We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lost wallet returned!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eugene University Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eugene University Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A lost wallet returned!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The first night of a month's holiday to the south, I lost my wallet including all cards and cash. No matter how much I searched, I could not find it and had to travel on. When I returned home I had a letter from Tina Patel, manager of the University Inn, telling me that my wallet had been found. The remarkable thing is that the wallet had gone through 3 staff shifts before it arrived on her desk with all cards and cash intact. It is a story that bears telling and everyone I tell it to finds it amazing and heartwarming that there are good and honest people such as Tina Patel and her staff at the University Inn & Suites. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Director of Sales at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for writing this review. Too often, visitors find that something has been left behind in their hotel room. It is a hotel's duty to return these items to their rightful owner. We believe that common courtesy can and should be practiced more often than they are. And we will continue to try to lead by example, even in the face of contention.

DPR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    29
    12
    24
See reviews for
46
33
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at this motel in November this year as I needed to be picked up by airport shuttle to go to Portland, OR (the only motel that the shuttle company would pick up). The room was ok - clean but old. However, I couldn't book online, and had to give credit card number over the phone. I felt uneasy but had to do it.

After a week of my stay, I realized my credit card was charged several times in small amount. Had to cancel my credit card. Beware of this motel - unscrupulous staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lihua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Director of Sales at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
In response to this review, the Trip Advisor team responsible for reporting erroneous reviews, has been notified of the following:

We have no record of this guests' stay at the University Inn & Suites property at any time, on any date, nor specifically in November of 2011. It appears that this review is in error, and that the accuser has incorrectly accused this property of mistreatment.

So too, the University Inn & Suites has many methods of making reservations on-line. Each of which has specific policies about the necessity for a credit card to secure a reservation. It is, in fact, this hotels policy to demand a credit card be on file for ALL rooms rented. Regardless of the guests' final payment preferrences. We do allow guests to pay with cash at the time of check in or check out. However, there must always be a valid credit card with enough funds to cover the cost of the rental room and a specified percentage beyond that required amount, for incidental purposes.

Also, though it is unfortunate, this property does not have a shuttle of any kind; nor do we have a shuttle service that is exclusive to our property. We are truly saddened that your trip to Eugene was not as you would have preferred. However, we can assure you that, the next time you are in Eugene, if you come and stay with us at the Eugene ~ University Inn & Suites, you will be pleased with your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others. I hope this review response clarifies any misunderstanding about the Universty Inn & Suites property.

DP Robillard, CHO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eugene hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great location, but beware of the showers as the water temp. has a mind of its own, if a toilet flushes next door you get burned, and if the hot water is used in the sink at the same time as your shower you get frozen. This must be fixed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjones1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Director of Sales at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for bring to our attention, the problems with the water temperature in the showers. This situation has been directed to the hotel General Manager as well as the Maintenance Engineer. Currently, the problem is being rectified.

DPR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We took a vacation in early August of 2011, and again in early November, 2011, and searched many travel inns before choosing the University Inn & Suites. A price comparision revealed that we received more comfort options at an incredible competitive price. We counted that University Inn offered 11 more comfort options, i,e., very comfortable pillow top bed, extra pillows, extra towels, blow dryer, coffee, continental breakfast, just to name a few comforts. We were very impressed with the staffing as well. Brittney and Tina offered my husband assistance to locate his missing cell phone. The service and consideration we received was above and beyond our expectations........maybe that's why we choose to stay two nights in a row instead of leaving town!!! The next time we travel to Eugene, Oregon, our stay will be with the University Inn & Suites.
Much appreciated,
Mr. and Mrs. Corbin

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeslaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Convinient location across the univerisity main campus, and just a block away is a full-service supermarket for groceries. Room was spacious, orderly and clean, and included a microwave and mini-fridge. Air-con system worked nicely, good water pressure in shower, and the windows let in a lot of natural light. Ample free parking, and a internet-connected PC is available in the lobby. Free breakfast was nice with assortment of basic breads, cereal, make-yourself waffles, fresh fruit (bananas/apples), juices (apple/orange), milk, and coffee -- much better offering than what I was expecting. Sitting area is clean and comfortable with glass walls all around. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Cons: The property is on the busy highway, which is convinient but can add to street noise. Ask for a room near the back and you should be fine. This is a standard motel ("inn & suites' is probably overstating the experience), so keeping that in mind, the overall experience was pleasant and good value ($60).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
We thank you for taking time to write this review on Trip Advisor and are delighted that you found the location, room, and breakfast of good quality value. Here at University Inn & Suites we make every effort to insure that each and every one of our guests stay is enjoyable. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we hope that we will have the pleasure of accommodation you on your next visit to the Eugene area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel was a stretch 2 star - carpet was filthy, room had a fairly new coat of paint. not much of a breakfast, parking 4 feet outside your door, bathroom was very small, tub was very slick - no tread slip things. Location was good, not great. Not comparable to neighboring hotels also rated at 2 star. Day manager Brittany did what she could to accommodate and was friendly. air unit had not been used for heat and put out quite a burning oil smell for several hours. wifi internet was incredibly slow. guest computer at front desk was even slower. 2 double beds, TV was old, had a frig and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casanramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
University Inn & Suites would like to thank you for writing this review. We take our guest reviews very seriously. Our Management team, along with our Front Desk Staff, are constantly in communication in an attempt to reconcile every guest issue. We have secured a Heating Specialist to check and monitor each of our in-room heaters, and our bathtubs have been inspected for safety needs. Lastly, we immediately updated our guest business computer to function at a higher level.
We will continue to address any and all issues that are brought to our attention. We value your reviews. Your feedback allows us the opportunity to modify ourselves to better suit your needs. We hope that in the future, you will afford the University Inn & Suites the opportunity to regain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Room clean enough but horrid smell of industrial deodorizer. Front end staff not available on checkout. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Due to continuing complaints we have recently eliminated the use of in room deodorizer. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to address this issue.
The availability of staff to assist our guests is a responsibility that we take very seriously. Recently we had a staff meeting to address these needs, and we believe that we have remedied that flaw.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guests' reviews are a great tool that our management team uses to effect positive changes within the establishment. We hope that in the future, you will afford the University Inn & Suites the opportunity to regain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.5 km away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.7 km away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
1.1 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Greentree Inn
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#12 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Eugene Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene University Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene University Inn & Suites

Property: Eugene University Inn & Suites
Address: 1857 Franklin Blvd., Eugene, OR 97403 (Formerly Franklin Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene University Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EUGENE HOTEL - QUALITY UNIVERSITY LODGING Welcome to University Inn & Suites, a 100% smoke-free, family-friendly Eugene, Oregon hotel. You'll enjoy well-appointed accommodations, exceptional service, and an array of amenities to make your visit a most pleasurable and memorable one. An ideal location provides easy access to jogging and biking trails, shopping and dining options, and the Eugene Airport. When you're our guest, you'll always be within close proximity of fun things to do. Eugene attractions range from Lane County Fairgrounds and Alton Baker Park to Autzen Stadium, home of the University of Oregon Ducks football team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eugene University Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing