We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“They care about your experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They care about your experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

These are awesome people! Not to mention the hotel is beautiful and clean. From the hot chocolate chip cookies to the amazing breakfast, they cover it all. We will be back. Also, caught a shuttle for a very fair price to and from the Maryhill winery concert. So thankful we found this place. :) Aura

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auraskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Went here in May for a getaway and left feeling relaxed and refreshed. We were completely taken care of with excellent service and wonderful charm of the building. The beds were relaxing and we left feeling so refreshed. We work all the time and The Balch is just what we needed to get us through the summer. We are still thinking about how much we enjoyed it 5 months later. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We traveled around Oregon, staying 10 days in 8 holels/motels. We liked our first night in the Balch so much we re-routed ourselves on the way back to stay again in the Balch Hotel again. Yes, it is a little off the beaten path (14 miles south of The Dalles on I 84) but so well worth it. The views, the grounds, the rooms and the breakfast were by far the best! Thank you Samanth and Wanda, you were the best too!! Anytime we are in Oregon again, we will be back to stay at the Balch...AND they now have a shuttle to one of our favorite winerys...The Maryhill Winery that has concerts on the Columbia River and great wine too!! You cannot go wrong staying at the Balch!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey90803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night and attended a concert at Maryhill Winery. The hotel had arranged a private shuttle at a reasonable price for guests going to the concert. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has a beautiful view of Mt Hood from the front steps and balconys on the front. Terry and Frank were so very nice and helpful. There are homemade chocolate chips cookies when you arrive and check in and Terry took us up to the room and went over the basics. Our room did not have a private bath just a sink and it was fine. They have claw foot tubs with a shower. It is like being back in time. Very nice! Nice to not have a TV too! The breakfast the next morning was delicious!
We will be back - loved the hotel, and Terry and Frank are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

My partner and I have stayed at The Balch Hotel many times over the past 3-4 years. It is off the beaten-path from the main parts of the Columbia River Gorge (30 minutes to Hood River) but is worth the trek for a quiet get-away.

What makes it special?
- The immediate curb appeal. It's a 100-yr old hotel that has been refurbished and has a beautifully maintained, large lawn and patio area (many weddings there)
- The owners could not be nicer and exemplify high customer service to their employees
- The rooms and bathrooms may be old but they're very clean. I'm usually not one to share bathrooms in a B&B style hotel, but at The Balch it doesn't bother me since everything is well-maintained. They also have rooms with en-suite baths for those who aren't into sharing a bath
- Breakfasts are always quite good -- usually a yogurt parfait, a muffin and a quiche. With lost of Hood River Roasters' coffee

So...drive off the beaten path through the rolling wheat fields and/or through the Mt Hood Natl Forest to Dufur, Oregon and spend a night or two at The Balch!

Room Tip: The Ladies' Sitting Room has a great view of Mt. Hood and its own sink (shared bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamJobGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Three of us came for an overnight stay on a Saturday and loved it! Teri was incredibly helpful in making our visit great. She took good care of us and gave us perfect advice about what to while we were there. The breakfast was lovely and excellent! Thank you Balch Hotel - Jody, Peter and Mary :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPeptides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Balch Hotel is a delightful get-away for anyone in the Pacific Northwest. The hotel has been fully restored keeping its history intact, but with plumbing that works and wi-fi in the parlor. We were there on a perfect, sunny weekend, made for relaxing with a good book and tasting wine. The view of Mt. Hood was amazing. That's something Tuscany doesn't have!

The occasion was my birthday in early June and all the staff and owners were friendly, gracious and helpful at all times. We attended one of the monthly Supper Clubs and enjoyed yummy ribs and other tasty treats. All guests receive a gourmet breakfast - quiche, homemade breads and we had a delicous fruit parfait.

For a Saturday night you might need to reserve early if you want a room with a private bathroom, but there are several bathrooms off the hall for the other rooms to share. I doubt if anyone ever has to wait.

This is a great place to go for a romantic get-away, a wedding, or a base for wine tasting or fishing/rafting on the Deschutes River. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufur
18.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
29.3 km away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
17.4 km away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
36.0 km away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
17.1 km away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Property: Balch Hotel
Address: 40 Heimrich St, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel operating as a B&B! Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. Come with a group for a fun gathering of friends, or choose a quiet romantic get-a-way for you and your sweetie. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. Visit the sunny side of Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing