We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastsound, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights here in May and loved it.
We could open the curtains for a view of the river and open the balcony glass door for fresh air. We could not hear traffic, except there were some “clanking” metal plates on the bridge, in the distance, they were not so loud that we couldn’t sleep.
The room was clean. I didn’t find a single hair in the bathroom!!! And well designed.
The staff are lovely, attentive, friendly and professional. I ordered from the included breakfast menu, and my husband ordered from the main menu. I really like the flexibility, and if you have to keep to a budget there’s plenty to choose from on the included menu. And, as they accept well-behaved dogs… We can visit more often. And we will. Great hotel, in a really lovely area with something for everyone.
JanC.OrcasWa

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Interstate if,like us, you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCEastsound_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear JanC,

Thank you so much for your recommendation. I am pleased you enjoyed our river front location, our comfortable rooms and the served guest breakfast. I especially appreciate your comments about our attentive and friendly staff! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    641
    139
    42
    20
See reviews for
614
1,105
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This property has waterfront aspects that are exceptionally appealing. It is strung out along the Columbia River very near the Hood Canal Bridge. Frankly, we were not bothered by the sound and as a matter of fact, found it intriguing to watch the traffic pass over the wide river. We stayed in the older (West) wing facing the river. If you can afford it, choose the riverview because the view up and down the Columbia is stunning and memorable. It is the older wing that has balconies in all the riverfront units. The newer East Wing, while it has a lot going for it, only has balconies on the third floor. This is considered the "concierge" level and was a bit beyond our budget for this trip. Our own room was large and comfortable, however, and wanted for nothing. There were lots of pillows and very nice bedding, a table, a desk and chair, enough room for two queen beds. The floor to ceiling window opened on to the balcony where there were several chairs. The bathroom was large enough for a sink with a nice cabinet in with the commode, and then another sink and cabinet in the outer area. This is particularly convenient for a couple since we could each spread out our own toiletries. Towels were white and nice. Everything was clean although this wing does show it's age a bit. Nothing that I can point to specifically, and it certainly didn't detract from the pleasure of my stay. The major downside (if you even call it that) is that it is a pretty long haul to the pool and exercise room, which is on the easternmost end of the property. The pool area is stunning. The water is warm and the pool is long enough for laps. This is a serious pool. Next to the pool is a large (about 12'-15' square, I would guess) hot tub which is dramatically situated and allows for excellent views of the river and the gorge. The water is clean and hot. There is an indoor hot tub as well, just as large and luxurious in a floor-to-ceiling glass walled unit, the adjacent section of which contains the exercise equipment. This room contained a stack of clean towels as well as a cooler full of water with a generous layer of lemon slices. The indoor hot tub room housed a large sauna as well. The restaurant also faces the river, with these same large floor to ceiling windows. There are tables as well as comfortable booths all of which have views. An outside deck is decorated with hanging flower baskets and canopies offer protection against too much sun or occasional drizzle. At check-in, we were given a coupon for 50% off the second entree and free breakfast coupons. There is a selection of "real" breakfasts -- biscuits and gravy, French toast, oatmeal, Continental fare, and we ordered the scrambled egg breakfast with choice of excellent bacon or a most wonderful sage infused local sausage. Thick sliced multi grain toast was included with this choice, as well as coffee. We ordered a bowl of fresh cold fruit on the side that was very refreshing and reasonably priced.

This Best Western Plus offers a stellar place to observe and enjoy it's wonderful Columbia Riverside and Gorge view location at a price that is not prohibitive. The hotel is clean, the room is large and well furnished, the grounds beautifully groomed and landscaped, the pool area dramatic, the restaurant convenient and very nice. Throughout, the personnel were helpful, pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies and some don't so ask. You can be nearer the bridge (West wing) or ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear DiamondQueen,

Our location on the river is truly is one of the best Colum,bia Gorge experiences and we are thrilled to be so close to the magic. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our Riverside restaurant, as well as our other amenities during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town. Please give me a call and we will arrange for a room for you on the conciege level, we appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stay here when we want to spend some time in the gorge and not drive home. Its a great find. The restaurant is very good and a nice breakfast is included with your room. This hotel is close to all the things you want to do in the gorge and the view is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcat012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear TravelCat012,

I am thrilled to welcome you back to the Hood River Inn, we're delighted to be thought of as your "Secret Getaway." Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel provided a full breakfast in their restaurant or on the patio. It was wonderful. The peppered bacon is amazing. You should allow extra time to enjoy the meal fully without being pressed for time, since you may have a short wait for a table. We stayed in the updated wing near the highway. The room was a little noisy due to the traffic sounds. I would suggest getting a room on the side farthest from the highway if you are a light sleeper. All in all a great experience. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Jane Richard,

I am delighted to hear you had such a great stay and that you enjoyed the full service breakfast in our restaurant with the amazing peppered bacon. We think that our "signature guest breakfasts" separate us from the other hotels in our area. Please come back and join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel with great grounds and right on the Columbia River. Using our AARP discount, we opted for a river view and got the top floor. Great! However…being right next to the very NOISY, busy, truck-filled I-84 erased all the pleasure of the very nice, clean, comfortable, well furnished room and great little patio. Our other complaint was that the light on the patio could not be turned off, so one could sit outside after dinner and enjoy the air and watch the lights across the river and had to sleep with the blinds closed, missing the delight of laying in bed and going to sleep with the river view. We’ll stay someplace else next time that’s further away from the freeway.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay here, get a river-view room in the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am pleased that you liked the clean rooms and our location by the river and I am very sorry that our proximity to I84 detracted from your otherwise positive experience. Most all of our 194 rooms offer some buffer from the freeway noise so I suspect that you were in one of the far east end rooms where there is less of a buffer. If you'd be so kind as to give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area, I am confident we can find "quiet" accommodations to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We picked this hotel on our recent visit to Hood River, mainly because of the ratings and comments on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We got a room facing the Columbia River towards the East end of the hotel. The room was quiet with decent ventilation/heat/ac. The view was great and we were able to watch the wind surfers. The room was clean and decent sized with an ok sized balcony. The grounds between the hotel and the river and very nice and well maintained. The fitness center is relatively new so the two tread mills, two elypticals and the one universal gym are all in very good shape. My only complaint with the fitness center was that they didn't bring towels or water for drinking until mid-morning. We got a buy one, get one free dinner every night we stayed as well as a free breakfast. We had other dinner plans so we didn't have the chance to try the dinner menu. The free breakfast menu was limited but very good. I got the scrambled eggs, diced potatoes, bacon and coffed both mornings that we were there and it was excellent. The o.j. was extra. The staff at the restaurant were friendly and attentive. You may have to wait 10-15 +/- minutes before being seated because the restaurant does get busy. There is a great view of the Columbia River from both the indoor and patio seating at the restaurant too. Although it was a little pricey, I think we would stay there again.

Room Tip: East wing rooms are newer. We prefer the 3rd (top) floor just so we don't get noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robby-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Robby-D,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. I read it on a rainy Monday morning and it felt like the sun had come out. It made me feel great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. We're happy that you will stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back!

PS We'll be sure to get the water and towels out to the fitness room earlier in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel staff were terrific. We were greated nicely and treated very well at checkin on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. The town was very busy with the holiday as was the hotel not to mention the wedding party on site. The room was large and clean and in very good condition. The shower was hot and with good pressure. Liked the extra sink outside the bathroom. Made morning rituals easier when sharing with my husband. We had a complimentary hot breakfast for 2 at the hotel restaurant. Food was good and service was excellent. We did not have a river view but as we don't spend much time in the room that was fine. Also the balcony offers little privacy and alot of noise from neighbour's. The only complaint is not about the hotel nor is it something the hotel can change. Other guests talking loudly in the halls, allowing their children to run and squeal and lastly letting their hotel room door slam shut. You are not at home so please try to show some courtesy to your fellow guests.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgaryjetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Calgaryjetgirl,

Thank you for your kind review and your comments about our terrific staff! I am sorry that other guests disturbed your stay. We try our best to control noise levels from both families with small children and guests who are determined to party so please in the future advise us should you be disturbed. I hope to see you again the next time you are in Hood River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
4.2 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
31.5 km away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Best Western and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing