We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel near Crater Lake”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jo's Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great motel near Crater Lake”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We rented the cabin at Jo's Motel. Great accomodations! Cabin sleeps 6 with a full kitchen, screened-in porch, fire-pit and picnic table, and horsehoe pit. Very close to the entrance to Crater Lake National Park. Hot meals available for purchase at the main office area. There's a small grocery store there, too, with a wide selection of natural and organic foods. Great visit.

Room Tip: Reserve the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaNelltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
19
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed one night in anticipation of a Crater Lake visit. We rented the cabin (there is only one) as opposed to the rooms. It was a cute, cozy cabin and a total 180 from the Hampton Inn experience. The owners were quite obliging, giving us a couple movies of our choice in lieu of the fact there was no computer and television. The curtains were a bit sparse (see-through), leaving us with the feeling that anyone who was interested in our sleeping habits would be fully titillated. We also had our choice of coffees/teas for the morning. The trip to Crater Lake took no time at all, as the road was conducive to passing. I would say if we ever went back to Crater Lake we would take blackout paper and make a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

If you like your motel rooms enclosed in off-white sheetrock, then don't come here. If you like a little charm in your accomodations, then this is the place for you.
The owners have done a great job of retaining much of the rustic aesthetic of the place. As can be expected from a place of such history, there are a few minor dings and irregular angles in the rooms, but is spotlessly clean.
There is no wireless or cable T.V., but there is a small T.V. in the room and the owners let you pick your entertainment from their DVD collection.
The most remarkable thing about this motel is the organic food store and kitchen they have in the front office. Especially considering the isolation of this place, the organic food(vegetables too!) and drink selection is amazing and it is a great place to grab a snack or some coffee. Heck, you could make a full meal with the selection they have.
The motel property also has some very nice campspots, a big fire pit, and frontage to a clean river.
Add to all of this a very friendly staff and a 1/2 hour drive from Crater Lake N.P. and you have a great little place to rest your head.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We enjoyed staying at Jo's and found it convenient to Crater Lake. The organic grocery store offered quality items, and the breakfasts made by the staff were really good (although that is, of course, extra $$). There were two rooms with the kitchenette and it was cozy, but adequate for our four adults. The beds could be more comfortable, but were what we expected in this rustic, old time motel. There is no TV or internet and we were told that when we made the reservation. We enjoyed the family time without the distractions of all the electronic devices. It was fun watching a movie one night from the motel's DVD library. We felt it was clean and enjoyed walking around the property to view the starry night sky, the wildflowers, and the river close by. If you are not staying at the lodge in Crater Lake, this property is a good choice, but certainly not luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelee-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

--roughing it (sort of)
--manager came around second evening to show how to use evaporating air conditioner, how to get heat, etc. First night it got below 60 deeges. Motel does not have written instructions, which would have gone a long way
--kitchenette ("we trust you to wash your dishes" policy)
--beds very firm
--no TV, no radio, no wi-fi, no nearby restaurants, no nearby gas stations
--Room has elctricity, A/C, fridge, microwave, hot and cold running water, shower stall
--library of DVDs and DVD player for free loan
--prices in store (and at nearby general store) are high, possibly due to remoteness
--two bedrooms, must go through one to get to kitchenete
--electric or gas stove made to look like wood-burner
--coffee service (given a cup with ground coffee and one with cream)
--cannot turn off outside lights so bugs are attracted
--window fan has a thermostat
--floor of shower stall too smooth and slippery
-- there is a portable electric heater
--carport for car
--staffed cleaned the room while we were out. Made bed.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

First of all, there is not much around here other than Crater Lake & if you aren't going to stay in the park lodge, then I would probably recommend staying here. Our cabin was large & clean & had a carport. The bed was hard but after hiking all day, we were able to sleep although the bright light outside was annoying--they need a thicker shade on the front door. We used the grocery store next door to get dinner each night (frozen pizzas or frozen lasagna)--sure it was over priced but you just have to accept it & it was convenient. We also got a DVD to watch one night which we enjoyed. Our only real issue was that we kept juice in the fridge we noticed some ants in the kitchen & they got in the fridge in our juice--gross! Obviously they have an ant issue they need to address but I left a note in our cabin & I'm confident they will take care of it because I think that overall it is a well-run place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherminier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I really wanted to like Jo's. The motel room was more rustic cabin than renovated motel but had a certain funky charm with the original knotty pine paneling and a patch work quilt on the bed. The motel is basically in the middle of nowhere and the rooms are separated by individual carports so it is very quiet except for some early morning noise from the highway. Friendly, helpful owners and a well stocked little organic grocery. Organic coffee and cream is provided free of charge but our kitchen did not have a coffee pot or carafe so each cup had to be brewed individually. Breakfast is available but not until 9 am. There were 2 bedrooms and a tiny kitchen and tiny bathroom. Scenic setting on a river and a short drive to Crater Lake.

However, I could only rate Jo's as poor because the mattress was the hardest and most uncomfortable that we've ever attempted to sleep on. In fact it was beyond uncomfortable and actually hurt to lie down on, so sleep was virtually impossible. A bright light from outside the front door came in through the glass in the door and the flimsy shade did little to dim the light. We couldn't turn the light off and tried to hang a towel on the shade which only partially blocked the light. And I've traveled a lot, to over 30 different countries and have slept in all sorts of accommodations and have never had such difficulty sleeping. My daughter slept on a perfectly comfortable mattress in the back bedroom but had several ants in the bed with her and consequently awakened with several ant bites. There was also a wasp in her bedroom when she woke up. The towels provided in the tiny bathroom were threadbare and rough textured. There was a free standing sink and no counter space. The light is the bedroom was poor and reading at night was a challenge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abbyAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jo's Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jo's Motel and Campground

Property: Jo's Motel and Campground
Address: 52851 Highway 62, Fort Klamath, OR 97626-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic Food and Lodging serving visitors to Crater Lake National Park. Full organic grocery store with breakfast and espresso. Kitchens and gas fireplaces. Pet free. Suites, cabin, singles, camping, RV. Communal firerings. On the Wood River. 1/2 Hour to Crater Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing