We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Just book your fishing trip with them!

Awesome crew! Fishing started out slow but the captain kept searching and nearly everyone had a... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2023
Sean S
Awesome crew !

Great experience with the crew very helpful and nice men thankyou !!! Will book other trip got are... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed September 24, 2023
boothtony
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
163
21
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
163
21
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing trip great trip rock fish ling cod catching fish these guys ocean fishing excellent fishing family fishing an adventure tuna dip crew shamrock boat lingcod blast cast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2015

This was our first time bottom fishing with this company. Very friendly and family owned. We had a very good skipper and deck hand. The boat caught it's limit in 1.5 hours, we were scheduled for 5.

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank RonORon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Amazing time with friends. Our Captain made sure we all got our catch and our Deckhand Jacob was so helpful. We hope to get up there from Phoenix, AZ again to be able to have the time of our lives!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Bobbye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Our group of five, ranging in from age 10-81, enjoyed an afternoon excursion with Betty Kay Charters. My sister, mom and I all grew up in the area, but wanted to treat our kids to their first Oregon coast ocean experience. The weather was beautiful and the sea was very calm. Captain Bill was wonderful, going out of his way to find a good fishing spot and track down a whale for us. Jacob, the deckhand, was helpful, funny, and very knowledgeable about the area, it's history and sea life. He made fishing a successful experience for the kids, and explained lots about the fish they were catching. Growing up here and knowing how rough crossing the bar can be, I was nervous about the safety of the kids, as well as my ability to keep from getting seasick. My fears disappeared as soon as we boarded the boat, got our safety talk, and realized that we were in great hands with Captain Bill and Jacob. The trip was so much fun that we are looking to book another trip with the extended family so they can experience it too. Thanks Betty Kay Charters! We'll be back!

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 12, 2015

We usually go bottom fishing but decided to go halkibut fishing for the first time ever and chose the Betty Kay Charter to do it with. Well it costs 185.00 per person for a 12 hours trip as well as your angling license and your salmon/ halibut tag. For 12 hours and only allowed 1 per day per person plus whatever sole you catch just wasn't worth it for us. We were catching lings and other bottom fish but had to release them. Couldn't catch halibut and bottom fish together. There was only one big one that weighed 55 pounds the rest were pretty average of the same size and weight. We love going charter fishing for bottom fish but halibut just wasn't as fun, However you have the best crew at Betty Kay Charters and they find the fish and they are really good about getting your fish on the boat and getting your limit. If you are going to go halibut fishng it is cheaper if you have your own boat, just our opinion. If you want a nice clean place to stay the night call Captain John's Motel and get reservations from them without any of the search engine sites and they will give you a very good deal.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 1, 2015

I should start off by saying this was not our first trip with Betty Kay Charters. We have been fishing with them before and will continue to do so whenever we are in the area. We have always filled our limit of rock fish when we've gone out with them and this time we even filled our Ling Cod limits, which can be hit or miss. Actually I believe everybody on the boat limited out on not only rock fish but Ling Cod as well! This was our first trip with Captain Kurt, but not with Bam Bam Every time we've gone out with Betty Kay it has been a great time, not only are the staff very helpful an knowledgeable, but very friendly as well. We've been on a few other fishing charters and never seen anyone work as hard as Bam Bam does, he's all over that boat! When you yell "fish on" he'll acknowledge you and if he's helping someone else he'll say "be right there” and every time we called, he was there to net the fish. If you were caught on the bottom and lost you rigging they were right there to replace it to keep you fishing. We always come home with tons of fresh fish and get to share with friends and family. If you've never been ocean fishing and always wanted to try it this is who you want to go with. It's great fun for kids and adults alike and to see the look on your child’s face when they bring up a fish is priceless, I remember last year when we took our youngest daughter and she caught a really nice Ling Cod she was smiling ear to ear! Thank You Kurt and Bam Bam for another great fishing experience and we're looking forward to seeing you later this summer to try tuna fishing!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews