We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
26
21
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
21
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nude beach columbia river clothing optional area beach goers multnomah falls wind surfers recreation picnic shore sunscreen sanctioned hikers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to a full parking lot at Multnomah Falls, we exited the freeway at Rooster Rock State Park in order to pay $5 to park and take the hourly shuttle to the falls. While waiting for the bus, we walked down to the Columbia River and admired some fall foliage. There is also a children’s playground, picnic tables, and parking spaces.

Thank Susie1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cruising up the Gorge to checkout the fall colors, we stopped off in Rooster Rock State Park. Its large and expansive parking lots and picnic areas were almost abandoned, unlike the summer months when it is crowded with beach goers and picnickers. The spectacular fall colors decorated the trees in the park and the surrounding hills with day glow yellow, orange and red colors. Excellent views of the cloud draped mountains and wide rivers were illuminated by a light show from veiled clouds covering and then revealing the sun light. Gorgeous (ok, pun intended).

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

You can almost walk to Washington! Love this sandy hideaway. Bring your dog or play with others. And, clothing optional!

Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Little child’s playground, some picnic tables and mostly parking spaces. You see the Columbia River and can take some nice pictures. This is the area that you can get the shuttle to go to to the Monmouth Falls. Parking is $5.00 (rip off). Nothing special at all. Don’t waste your time as $5.00.

1  Thank Olena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

I don’t think our cameras stopped clicking. This place is green and beautiful. I cannot stop thinking about Oregon and this is one of the reasons. If you have the chance, do not miss this.

Thank 706scottn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

This was a great quiet place to stop for lunch. I think there are beaches, but we paid $5 to get in and have a quiet lunch away from the crowds. There were nice picnic tables and a view of the gorge.

Thank Iowayankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Picnic tables, restrooms, boat launch on the Columbia River. Pet friendly and from River can see Vista House and rooster rock.

Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

This beautiful state park located on the Columbia Gorge is home to one of Oregon's legal clothing optional beaches. This clothing optional beach is shard by nudists, kite boarders, wind surfers, fishermen, hikers and others.

The Park Rangers are visible and friendly. The park is maintained and provides a great time for recreation and fun. A summer day you will find the clothing optional area parking lot full. My suggestion is to arrive early morning to get a parking spot close to the entrance.

One can stop by the office and ask for a beach etiquette card. The card has the park staff phone numbers, law enforcement numbers and information about clothing optional beach etiquette. The American Association for Nude Recreation aanr.com has officially adopted this clothing optional area throughout the Oregon State Park Adopt-A-Park program.

The park includes an island that is great for exploring and hiking. There are no restrooms once you leave the parking area.

When I visit I carry my own water, sunscreen and beach chair. The trails to the beach are marked. Remember you are not allowed the choice of clothing optional until you reach the sign at the bottom of the gravel entrance. No fires are allowed. Remember "pack in and pack out."

I can spend hours hiking, watching the wind surfers and enjoying the beautiful scenic Columbia River.

There is now a shuttle that runs from Troutdale to Hood River making transportation affordable and less stress on parking. There is a day fee upon entering.

Combine a trip Roster Rock State Park with a visit to Multnomah Falls! My visit in April found the river to high to get to the island but hiking the area above was wonderful. Frisbee golf in the area made for an interesting visit.

3  Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Situated in the Columbia River Gorge just west of Multnomah Falls and right on the Columbia River is a spacious park with lots of areas and tables available for a nice day of picnicking and play. The east end of the park offers nude sunbathing, and is popular with those who like to soak up the sun completely in the buff. This area is secluded and has warning signs before you might wander into it.by mistake.

2  Thank Jerrywa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

I've been reading the reviews and am astounded by the number of people who are shocked that they might run into a nude person when at the east end of the beach. There's a large sign (half the size of a billboard) at the entrance to the ramp that leads to the beach that clearly states "CLOTHING OPTIONAL SECTION." The nude beach is the primary reason people go to the beach at Rooster Rock, as opposed to just the park. The other nude beach (on Sauvie Island) isn't nearly as picturesque and too many of those folks choose to wear swimwear and designer underwear. If one wants to go to a clothing optional beach, and not run into many nude sun bathers, they should go to Collins beach on Sauvie Island.
As for Rooster Rock, it's the best nude beach I've gone to (I've been to several up and down the west coast). There's paved parking, patrol rangers on premise, and a very friendly/courteous groups of users. Everyone on the beach is polite. If you're traumatized by the site of a naked body, this isn't the place for you.

9  Thank joseferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews