We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rogue River Retreat--Perfect Getaway”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Rogue River Retreat--Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wow, we loved it here. Pricey----yes. But very much worth it.

Our room, like the others, faced the river and had a nice balcony upon which to enjoy a good bottle of wine and soak in the serenity of the place. The room had a comfortable bed, a fireplace, a small refridgerator, and was very clean.

The wildlife in the area included deer and a number of hawks and eagles up in the tall trees. While I didn't see much fishing this trip, I have observed some great catches on this river during prior trips.

We didn't eat dinner or breakfast at the lodge, although the menu looked pretty good. I did see about 5 tables with about 8-10 chairs around each one, so I think you have a chance to socialize with other guests at the lodge. They also serve tea and cookies mid-day.

There is no coffee maker in the room, but you can request a complimentary thermos of coffee and some orange juice be brought up to your room. There is no TV either, but plenty of books and magazines are available.

One remarkable thing about this lodge is that the staff seems to remember your first names----even though we were only staying at the lodge and not going to the meals. I thought this was a nice touch and made for great customer service.

The lodge is not in the town of Gold Beach but about 7 miles outside in a beautiful location. I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    52
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
339
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The only first-class lodging in and around Gold Beach. This place is essentially only for couples (and perhaps the occasional small family). Almost everyone staying at the Lodge is here for a relaxing, romantic getaway. The rooms are well-appointed and the service is 2nd to none. I suspect that this property will be granted a AAA 5-star rating very shortly. From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty; everyone knows your name, drink/dining preferences and even the activities you participate in while there. For example, we went on the Rogue River jetboat ride one day and upon returning, everyone asked how the boat ride was. The boat picks you up at the Tu Tu Tun Lodge dock. The dining is first class and while there is a 4 course prix-fixe menu daily, the chef will make separate requests if needed. On one night, some people didn't eat steak and the chef prepared halibut for them instead. One woman required gluten-free food, which was also prepared as a single serving. Breakfast is also prepared to order. All dining is communal around round tables that seat 8 so prepare to have some discussions. There are no TV's in the rooms and internet is only available in the main lodge. Complimentary coffee/hot chocolate/orange juice is delivered to the room each morning in addition to a Kindle loaded with the New York Times and the Oregonian. Every room overlooks the Rogue River and high quality binoculars are provided. The average age of the person staying here is probably about 50 or so. The nightly rate is expensive, but is inclusive of taxes, tips, etc. If it weren't so hard to get to (6 hours from Portland) it would be a more popular destination, I'm sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here, along with 2 other hotels during our 4 week honeymoon in Gold Beach. This one is probably the best we have ever been too. It is very beautiful, staff are friendly, really clean rooms, good food, a little on the pricey side but it is well worth it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'll first qualify my review by saying we stayed for our first time at Tu Tu Tun Lodge during it's self-described "winter off-season." Apparently it is a very, very different experience during the summer. For our stay, there was no lunch or dinner service in the restaurant, which is disappointing given the Lodge's culinary reputation. And, the pool is not serviced during off-season. There is certainly a feeling that the Lodge is half closed-down. This is all clearly stated in the Lodge's website and in the follow-up materials sent after reservations are made. I just wasn't paying close enough attention. And, we were looking for real quiet and solitude, so ultimately the off-season vibe didn't detract from a wonderful experience.

We rented the River House, which was a perfect choice for our family of four - My wife and I and daughter, 13, and son, 10. The house is stylishly appointed and feels upscale in such a remote location. Gorgeous views of the Rogue River from most windows in the house, and a deck that was a great place to enjoy a warm beverage and a game of chess. The kitchen provided us the means to enjoy a home-cooked family meal together, and the hot tub was in perfect working condition and made for very enjoyable breaks in the afternoons and evenings.

The Lodge itself is also beautifully appointed, and we enjoyed a very good breakfast and a few afternoons of wine-tasting and relaxing by the large fireplace hearth. The staff was down-to-earth, relaxed, engaging and very attentive.

I was surprised by how little access there is to the actual banks of the Rogue River - don't go expecting to be able to take long nature walks as the surrounding properties have 'do not trespass' signs up. However, if you can simply slow down your pace of life, take a book and have a seat by the river, enjoy the sound of the water and solitude, you might just look up and find a family of deer grazing lazily within a few dozen feet of you. Even in winter time, that Tu Tu Tun makes such a unique experience possible makes it a very unique place indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkray22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed at TuTuTun twice, in 09 and 2010 and it is a beautiful, well designed place to stay when coming to Gold Beach. We come to this area to take a trip on the Rogue River, and also to go farther South, to see the Redwoods. TuTuTun is the prefect place to stay. The rooms are appointed perfectly from the woodburning fireplaces, to the comfy beds, to the bathrooms amenities. We usually sightsee until dark, so the only meal we have eaten here is the room service breakfast and it is fantastic....fresh fruit, bakery items, and wonderful granola. Our favorite things to do here are shake apples out of the tree for the deer, and sit out on the lawn, overlooking the Rogue.......serenity at its best. Be sure to see the flower and vegetable garden....just beautiful, and catch Jerry's Rogue Jet boats at the lodge dock for a fantastic trip up this wonderful river.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was a truly first class accommodations. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by Terry on a first name basis. The room was fantastic; the view awesome. Our breakfast was to die for. The homemade granola was pout of this world, and the cinnamon rolls melted in your mouth. The room was comfortably furnished. I noticed extras like a safety light, and the decor of the room, My only complaints are that the wi-fi was spotty in the room. It was hard to receive a Skype call from our son in Thailand. The bed could have been more comfortable. I would suggest to the management that they go to the pillow top mattresses. Also, the comforter was way too heavy for this time of the year. The views are amazing, and the fireplace was a welcome sight after coming in from the rain. Will definitely come back, perhaps in the Fall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtwsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

So far the best hotel I have ever stayed at in the woods.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room.......you will enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StratoFounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
10.5 km away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
10.6 km away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
508 reviews
10.6 km away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
10.9 km away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
744 reviews
10.8 km away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Property: Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing