We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
440
131
60
23
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
131
60
23
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river historic columbia pinnacle suite the penthouse partial view aveda products french doors kite boarders large walk in shower living room gas fireplace a river view room wine tasting romantic getaway wonderful room close to town road noise
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 655 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely, short stay in Hood River for our anniversary.
We had a comfy, cozy corner room with a beautiful view of the Gorge.
It was a great trip, and we would definitely stay at the Columbia Cliff Villas again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear Emily H,
Thanks for spending your special date with us. We hope to see you celebrate many anniversaries with us in the future. But remember, you don't need a special occasion for a romantic getaway.
Happy Anniversary!
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We stayed at this place last year in February and really loved it. This year, we opted for the full river view and it was grand! The French doors open up to a full view of the river. I did not rate it a 5 for a several reasons: #1, the pillows on the bed were terrible. Flat as a pancake. #2, the train noise is quite prominent as you sit right above the tracks. In the summer time, you could not leave the doors open and sleep. Not too bad with them closed. Other than that, very nice room, fireplace, shower and the whole bit. Loved it!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows! Expecially if you don't like feather ones!
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Dan H,
Thank you for returning and sharing your positive comments. Please allow me to offer some thoughts on pillows and trains, as they DO have two things in common: Both are somewhat subjective; and we can fix either to your liking. If you scan through several of our 5-dot reviews, you will find positive guest comments about our comfortable bedding and guests enjoying the trains passing across the river. That is not to say that light sleepers don't prefer less noise or that different guests don't have personal preferences for pillows or beds. We selected our top-quality pillows by a vote only after trying samples...and it was not a unanimous vote. Therefore, we keep a small stash of thicker, thinner, down, and hypoallergenic foam pillows on hand, available on request. On your next trip, don't hesitate to ask - some of our guests refer to us as "the land of yes"! Regarding the trains: The Columbia River is a major transportation corridor, with train tracks on both sides of the river, as well as some very interesting traffic on the water. Our property is located on the edge of a 200+' cliff, overlooking the Columbia River Gorge, isolated from downtown traffic and the nearest whistle stop. Because of our vertical basalt cliff, the setback of most of our rooms shelter them from tracks below. All our rooms, windows and French doors were designed with extra soundproofing measures that exceed hotel standards. You enjoyed a room with the very best view of the Gorge, as well as the trains across the river on the Washington side, which were likely the ones you could hear. Even though they are well over a mile away, the sound can bounce off the water when it's calm. For future trips, 'the land of yes' is happy to provide ear plugs or sound-cancelling devices upon request. We also have some very nice, less-expensive, view rooms set further back from the cliff where it's really tough to hear either train. Whatever it takes, count on us to strive for 5-dots on your next visit.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel was great! The view from the balcony was stunning and the room was super cozy. It was close by to great hikes and a super cute town, Mt. Hood. Would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmreid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear cmreid07,
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Hood River. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. For future reference, we offer a wide variety of rooms and 1-,2- and 3-BR suites...so bring some friends or family next time! Details, pictures and floor plans can be found on the Accommodations page of our website.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Traveling down from Southeast BC to Bandon for some golf we have always stopped in Hood River for the night. Discovering the Villas for a delightful relaxing break exceeded all our expectations. The River Room was so well appointed we did not want to go out for dinner, so Thai takeout and enjoying the great views was the best choice for us. Why leave the dog in the vehicle when Ruby loved the views as much as we.
We will be stopping again upon return and will be sorely tempted to stay 2 nights.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our dog, so a first floor room is best to access the stairs. Don't forget your dog bed and dog towels.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017

The facility is warm and inviting, with excellent views of the Columbia river. Our river view room had pleasant French doors over looking the river and cliffs along with great darkening shades. We loved the sound of the trains passing on both sides of the river. We will be back but, hope they replace the low chairs in the room, my knees when sitting were higher than my shoulders. Great staff.

Room Tip: Ice is available upon request.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Larry E,
Thank you for joining the majority of our guests who enjoy the views and ambiance of the trains. The 'River' room you enjoyed is part of a privately-owned condominium unit where we allowed the owner to place some very nice, non-standard, chairs. After seeing your post, I went up there and was a bit surprised to discover that they are a bit low - and I'm not very tall. I have contacted the owner about replacing them but also wanted you and other (taller) TA travelers to know that all our other River rooms are equipped with very comfortable, standard-height, chairs. We don't want anyone's knees getting in the way of the view!
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews