We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible visit to Willamette valley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible visit to Willamette valley”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After getting married in Maine, our first stop on our honeymoon was Chehalem Ridge B&B. We'd decided to stay there based on the recommendation of a friend, and we were so very happy that we did! Kristin made wonderful breakfasts (and provided wonderful advice on wineries / food options / life, etc) and the view from our room couldn't be beat. We loved every minute of our stay, and they've thought of all the small details (including a stocked cookie jar1) that really define good service. Can't wait to stay there again someday on our anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    26
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
224
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Lorenzo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The is a great place to stay with great views of the Willamette Valley below and comfortable rooms. Each room is well thought out for the space. Two rooms (Oregon Coast and Rose Garden) have great views of the valley below. Kristen shows her cullinary backgroud with breakfasts using ingredients from her yard. She also makes her own jams and jellies. She reccomended us to several of the many great local restaurants in the area that also us local ingredients. This is an inn not to be missed.

Room Tip: Oregon Coast and Rose Garden have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singaporetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I went here for a long weekend for our 3rd wedding anniversary and it was such an incredible treat to stay at the Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast. You instantly feel at home, the breakfast is outstanding, and the views of Willamette Valley are breathtaking. You won't regret your stay at this awesome B&B. I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Oregon Coast Room was fabulous. We were there around Thanksgiving so the heated balcony was a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we are now hooked. Kristin and Curt were extremely knowledgeable of the area, recommending some wonderful wineries and restaurants. Everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable winery tour was at our fingertips, from detailed maps, to blankets and coolers for picnics, to shipping supplies to send our purchases home. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and on the morning we needed to head out early for a half-marathon, Kristin left out muffins and fruit for us. We can't wait to plan our next trip to Chehalem Ridge B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Wonderful place to visit atop a ridge overlooking vineyards in Willamette Valley. Hot air balloons outside your balcony each morning. Delicious breakfast each day. Waterfall to welcome you home each evening. Such a great way to get away from the noise of televisions and ringing phones. Our innkeeper provided us with great restaurant ideas and things to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

VIEW: The highlight of this place. You get the impression of approaching a small city airport on a plane. The view changes throughout the day—sunny fields in the afternoon, twinkling lights of Newberg in the evening, morning city lights as the city awakes below, fog rolling in so you feel like you’re living in the middle of a cloud above.

ROOM: We had the Oregon Coast room, the only one on the main floor. It has a handicap shower that we found slightly confusing and the hot water took a while to warm up. Once we figured that all out, no problem, though I did miss having a tub to soak in.
Our room was right outside the front door and across from the dining room, and we could clearly hear conversations from there. “What wineries have you visited?” as guests arrive and later, “These are the breakfast offerings this morning.” We also could hear floor creaking from the room above and the occasional toilet flushing. Other than that, the room was fairly quiet since we had no guest rooms next to us.
This Inn appears to have been built specifically as a B & B, so I’m not sure why they built it with such thin walls. I guess there’s not much to do to correct that now. Kristin does provide earplugs on the nightstands, which help.)
I’d originally wanted an upstairs view room, but they’d all been reserved, but now I realize that we probably were better off downstairs with no noise from next door guest rooms. Since the building essentially sits on stilts on a steep hillside, the extra ten feet of height from an upstairs room is irrelevant from a view standpoint. The rooms aren’t big, but we found them cozy and enjoyed the gas fireplace in the evening while we watched the light change outside.

OWNER: Kristin has a nicely-quirky personality and speaks to you in a lightly teasing manner of someone who knows you in a familiar way. I can see how this might make for slightly awkward conversation at first, but you’re okay if understand that’s just her way.

AMENITIES: Cute living room on the main floor plus a nice TV room in the lowest level. We didn’t watch TV but I can easily see curling up there and enjoying one of the many
DVDs, plus candy provided on the table. Very cozy and separate, unlike many TV areas in Bed and Breakfasts.

BREAKFAST: Nicely presented and tasty, just right amount of food. You get your choice of eating at 8 or 9 AM when you check in. Honestly, we enjoyed our conversation so much with the couple across from us that I didn’t focus too much on the food. Kristin came out and joined us near the end of our meal.

OTHER: The nearby Allison Inn is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and light appetizer meal in their lounge.

OVERALL: Good value, fun place to explore, a view you’ll never forget. We agree that this place epitomizes what Oregon wine country is all about.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtistJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight on our first visit to the Willamette. It was lovely. Strongly recommend staying in the Wine Room. It has its own private balcony of a view of the wine valley below, a huge bathroom with hot tub, and it was very quiet, even with neighbors next door. The breakfast was great and the owners found the right balance of giving us privacy and space while also being attentive. My only tip: If you plan on drinking wine at the B&B, make sure to bring a bottle from one of the wineries. They have the glasses, etc - but no wine. But they have great homemade cookies always on hand for a snack!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
1,659 reviews
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing