to watch TV, but since we did want to watch a family movie it was uncomfortable and that was unfortunate.
Kitchen was well stocked with supplies. Staff was very friendly and helpful! We hardly heard our upstairs neighbors, so noise was not a problem. The shower is snug, no bathtub in the unit. The price is average for Cannon Beach, but when you consider the full kitchen and the great location and the spaciousness of it all, it is quite the good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit; more ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Spent two nights at Cottage #5 with my mom and girlfriend. The entire place was spotless and nicely furnished. There was enough space that we each had privacy when we needed and company when we wanted. The kitchen was fully stocked and we were able to enjoy the location and views without having to go out for meals. Watched a couple of complimentary movies in the evening and sat on the chairs on the lawn to write postcards.

I was surprised by the number of people around for May but the location of the cottage is just perfect. We were able to enjoy the view from the windows with the slight rise off the beach providing some privacy from the people walking on the beach.

It took only a few minutes to drive into Cannon Beach and we easily walked in on the beach the next day as an alternative to driving and trying to find parking.

Great location, clean and fully equipped. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Enjoyed one evening at Cannon Beach in one of the beach facing suites at Sea Sprite. The room was quite nicely appointed, with interesting decor, and had a decent sized kitchen. Excellent view of the beach and haystack rock. Rooms were clean, if a bit basic.

Only minor complaints was the price was relatively high for the quality of stay (although this seems to be common to Cannon Beach) and the bathroom shower was tiny.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radioflyer0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,188 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,609 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,897 reviews
1.8 km away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
199 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock

Address: 280 Nebesna St, PO Box 933, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3126
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $172 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Cannon Beach oceanfront inn offering studios, one and two bedroom suites and cottages overlooking Haystack Rock.For generations families vacationing in Cannon Beach have chosen to reconnect and enjoy the simpler things in life at the Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock. With charming rooms overlooking Haystack Rock and the spectacular Oregon Coast and a staff that is passionate about helping each guest create cherished moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Sprite at Haystack Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite At Haystack Rock Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing