We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A sea of sea lions in a cave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
Ranked #6 of 37 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sea of sea lions in a cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have never visited an attraction quite like the Sea Lion Caves, and it is remarkable. To get so close to these magnificent beasts (the bulls, or males, can weigh as much as 1800 pounds) in their natural environment is awe inspiring. There were more than 200 in the cave at the time we visited and my abiding memory will be the deafening noise from the animals. A lot of work has gone into making the Sea Lion Caves as rewarding an experience as possible, and it shows. Well worth a stop on a beautiful stretch of Oregon's coastline.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    338
    259
    96
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
336 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Unique and fun- one time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Parking is on pullouts off highway, walk across treacherous road to get to gift shop/entrance. FEE. Go down to this cave where you have lots of sea lions barking and splashing and diving (not close enough for you to touch, but you can see them clearly). Great one time adventure, twice if you are bringing relatives, but not something you do every year.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wild Stellar Sea Lions in natural habitat...Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is the world's largest sea cave and we saw wild stellar sea lions in their completely natural habitat. You could smell, see them kiss each other and hear them bark. Take a good camera as there is a perfect photo spot for the family, plus you will get tons of pictures of the sea lions. You can also view the Heceta Head Lighthouse. We were also fortunate enough to spot a grey whale out in the ocean close to the cave where the sea lions were lying on the rock ledge just outside the cave.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Itraveldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen
Level Contributor
159 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Come and see, hear and smell the sea lions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have been here in the late afternoon.
In the shop where you find the cash desk is a TV on which you see pictures of a live-cam in the cave. So you can see whether sea lions are there at the moment. I liked that very much, they don´t rip you off and you can decide whether to go or not when you can only see one or two sea lions inside.
We were lucky and saw some more. The cave was not really crowded but about 10 sea lions have been around.
After paying your tickets (12 USD each at the moment) you go outside and take steps to a path that leads you to the elevator which brings you down to the cave.
Inside the cave it was dim but you could see the sea lions clearly. The cave is open to the seaside and you can see them swim inside. Mostly they are sitting on a big rock in the middle of the water. You can hear and smell them, too.
There are two sea lion sceletons to study their physique.
When you take some steps to a lookout you can watch the waves outside (and sometimes see the sea lions swim there).
We liked our visit!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndreaLeverkusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Better than I remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is one of those stops you make because your parents took you there when you were little. Still a neat attraction, kids loved it, saw lots of sea lions. we will definitely be back

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fyrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing