We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Street Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riverview Lodge(Hood River)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hostel(Hood River)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
29
22
12
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
22
12
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslast minute stopgreat locationslept soundlylonger staystayed for two nightswithin walking distancestreet noisewe've stayeda great place to staydowntownbrewerytoilet
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 73 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the Oak Street Hotel, having driven the long way round from Seattle and looking for a last minute place to stay. No mean feat in Hood River! The charming receptionist was open to a little bargaining (we arrived around 7pm) and the room was beautiful - clean, well laid out (although the bathroom without a door would be slightly tricky if travelling with a friend rather than a partner) and very well decorated. We were given some good recommendations for places to eat and drink that evening but still ended up at the English pub for a late drink (last place open, listen for music from the main road and follow it!). We had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. If I'm ever back this way I'd happily book in again.

The highlight of our one night stay though was the lovely breakfast the next day - a real choice, even though we surfaced quite late, in the pleasant living room. Choice of cereal, eggs, fruit, tea, coffee and pastries - big enough to keep this English appetite satisfied til late afternoon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you kindly for the lovely review. We have even expanded our breakfast, so should you travel back this way do stop in again. We would be delighted to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I stayed in room 5 which was a small room but had everything that I needed to enjoy my stay. Most importantly it had great views and was CLEAN! Staff had great dinner/shopping suggestions.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you ever so much for the honest review. We strive to be clean, charming and helpful in whatever capacity possible. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Wanted to stay in Hood River and be walking distance to the main part of town. The Oak Street hotel fit the bill with parking also. It was not inexpensive. The problem is the noise level that happens with the room that was given me. It was on the lower floor so every thing that went on above my room was noticeable. The kitchen was in use until 7:00 pm, making a quite evening in the room impossible. Then at 6:30 am, the office workers, realtors I think, showed up for work and the noise started again. And the final straw was when the garbage truck came by. It drove through the parking lot, to reach the waste bin, and was literally not more than 10 feet from my bed. Sleep was forgotten to be replaced by anger. What hotel would charge for a night like this? The Oak Street.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 35tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. As we have grown, we have taken guest feedback such as yours very seriously to improve our experience here at the Oak Street Hotel. Since your stay, we have implemented various ways to reduce the noise levels for our downstairs guests. We have adjusted employee schedules to begin later (although the hotel staff arrives at 7am to ensure a fresh and delightful breakfast is awaiting our guests along with a hot cup of our private label coffee). We have also placed sound muffling rugs along the second level as well as signage to alert employees that guests are below. We have received guest feedback that these measures have done a great deal to reduce or eliminate noise. Being a renovated 1909 historic home does have its quaint little quirks, but do know we are constantly striving to create the best experience for our valued guests. I regret to say that we have no control over the garbage system. We would love the opportunity to change your mind, perhaps in an upper level room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The hotel is located on the main drag but away from downtown, which is a plus when there's a lot of activity going on. The front porch is a great place to read or just watch the day go by. A large bed of lavender in front of the porch adds a nice touch on a breezy day. As to the rooms, ours (#4) was very small and had no closet or armoire - there was no room. The bed was too soft in our opinion. However, the bath was nicely appointed. Breakfast was a bit under the usual Continental affair, and the baked goods were a little dry. All in all, a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dwilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you kindly for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed our signature porch and lavender. Just to update, we have also improved our morning fare into a farm to table breakfast buffet that we hope you will try again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2008

I'll second the previous comments about the size of the rooms (we were in #5, which does have a fine view), but ours was very clean and we didn't lack for anything basic. One caution, though - if you have an upstairs room there's no elevator and the stairs (either inside or out) are very steep. The lobby is small but nicely appointed, and that's where the breakfast is laid out in the AM. The two folks we met at the front desk (one on check in, one the next morning) were cheerful and accommodating. As other posters have noted, there are numerous excellent places to dine within easy walking distance - not true of most Hood River lodging. Overall the Oak Street Hotel is a great value and worthy of a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the review. You have mentioned all the wonderful places to visit within six blocks of our hotel, so true! We also have the charming quirks of the 1909 renovated home in which we are housed. While quirky and not corporate, we like to think of it as home. Do stay again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews