We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cosy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Street Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stopped in Hood River on 4th July, and after enquiring at a few hotels, we decided on the Oak Street Hotel. The hotel was lovely and clean and just a short walk into the main town in Hood River. The walk conveniently passed Mike’s Ice Cream Parlour- definitely worth a visit!

The room was quite cosy- there wasn’t much room around the bed and the sink was in the main room. It was however very clean, and had everything you could need for the night. The hotel has a lovely porch, which was great to sit on in the evening. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, fruit and cake- something savory would have been a good addition- perhaps even just some toast.

Overall we were very happy with our last-minute stop in Hood River at the Oak Street Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you kindly for the visit and review. We really enjoy delighting our guests. I wanted to update you that we have heard your feedback, and developed a completely new and improved farm to table breakfast buffet that is delicious and has both sweet and savory components. We do hope you will stop in again and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at the Oak Street Hotel, having driven the long way round from Seattle and looking for a last minute place to stay. No mean feat in Hood River! The charming receptionist was open to a little bargaining (we arrived around 7pm) and the room was beautiful - clean, well laid out (although the bathroom without a door would be slightly tricky if travelling with a friend rather than a partner) and very well decorated. We were given some good recommendations for places to eat and drink that evening but still ended up at the English pub for a late drink (last place open, listen for music from the main road and follow it!). We had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. If I'm ever back this way I'd happily book in again.

The highlight of our one night stay though was the lovely breakfast the next day - a real choice, even though we surfaced quite late, in the pleasant living room. Choice of cereal, eggs, fruit, tea, coffee and pastries - big enough to keep this English appetite satisfied til late afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you kindly for the lovely review. We have even expanded our breakfast, so should you travel back this way do stop in again. We would be delighted to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stayed in room 5 which was a small room but had everything that I needed to enjoy my stay. Most importantly it had great views and was CLEAN! Staff had great dinner/shopping suggestions.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you ever so much for the honest review. We strive to be clean, charming and helpful in whatever capacity possible. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

Wanted to stay in Hood River and be walking distance to the main part of town. The Oak Street hotel fit the bill with parking also. It was not inexpensive. The problem is the noise level that happens with the room that was given me. It was on the lower floor so every thing that went on above my room was noticeable. The kitchen was in use until 7:00 pm, making a quite evening in the room impossible. Then at 6:30 am, the office workers, realtors I think, showed up for work and the noise started again. And the final straw was when the garbage truck came by. It drove through the parking lot, to reach the waste bin, and was literally not more than 10 feet from my bed. Sleep was forgotten to be replaced by anger. What hotel would charge for a night like this? The Oak Street.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 35tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. As we have grown, we have taken guest feedback such as yours very seriously to improve our experience here at the Oak Street Hotel. Since your stay, we have implemented various ways to reduce the noise levels for our downstairs guests. We have adjusted employee schedules to begin later (although the hotel staff arrives at 7am to ensure a fresh and delightful breakfast is awaiting our guests along with a hot cup of our private label coffee). We have also placed sound muffling rugs along the second level as well as signage to alert employees that guests are below. We have received guest feedback that these measures have done a great deal to reduce or eliminate noise. Being a renovated 1909 historic home does have its quaint little quirks, but do know we are constantly striving to create the best experience for our valued guests. I regret to say that we have no control over the garbage system. We would love the opportunity to change your mind, perhaps in an upper level room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

The hotel is located on the main drag but away from downtown, which is a plus when there's a lot of activity going on. The front porch is a great place to read or just watch the day go by. A large bed of lavender in front of the porch adds a nice touch on a breezy day. As to the rooms, ours (#4) was very small and had no closet or armoire - there was no room. The bed was too soft in our opinion. However, the bath was nicely appointed. Breakfast was a bit under the usual Continental affair, and the baked goods were a little dry. All in all, a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dwilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you kindly for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed our signature porch and lavender. Just to update, we have also improved our morning fare into a farm to table breakfast buffet that we hope you will try again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

I'll second the previous comments about the size of the rooms (we were in #5, which does have a fine view), but ours was very clean and we didn't lack for anything basic. One caution, though - if you have an upstairs room there's no elevator and the stairs (either inside or out) are very steep. The lobby is small but nicely appointed, and that's where the breakfast is laid out in the AM. The two folks we met at the front desk (one on check in, one the next morning) were cheerful and accommodating. As other posters have noted, there are numerous excellent places to dine within easy walking distance - not true of most Hood River lodging. Overall the Oak Street Hotel is a great value and worthy of a return trip.

  • Liked — proximity to dining and shopping
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDX_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for the review. You have mentioned all the wonderful places to visit within six blocks of our hotel, so true! We also have the charming quirks of the 1909 renovated home in which we are housed. While quirky and not corporate, we like to think of it as home. Do stay again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the Oak Street Hotel for a wedding in early September 2007. The Oak Street Hotel was great! We had room 4 and it had views of the river and mountains from both the room and bathroom. The room is pretty small, but that is what we expected. I think it was a queen bed, 2 night stands, T.V. anchored to the wall, 4 drawer dresser, and to our surprise, a small fridge. The bathroom had a stand up shower (no bath) and great shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion all provided. The breakfasts both mornings were nice. Good coffee with cream, sugar, ect . . . , fresh fruit and homemade pasteries. The second morning there was that in addition to yogurt and granola. Tea was provided all day. There was a cute porch right outside to relax and people watch on Oak Street. Not only was the room and breakfast very nice, one of our favorite parts about the hotel was the location!!! We walked downtown Hood River and enjoyed our stay very much. It was great watching the windsurfers, not only from our room, but we also walked down to the water and just sat on a picnic bench and relaxed. Great place for a picnic lunch. Both days we enjoyed our veggie wraps with peanut sauce from the (something) Kitchen just a few blocks away. I can't remember the first name of it, but they have sandwiches, salads, great looking desserts, ect . . . and it was wonderful!!! Brian's Pourhouse literally right next door to the Oak Street Hotel was great too! We had a wonderful weekend getaway for our first time to Hood River and we would love to go back. We would certainly stay at the Oak Street Hotel again as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for the review, we are so glad you liked it! I noticed you disliked the pillows; so we have upgraded and included four pillows of two different types in each room. Please visit again and tell us what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2.8 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.4 km away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Street Hotel

Property: Oak Street Hotel
Address: 610 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Street Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Street Hotel is a 1909 classic beauty converted into a 9-room hotel located in historic downtown Hood River. Enjoy a cup of freshly roasted coffee as you watch a Pacific Northwest winter from the comfort of our fireside lobby seating, or take part in the various winter recreation opportunities of the gorge. During the warmer months, relax on the front porch with a glass of lavender water in hand, or start your day by enjoying breakfast in our beautifully landscaped courtyard. Our farm-to-table breakfast is served daily, created by our chef, and features local produce and farm fresh ingredients. Gorge recreation, wine tasting, local shops, and great food are all close at hand here at the Oak Street Hotel. Don't just take our word for it though - we invite you to stay and enjoy the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Oak Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing