We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Quiet and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had an amazing time at the Magnolia Inn! Robert and Susan were so hospitable, they really made our stay so special. Our room was really charming and comfortable. They knew it was my birthday and they had chilled champagne and chocolates waiting for us on our arrival. We loved that the Magnolia Inn was just a minutes walk from the downtown area. We will certainly be back and we highly recommend this to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
93
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My room was lovely, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. I liked the blue colors and nautical theme, including the shells and bottles of sands in different shades from various locations. It felt relaxing and I walked to breakfast in my bare feet. My sister adored her room with the butterfly motif and appealing view out the window, telling me she never wants to stay anywhere else in the area, even more so because they are pet-friendly. Each room is appointed with a different theme and we arrived before other scheduled guests, so we were able to poke our heads inside to admire them. The Jacksonville Review (a local newspaper), Southern Oregon Magazine, and two specialty chocolates surprised us when we entered the our rooms. The inn is conveniently located within blocks of restaurants, quaint shops, and historic sites in Jacksonville, as well as the local grocery store. It was also near our reason for visiting - Segway of Jacksonville - to learn to ride Segways and go on their fun tour of historic Jacksonville.

I didn't try the gourmet coffees and teas, but I was delighted to be able to have hot chocolate before going to bed. There were several varieties of tasty fresh pastries from local bakeries, as advertised, but I preferred the daily treats that Susan made. I enjoyed having fresh fruit for breakfast on the covered second-floor veranda; it felt peaceful. When planning our stay, I was pleased that they also had two of my favorites, oatmeal and yogurt, as breakfast options, but the fruit looked so tempting that I filled up on it in the mornings, which included watermelon, cantaloupe, grapes, and strawberries. I appreciated the convenience of a refrigerator, microwave, and toaster in the guest kitchen, as well as the instant hot water. I was tempted by the popcorn in the nostalgic popcorn machine cart while I was waiting in the downstairs sitting room, but reluctantly chose to forgo it because I was about to go to dinner.

There were books, videos, and games on shelves in the second floor hallway to borrow if one desired. The free wifi was a strong connection and was not slow like some places I have been. At the top of the stairs, there was a chess table with two chairs set up for guests' enjoyment. There were a variety of outdoor seating possibilities, some in covered areas, some not, so you could enjoy the outdoors even if you wanted to avoid rain or direct sun.

The hosts / owners were friendly and helpful, their dog Abby behind the front counter was delightfully welcoming while also well-behaved, and all the guests I encountered were affable, making for a very positive, friendly atmosphere. We loved the place. We will return.

Room Tip: Look at the photos of the rooms on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Jones, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

As we walked into the gorgeous Tuscan style Magnolia Inn, my best friend Teri and I went to the front desk, when all of a sudden a large dog popped up to greet us with a big smile as if to say "hi there welcome." Robert greeted us and introduced us to Abbey, the dog. Where were our camera. The charm of the Magnolia Inn was the pefect ambience for a relaxing reunion for Teri and I. In the past we always had our "girls day out" in Jacksonville, and were looking for a unique place to stay the night. I frequent Jacksonville every month, and always passed the Magnolia Inn, thinking, we should go there. It was the ONLY B&B around with two twin beds in a room. So much eye candy, antiques, paintings, gorgeous furniture, comfy beds, very large bathrooms, and the continental breakfast in the upstairs little kitchen/dining room with outside veranda was PEFECT. Susan and Robert have wonderful pastries, fruits, yogurts, oatmeal, excellent coffee and much more. This stay was the first of many to come, and it was the perfect greeting for us two "dog lovers. Love you Abby. xoSherri Corporandy Ft. Jones, Ca. and Teri Giordano, Sylva, NC

Room Tip: They are all wonderful....they keep the vacant rooms open so guests can see which one they want on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a must in Jacksonville, OR, just outside Grants Pass. ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL restored victorian. The house has been restored to better than new, absolutely gorgeous! Robert and his wife I don't remember her name) are warm and welcoming. The baked goodies in the morning are first cabin and the fresh-baked cookied in the afternoon are some of the best I have ever had. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed, the cost, at least during the winter, very reasonable. We decided to extend our stay an extra day because of our wonderful hosts and the quaintness of Jacksonville itself. BTW, check out the local winery tasting rooms, all within a few minute walk. We ate at the Jacksonville Inn, the bistro, and it too was first cabin.

Magnolia Inn is a definite two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

A charming and restful place to rest while in the area for a family wedding. We enjoyed two nights as guests. The owners struck a great balance between friendliness and professionalism.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
359 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here for one night after a week with family in Portland. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful with restaurant suggestions etc. I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the place.
Our only disappointment was in the breakfast. When we booked in a bed and breakfast we thought that breakfast would be substantial. Here they offer fairly typical hard boiled eggs, oatmeal in a packet, sad looking fruit salad. It's not displayed very well. They did have good bread for toast and excellent scones. We would have loved to have had a hot breakfast with eggs, potatoes etc.
The hotel location is excellent, on a fairly quiet street within steps of the interesting downtown area.

Room Tip: Look on-line at the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband, adult son and girlfriend, and I stayed here one night while traveling to Portland. We all stayed in the two room suite with a rollaway added and everyone was very comfortable. The inn is decorated very charmingly with some beautiful artwork on the walls that are available for purchase. Upstairs, where most the rooms are, also has a nice sitting area where breakfast is served (continental) and snacks and drinks during the rest of the day. There's even a neat popcorn machine downstairs that you can help yourself to. They also have a nice selection of vcr tapes and books you can borrow during your stay. Our room was comfortable with some nice antique pieces and the bed was great. I'm ready to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
7.9 km away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#7 of 36 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
28.7 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
28.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
8.4 km away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 36 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 km away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Property: Magnolia Inn
Address: 245 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn, built in 1928 and located in the heart of historic Jacksonville, Oregon, boasts nine comfortably elegant rooms, each featuring premium linens, private bath and central air. The boutique Inn has been completely renovated, and provides a unique blend of casual elegance filled with charming hospitality. The lush floral grounds beckon you to relax and unwind in one of the numerous sitting areas, each having wonderful views of several of the town's most historic buildings. Our expansive continental breakfast allows you to wake up on your schedule and dine at your leisure in the dining area or on our picturesque and inviting veranda. Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn is the perfect spot for romantic getaways, vacation and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Jacksonville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing