We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsand Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Wayside Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Lodge(Cannon Beach)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End at Cannon Beach(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Court(Cannon Beach)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,966)
Filter reviews
2,966 results
Traveller rating
2,247
534
131
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,247
534
131
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana servicewayfarer restaurantkids eat freehaystack rocksurf sandsoaking tubbeach frontmemory foambeachfront roomcookiesindoor pooloregon coastturn down servicegreat amenitiesspring breakpartial viewlove this place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,705 - 2,710 of 2,966 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I and 2 kids stay at this resort ANNUALLY and it is the highlight of my kids' summer. Service is OUTSTANDING. Dinner at the LUMBERYARD (where kids eat for free as guest of Surfsand) is GREAT! Rooms are comfortable, clean and stylish.

The cabana service is top notch and the fires on the beach in the evenings are the perfect way to cap off each night.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We are pleased to provide your family with “OUTSTANDING service” and a super friendly Resort.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend and from the number of new reviews it seems like there are a number of people writing positive reviews as well. We had a partial ocean view room which is on the bottom floor and the window is essentially boardwalk level but you get a fantastic view of the water. The room was nice and spacious for the two of us with a fireplace and all the amenities listed on the website. The room was very clean and modern yet and casual. It is very nice to have the fridge and the microwave. For us we really enjoy relaxing on our getaways and watching movies in the evening. There is no pay per view channel but the dvds you can borrow from the front desk is a pretty extensive list as well as the most new releases.

My wife visited the spa for a massage and said the massage was amazing with the massager really working her muscles and knew what he was doing. The front desk staff is very attentive and you can tell they have both been well trained and do care about the client experience. The maintenance staff is constantly about the resort area cleaning and prepping different areas which is great to see on a property like this.

We used the pool and hot tub every day, really liked that the pool has adult hours from 10 pm to 12 am.

The biggest thing about this resort though is that you can't get closer to the beach it is awesome.

There were a couple small issues but we were happy to overlook them:
1. There was no recycling bin in the room for can and bottles which you tend to see more these days.
2. Being on the bottom floor you do get noise from the walking around upstairs. I have seen it mentioned in other reviews and will say it is there but thankfully if the weather is nice people don't spend a ton of time in their room.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and if we go back to Cannon Beach we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I would recommend getting a room on a higher floor as you won't have to deal with the noise from the floor above. You don't hear voices but the footsteps are quite distinctive.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We appreciate your kind comments about the massage therapist and our attentive front desk staff.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I, two kids, and our dog stayed at the Surfsand over Easter weekend in one of the suites. Our room was "partial view" but was still great from both the living room area and the bedroom. Kids were given buckets and shovels on arrival and dog was also given some treats. The pool was fairly comfortable, front desk said it was set at 85 degrees. This is always important to our family with two young kids traveling in the chilly northwest. The hotel was pretty great, service was top notch, and location was excellent. Just what you would expect from high priced resort. Our family has been to several hotels on the coast that charge 5 star prices for a run down crappy hotel, but this resort actually delivers, on service, amenities, etc. Definately worth the price. My only complaint would be the down pillows, which I personally can't stand. Just a personal preference.

Room Tip: First floor may be more convienent for pet potty trips.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyof214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for spending your Easter with us. It sounds like you had a great trip!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wow beautiful rooms overlooking the Pacific , Although the hotel is good for families the rooms are cozy and romantic with soaking tub, balcony, and fireplace in some rooms. The sound of the surf is so soothing. We went in the off season with kids, but wish we had the room to ourselves it was so nice. A walk on the beach, a glass of wine and you are set The staff was great from the start as well! Wish we could come back in the summer

Room Tip: Splurge room a room facing the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalewatcher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We will hope to see you without the kids at some time to make an adult weekend for the two of you.
Enjoy,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April and can't wait to go back! We stayed in the retreat suite with a partial ocean view. The highlights of the room included a balcony, tempurpedic bed, fireplace, huge tub and two showerheads. The service was great. We paid the $10 to have a private fire on the beach, which I highly recommend. Cannon beach, unlike other beaches I've been to, allows dogs, bikes, alcohol and bonfires. The walk from the retreat studio rooms to the beach is not far but next time I think we'll splurge for a beachfront room. Its a gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We think you should splurge for a beachfront room on your next visit. It is a gorgeous beach, delighted that you were able to enjoy it.
Thank you
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews