We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Surprise-pretty authentic ”
Review of Kurata

Kurata
Ranked #31 of 162 Restaurants in Lake Oswego
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

We had an enjoyable meal with sashimi, TENPURA, sushi, and other dishes. There were several other dishes we will try next time. Nice find! It might have been more enjoyable if there were some smiles from the owners! Let’s see how we feel the next time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank richardgG1237GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2018

This is our favorite sushi place in Lake Oswego - Great family service, Quality food, and Close to home.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank JB_Oregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

I've had my fair share of Japanese food in the states but after traveling to Tokyo and Hokkaido, I guess you can say that my expectations have changed and I've kind of become a sushi snob. Kurata is definitely one of the more authentic Japanese restaurants in the PDX area. Being such a small place, it was surprising to see that they have quite a large menu selection. From sushi rolls to donburis and bentos, they were all delicious and fresh.

Be sure to call in a reservation ahead of time (especially on the weekends) or you might end up waiting for a while since there are only a few tables and bar seating. Wouldn't recommend coming with a large party. You can easily spend $100 for just 4 people without any appetizers or drinks so it is a bit pricer than other sushi places but you cannot beat the quality here.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nerissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

Small family run Japanese and Sushi Restaurant that has no equal (that we've found) in the state of Oregon. Everything is fresh and expertly prepared with elegant presentation in an intimate setting. Kurata is not a fancy place, don't go expecting to impress your friends with the decor go to impress your friends with the food they serve! Our family has been over 20 times and have never left thinking anything but ":when can we go back!"

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HawaiianinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2016

We visited Kurata for the first time last night and were delighted with the place. The space is small, but beautifully and simply designed for a comfortable and peaceful dining experience. We ordered an assortment of dishes including Miso soup, gyoza (pot stickers), sashimi, and a spider roll from an extensive menu. It was all excellent. The sashimi was fresh and came in a generously large serving. This is definitely a place to which we will return frequently to try other menu items.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kurata also viewed

Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to Kurata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing