We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here for one night after a week with family in Portland. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful with restaurant suggestions etc. I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the place.
Our only disappointment was in the breakfast. When we booked in a bed and breakfast we thought that breakfast would be substantial. Here they offer fairly typical hard boiled eggs, oatmeal in a packet, sad looking fruit salad. It's not displayed very well. They did have good bread for toast and excellent scones. We would have loved to have had a hot breakfast with eggs, potatoes etc.
The hotel location is excellent, on a fairly quiet street within steps of the interesting downtown area.

Room Tip: Look on-line at the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    26
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
95
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband, adult son and girlfriend, and I stayed here one night while traveling to Portland. We all stayed in the two room suite with a rollaway added and everyone was very comfortable. The inn is decorated very charmingly with some beautiful artwork on the walls that are available for purchase. Upstairs, where most the rooms are, also has a nice sitting area where breakfast is served (continental) and snacks and drinks during the rest of the day. There's even a neat popcorn machine downstairs that you can help yourself to. They also have a nice selection of vcr tapes and books you can borrow during your stay. Our room was comfortable with some nice antique pieces and the bed was great. I'm ready to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Magnolia Inn was fantastic. The owners are warm and friendly.The Inn was decorated for Christmas and looked gorgeous. The rooms have themes. We were in the music room in the corner. It was such fun meeting people in the breakfast room. Breakfast was delicious and it was nice that you could come any time and didn't have to be there at a specified time. The Inn is conveniently located for visiting downtown Jacksonville. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Look them up on the internet and you can see what the rooms look like. Even though we were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Loved the way most of the rooms are upstairs. It's like being in an upstairs bedroom. Our room had a nautical theme, the "Ashley." The best part was the upstairs kitchen only a few feet from our room where you can go for very early morning coffee in your nightgown. Very comfortable, just like home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriBarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I met her sister, brother, and their significant others at the Magnolia Inn. I wasn't part of the planning but I was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The inn itself is gorgeous and the owners, Robert and Susan, were very welcoming and informative. The Inn is very nicely appointed and is very close to the downtown shops and restaurants. Robert's restaurant suggestions were spot on. Definitely a place we would like to return to. Don't forget to say "hi" to Abby their official, 4-pawed greeter!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the kitchen can be slightly noiser than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stay here 2-3 times a year while visiting family, attending Britt or Oregon Shakespeare Festival events. It is always wonderful! We agree with all the other 5 star reviewers. This place can't be beat!!

Room Tip: We have been in 4 different rooms..all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oldgeesers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a First-Class B&B. My wife and I have stayed at dozens of inns over all the country and this one is perfect. Bob and Susan come from a life-long career in the service industry and really know what they are doing. The place is charming, affordable, welcoming and even pet friendly. Not only that, but it's location is remarkable. It's convenient to Medford, wine country, the Shakespeare festival, Crater Lake and Klamath Falls. And once you stay in Jacksonville, it won't matter where you're from, the first thought in your mind will be, "I love it! I want to live here!"

The rooms are immaculate and well appointed so much so we had to pinch ourselves twice for the luck we had stumbling upon the Magnolia. Designer chocolates were waiting for us as well as a great pet welcoming basket of toys, treats and blankets. Wow, seriously. Since the structure was always meant as a place of relaxation and recovery, it's not a inn that been superimposed on an old house. The upstairs has a great kitchen and dining area and there's a wonderful second floor balconey to hang out on with a glass of wine after a long day.

If you are planning on staying ANYWHERE in the Medford/Ashland/Grants Pass/Applegate area, you won't find a better place. I guarantee it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
24.3 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
7.9 km away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
242 reviews
28.7 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
9.5 km away
Best Western Horizon Inn
0.7 km away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Property: Magnolia Inn
Address: 245 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn, built in 1928 and located in the heart of historic Jacksonville, Oregon, boasts nine comfortably elegant rooms, each featuring premium linens, private bath and central air. The boutique Inn has been completely renovated, and provides a unique blend of casual elegance filled with charming hospitality. The lush floral grounds beckon you to relax and unwind in one of the numerous sitting areas, each having wonderful views of several of the town's most historic buildings. Our expansive continental breakfast allows you to wake up on your schedule and dine at your leisure in the dining area or on our picturesque and inviting veranda. Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn is the perfect spot for romantic getaways, vacation and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Jacksonville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing