We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsand Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$409
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Webb's Scenic Surf Motel(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,966)
Filter reviews
2,966 results
Traveller rating
2,247
534
131
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,247
534
131
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana servicewayfarer restaurantkids eat freehaystack rocksurf sandsoaking tubbeach frontmemory foambeachfront roomcookiesindoor pooloregon coastturn down servicegreat amenitiesspring breakpartial viewlove this place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,737 - 2,742 of 2,966 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been guests at the Surfsand for many years and have always enjoyed our visits to this beautiful resort. We have never have any problems during our frequent stays, but during our annual New Years Eve vacation we encountered a couple issues in our room that we reported to guest services. On the first morning we discovered the blind in our room was broken and would not go up, and on the second day the shower head fell off. In both cases, guest services responded promptly and fixed the situation within an hour while we were out on our morning beach walks. We were very impressed with how quickly and efficiently they addressed our concerns. They responded immediately and made sure everything was fixed right away. We have always loved the staff at the Surfsand and feel they really care and try their best to make sure you enjoy your time there. They are simply the best!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We at the Surfsand Resort thoroughly appreciate your feedback and patience while we addressed those issues. We look forward to seeing you again and hope to improve upon your experience during your next visit.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We've lived in Oregon 20 years and have made numerous trips to the coast, but never for some reason to the Surfsand. We read the good reviews here and are happy to confirm that this is a very special place. We had one-bedroom oceanfront suites which were will furnished and supplied. The view of the ocean was great, and we sat by the fireplace and watched the storms come in. We will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We are thrilled to hear that you decided to try out the Surfsand Resort. We are even happier to hear that you have decided to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Had a wonderful corner suite with a beautiful view of haystack rock. My only complaints would be that the light switches for the toilet area of the bathroom were on the outside of the doors, which was slightly inconvenient, and the fireplace in our bedroom didn't work. The heater worked fine, though, so we didnt really need it, and the living room fireplace worked. The bed was extremely comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the room service was excellent! Would definitely reccomend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beachfront room...great view!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for spending your honeymoon at the Surfsand! We are glad you found the room and the bed comfortable. We hope to have you back.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We had a great weekend at Cannon Beach. The entire town is shut down over Christmas so I would suggest dinner reservations if you are going over a holiday weekend. We found two restaurants. One allowed customers without reservations and the other restaurant required reservations. I would not pay extra for a partial view room. We were looking across a parking lot and between two buildings to see the ocean. The hotel staff was very nice and allowed us to check in early. It was raining and very windy so with no shopping, it made our weekend that much nicer to sit near the in-room fireplace. The indoor pool is great, the bathrooms were spacious with a huge soaking tub and stand alone shower. You are steps from the beach. My only negatives were it is a pet friendly establishment. I have allergies and requested a non-pet room. I had short white hairs on my socks and clothes so I'm guessing it wasn't pet free. I didn't break out so I didn't complain to staff. We had a great stay but there was nothing unique about this facility so we will most likely try others in the future. If you haven't stayed here, I would certainly recommend you try it at least once.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compass_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for spending your Christmas at the Surfsand! We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay at the Surfsand Resort in Cannon Beach. It is the perfect location for a Pacific Northwest getaway and one where you can bring your furry friend with you!

Upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to the top floor of the ocean facing building fourth floor, where we had sweeping views of the Pacific and Haystack Rock from our balcony. In our upgraded room they had already placed a pet arrival basket (treats, dog blanket, towels and food/water bowls) + they had left a nice treat of microwave popcorn and salt water taffy for my birthday celebration. Nice touches there.

The rooms are very clean and have all the top amenities - HDTV, DVD player (FREE rentals from an extensive/new list), microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee from Sleepy Monk (local coffee roaster), TemperPedic mattress, Aveda bath products, large tub and separate shower.

Park your car and forget using it as you'll be inclined to walk everywhere. And you definitely can from the Surfsand.

We enjoyed our time there and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificNW_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

We're glad you and your furry friend had a fun time at the Surfsand. We hope to see you return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews