We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Willamette Valley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
468 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great base for Willamette Valley”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in the Rose Garden room, high above Newberg with views overlooking the town and surrounding region. The room was not huge, but comfortable. The bed was the only negative; it was a little lumpy and could use a new mattress. Breakfast was outstanding; Kristen made sure we were well fed with delicious and interesting meals each morning, including home-made jams and preserves. A great base for exploring the wine country.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChehalemRidgeBB, Owner at Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I’m glad this couple from Florida enjoyed their stay with us enough to leave a review. They were certainly a pleasure to meet. It’s so good to know that they enjoyed all four breakfasts. The review also gives me the opportunity to discuss our beds. I have checked out the Rose Garden Room mattress and have found it not to be lumpy... just different than what some folks are used to. All of our rooms have memory foam mattresses which many guests rave about at breakfast, saying it was the best sleep they’ve had. When you lay down on the memory foam, it curves to your body and while shifting around during sleep, you may find that you are laying on top of where it was curved. It very quickly adjusts to the new position, but for some folks, the change is more noticeable than others. I hope I have addressed any concerns future guests may have about our mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    27
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
229
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First of all, this review is a long time coming - I meant to do this after my husband and I stayed at Chehalem B&B June 28-29, 2011.

We were so happy that we decided to stay at Chehalem B&B in Newberg, OR. It is neatly tucked up into the hills and overlooks the whole valley. We had a gorgeous view and sat out on our deck nightly just admiring this beautiful, peaceful place. We arrived at the B&B and were greeted by Kristin, who was very helpful in giving us information about the wineries/vineyards and recommended several restaurants. We decided on this wonderful place called SubTerra which is only a few miles away from the B&B. I know this isn't a review for them, but it is fantastic and highly recommended as well! We stayed in the Wine Country room our first night and then the Rose Garden room the second night and they were both wonderful. The Wine Country Room has this wonderful jetted tub - it was a great addition. Both rooms had small decks and beautiful bathrooms. You can tell they put a lot of thought into decorating the rooms - they were just perfect. The next morning we sat with some other guests of the hotel for breakfast. I can't even describe how amazing Kristin's breakfasts are. On the first morning, we had scones with 2 homemade preserves/jams and then stuffed french toast (with cream cheese and berries) for the main course. The second morning it was muffins (again with two types of preserves) and an egg dish with asparagus. Kristin is just an incredible chef! She makes sure you don't have any allergies or things that are off limits when you check in - we didn't, but it is nice to know that she wants to make something that you are going to enjoy. My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B and Kristin is wonderful. Your search stops here - Chehalem is the place to stay in Willamette Valley!

Room Tip: Choose the Wine Country Room if you can - great room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Beaches
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were visiting family in Newberg and expected to spend a few nights in Portland. We were so enthralled with this place, that we spent the entire time here. After reading the luxury hotel complaints (moldy, unclean, and windows that don't open, noisy with parking, wi-fi, and added charges) we decided to try a newer bed and breakfast. We are so glad we did. We wanted to get something special for our visit. You feel on top of the world in this place. I was able to get up in the night and open the door to our beautiful deck and get fresh air. The breakfast presentation was amazing. Kristen is a gourmet cook and very knowledgeable about the area. Our room was the "Wine Country" room and we enjoyed watching the changing views over the valley and twinkling lights at night. The bath had a two person hot tub that was really large. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our favorite is the Wine Country room with the large tub, and private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiandreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband adamantly refused to spend another birthday in Texas. But when his 60th birthday rolled around in December, life had intervened and we were still stuck in Texas. But in January things fell into place and we headed to Oregon for a house-hunting trip. The last day of the trip we stayed at the Chehalem Ridge Bed & Breakfast and belatedly celebrated his birthday. We stayed in the Wine Country room at the inn. Readers should be aware there is a serious problem with that room. It is so cozy, romantic and inviting, you will not want to leave. Seriously. The bed and pillows were so comfortable we felt like we were sleeping in the clouds that engulfed the inn at night, since it sits on top of a ridge. I don’t normally think of the words “bathroom” and “romance” in the same sentence, but that bathroom was made to be shared. The inn-keeper, Kristen’s breakfast was fresh, prepared with local ingredients, inventive and delicious. All in all, it was a very special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have had our ups and downs with B&Bs over the years. So, when we decided to stay in one while visiting the Oregon Wine Country, we had our fingers crossed when we chose the Chehalem Ridge Bed & Breakfast just outside Newberg. To say that it restored our faith in B&Bs would be an understatement. The location is atop a ridge overlooking a winery filled valley and the town of Newberg. One morning while enjoying breakfast on the deck, we were treated to watching three hot air balloons drifting across the valley floor below us.
Everything either met or exceeded our expectations. The breakfasts were fantastic, the rooms and accompanying accommodations were great and the location is right in the center of the area’s Willamette Wine district as well as an easy commute into Portland and the Columbia River Gorge areas. In fact, we enjoyed our stay so much that we changed our itinerary and added an extra day when we found out that our room was not booked for the day following our planned departure.
Jerry & Frieda Wolf
Cincinnati, OH

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the valley have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgraywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I participated in the Oregon Wine Country Half Marathon over Labor Day weekend 2011 and found this little gem during our search of a place to stay- and were we ever pleased! We were received with a warm welcome by Kristin and a quick overview of her gorgeous property. The view from the B&B is stunning, and was a main reason we decided upon staying here. Breakfast was very delicious, and with the valley views, it was a great way to start the morning. Even though we had to head out really early the morning of the race, Kristin had a to-go bag of muffins with a lovely handwritten good luck note along with fresh fruit. The little touches at Chehalem Ridge made our trip exceptional!
We stayed in the Oregon Trail Room which does not have a mountain side view, but does not lack in comfort. We received great ideas of places to wine taste from Kristin- it was close enough to various areas of the Willamette Valley that we didn't feel that far out of the way.
Thanks to the innkeepers at Chehalem Ridge, we had a wonderful race weekend! We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for an affordable and quiet place to stay with gorgeous views of the valley.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After getting married in Maine, our first stop on our honeymoon was Chehalem Ridge B&B. We'd decided to stay there based on the recommendation of a friend, and we were so very happy that we did! Kristin made wonderful breakfasts (and provided wonderful advice on wineries / food options / life, etc) and the view from our room couldn't be beat. We loved every minute of our stay, and they've thought of all the small details (including a stocked cookie jar1) that really define good service. Can't wait to stay there again someday on our anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing