We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The little extra amenities make all the difference!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The little extra amenities make all the difference!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here two nights with my best friend for a girl's getaway! We loved it! Our room was below the deck with a nice view of the ocean with no balcony. Huge bathroom with a huge shower. Nice king size bed, coffee maker, fridge and fireplace. Also had an ipod dock. The only thing it did not have was a table. Also, they were upgrading the internet, so the wifi was in and out and sometimes we did not get reception in our rooms with our phones. We took advantage of the cabana service that provided a beach bonfire for $10 a bundle of wood. They started the fire, set up our chairs, and brought us blankets. We ate at the Wayfarer that is right next door. The pool is sparkling and the hot tub was very relaxing. From 10p- midnight, the pool and spa is reserved for adults only! Perfect for relaxing before bed.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. You can still get a good deal and they will let you know exactly which roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSpangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
The internet upgrade is completed and working swimmingly. Glad that you enjoyed the adult swim time to relax before bed.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    406
    108
    28
    11
See reviews for
856
971
62
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I and 2 kids stay at this resort ANNUALLY and it is the highlight of my kids' summer. Service is OUTSTANDING. Dinner at the LUMBERYARD (where kids eat for free as guest of Surfsand) is GREAT! Rooms are comfortable, clean and stylish.

The cabana service is top notch and the fires on the beach in the evenings are the perfect way to cap off each night.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We are pleased to provide your family with “OUTSTANDING service” and a super friendly Resort.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend and from the number of new reviews it seems like there are a number of people writing positive reviews as well. We had a partial ocean view room which is on the bottom floor and the window is essentially boardwalk level but you get a fantastic view of the water. The room was nice and spacious for the two of us with a fireplace and all the amenities listed on the website. The room was very clean and modern yet and casual. It is very nice to have the fridge and the microwave. For us we really enjoy relaxing on our getaways and watching movies in the evening. There is no pay per view channel but the dvds you can borrow from the front desk is a pretty extensive list as well as the most new releases.

My wife visited the spa for a massage and said the massage was amazing with the massager really working her muscles and knew what he was doing. The front desk staff is very attentive and you can tell they have both been well trained and do care about the client experience. The maintenance staff is constantly about the resort area cleaning and prepping different areas which is great to see on a property like this.

We used the pool and hot tub every day, really liked that the pool has adult hours from 10 pm to 12 am.

The biggest thing about this resort though is that you can't get closer to the beach it is awesome.

There were a couple small issues but we were happy to overlook them:
1. There was no recycling bin in the room for can and bottles which you tend to see more these days.
2. Being on the bottom floor you do get noise from the walking around upstairs. I have seen it mentioned in other reviews and will say it is there but thankfully if the weather is nice people don't spend a ton of time in their room.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and if we go back to Cannon Beach we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I would recommend getting a room on a higher floor as you won't have to dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We appreciate your kind comments about the massage therapist and our attentive front desk staff.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I, two kids, and our dog stayed at the Surfsand over Easter weekend in one of the suites. Our room was "partial view" but was still great from both the living room area and the bedroom. Kids were given buckets and shovels on arrival and dog was also given some treats. The pool was fairly comfortable, front desk said it was set at 85 degrees. This is always important to our family with two young kids traveling in the chilly northwest. The hotel was pretty great, service was top notch, and location was excellent. Just what you would expect from high priced resort. Our family has been to several hotels on the coast that charge 5 star prices for a run down crappy hotel, but this resort actually delivers, on service, amenities, etc. Definately worth the price. My only complaint would be the down pillows, which I personally can't stand. Just a personal preference.

Room Tip: First floor may be more convienent for pet potty trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyof214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2015
Thank you for spending your Easter with us. It sounds like you had a great trip!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wow beautiful rooms overlooking the Pacific , Although the hotel is good for families the rooms are cozy and romantic with soaking tub, balcony, and fireplace in some rooms. The sound of the surf is so soothing. We went in the off season with kids, but wish we had the room to ourselves it was so nice. A walk on the beach, a glass of wine and you are set The staff was great from the start as well! Wish we could come back in the summer

Room Tip: Splurge room a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalewatcher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We will hope to see you without the kids at some time to make an adult weekend for the two of you.
Enjoy,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April and can't wait to go back! We stayed in the retreat suite with a partial ocean view. The highlights of the room included a balcony, tempurpedic bed, fireplace, huge tub and two showerheads. The service was great. We paid the $10 to have a private fire on the beach, which I highly recommend. Cannon beach, unlike other beaches I've been to, allows dogs, bikes, alcohol and bonfires. The walk from the retreat studio rooms to the beach is not far but next time I think we'll splurge for a beachfront room. Its a gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We think you should splurge for a beachfront room on your next visit. It is a gorgeous beach, delighted that you were able to enjoy it.
Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a room right on the water - beautiful. There were three of us travelling therefore needed to use the bed chesterfield which we were advised not to make up too early when they did 'turn down service'. Unfortunately though when we were ready to retire it was discovered that the couch had never been changed from the last guest so had to wait for new linens and bed to be made. Must add that the couple of times we called for something including the bed ordeal the service was prompt and friendly!! This resort is very pet friendly, provided a pad to sleep on, towels for drying (a place to clean dog outside) and baggies. After driving all day our dog loved being able to run on the beach which was allowed. We ate in their restaurant and had an excellent meal. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for being right on the water - worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.6 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,439 reviews
1.9 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,482 reviews
1.5 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,718 reviews
1.5 km away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
216 reviews
0.9 km away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing