We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My daughter & I recently spent two nights during the week. From check in to check out, the staff is courteous and friendly. We stayed on the third floor and had a perfect view of the beach. All rooms have balcony views which makes for an incredible stay. The hotel offers a free mini buffet breakfast, which is a nice perk. It is a simple buffet of sausage, eggs, biscuits, breads and cereals, coffee, juices, teas. It is more than enough to satisfy breakfast eaters. It is nothing fancy, but is good and FREE. Each room offers fridge and microwave as well. The beds are incredibly comfortable, fireplace is cozy and bathrooms to lounge on the balcony to keep warm. We did not use the pool or hot tub but they did look inviting. The biggest downfall is the underground parking. You must drive down the slope very slowly or you will "bottom out" I had to go about 2-3 mph to keep from scraping my undercarriage in a 2010 Malibu. The elevators are a bit slow, so we took the stairs instead. The bath tub is also quite large and I was worried there would not be enough hot water to fill, but it did with plenty of hot water left. Overall a great hotel, but a little pricey. Will stay here again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really appreciate the time you spent doing so.

Loved the pictures you posted of the Hotel too, thank you for doing that. This gives others a chance to see from your prospective what our rooms look like.

I am so sorry you had issues with the car not clearing going down the driveway. I know with some cars you do have to go a little slower to prevent scraping. For most cars it is not a problem.

Hope to see you again really soon!

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed in a jacuzzi suite and enjoyed our time at the Elizabeth Street Inn. The free continental breakfast and warm cookies in the evening are a nice touch. The rooms were nice and clean. The views were great. The staff was friendly. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDuck0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Happy to hear you were able to get a spa room! Those are our most popular rooms and typically go very fast. It sounds like you had a very good stay with us . Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the Elizabeth Street Inn on a recent visit to the Oregon Coast. This hotel is located right along the beach, overlooking the water -- and the view from our room was fantastic. Just shoreline & waves as far as the eye can see! Incredible. We left the screen door open at night, to hear the water crashing up on the beach.

The Inn is also within walking distance of Nye Beach, which includes an area featuring restaurants, cafes, shops, and galleries. Parking is free at the lot under the hotel. There is also a free (basic) continental breakfast in the morning. As other reviews have mentioned, they do provide cookies at the front desk in the evening.

The staff were friendly, and the room was comfortable. However, there were a few things that I found a little off-putting. There appears to be only one small elevator out of the main lobby, which accesses all the floors. It gets packed pretty quickly, and also seemed fairly slow. Luckily, we were on the first floor, so we took the stairs to get down. I didn't notice an option to take the stairs back up, but it would have been faster. Also, the water from our sink and shower didn't drain too quickly, for some reason -- meaning there'd be a small pool of water left over in the tub & sink for a short time.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay -- especially the view & location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view is incredible here and hearing the waves crash is very soothing.

I am sorry if there was confusion about the stairs. To get back to the rooms you just utilize the same door you come out of with your room key and return to the stairs. (These doors are typically kept locked for the safety of our guests.)

Hope you are having a wonderful summer!

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My boyfriend, 15 yr old neice and I stayed a night here on vacation last Aug. We had an awesome time. Great views, great staff, great breakfast.

On check-in we did have a little problem checking in because the computer couldnt read my boyfriends card so we tried a few different ones and it still wouldnt read. We had given up and got back in the car to head to the bank when the front desk clerk came running out to tell us they fixed it. We headed up to our room which had the best view. It was amazing. We were so tired since we had just driven all the way from Crater Lake so we just went and got pizza from Abby's which is really close and brought it back and ate on the patio. We relaxed a bit and then headed down to the pool and hot tub which was nice and not really crowded. After we went swimming we went to the lobby for the free fresh baked cookies.
The breakfast was nice they had so many options. Make your own waffles along with, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, bagels, toast and cereal. (My neice got a waffle and after a few bites noticed mold)

We will for sure be back but she will check her bagel first next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We are so pleased that we were able to rectify the credit card situation so that you could stay! It sounds as though you had a a very good visit with us.

Thanks for letting me know about the bagel. I have spoken to the breakfast attendants to be more watchful going forward.

Hope to see you again this summer!

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hot Salmon chowder awaits you upon arrival, fresh baked cookies at night and morning expanded continental breakfast with waffles, sausage or bacon, eggs, biscuits, cereals, fruit, yogurt, bagels and pretty good coffee and tea selection. We had an incredible ocean view room with balcony, fireplace, large flat panel TV, frig, microwave and comfortable king bed. Only drawback is no air conditioning, so getting the right temp was challenging. The staff was accommodating and we would recommend staying here. The location is convenient to Performing Arts, Historic Nye Beach and short drive to bayfront.

Room Tip: 4th Floor view. 3rd Floor breakfast room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hospitality-Snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. I do hope you had time to attend an event at the Performing Arts Center while you were here. Nye Beach is such a fun area to shop and dine so we are always pleased when we learn our guests are frequenting the establishments there.

You were just in time for the last of the salmon chowder until after Labor Day, as we do not serve it from Memorial Day until after Labor Day. Just in the months that are typically cooler. However, cookies are year round!

Hope you visit us again soon.

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The best part of this hotel was the view and location - excellent.

The worst part - well - where to start? The room was not very clean. When I sat down to use my computer, something gooey on the table leg almost cemented my jeans to the furniture. The bedside table was dirty and I had to do a bit of my own cleaning before we felt comfortable opening our bags. The clock radio was coated with dust. I'm not a fussy housekeeper by a long shot but even I have standards. Actually it probably wasn't the fault of housekeeping; the room is dark even on a bright sunny day with all the lights turned on. So probably the staff just couldn't see the dirt.

And if you do need to work while you’re there or simply want to update a blog or e-mail home, be prepared to wait. The WIFI connection was about as fast as the internet in oh…maybe 1999? Waiting for uploads and downloads was like watching paint dry.

The bathroom - UGH. The toilet and bathtub are in a room no larger than some handicapped toilet stalls. Talk about claustrophobic!

And when you flush – stand back and cover your ears. We’d never heard such a loud contraption. Maybe because it’s a low volume (1.6 gal / 6 l) flush but seriously we have low volume/dual flush toilets in our house and they don’t wake the dead. Worse still – you can hear every time your neighbours flush as well.

No full length mirror in this room so if you are trying to check your appearance, you’d better have an honest travelling companion.

The airless, musty-smelling room was hot – even though the daytime temperatures weren’t out of the 60’s and the heat was never turned on. So we slept with the balcony door open (great security!). We folded back the heavy comforter and used the blanket provided – it was the oldest, most pilling blanket we’ve ever seen in a hotel. It looked like a reject from a thrift shop. Add that to the lumpy pillows – not a great recipe for comfort.

Lastly – and the hypocrisy that irks the most – the ‘save the whales – you choose’ notices in the hotel room. You’ve seen them “if you want to save the planet, you choose – put your towels back on the rack”. Of course we did that. Who needs fresh towels every day?
Housekeeping either refolded them all (thus mixing our used towels with the fresh ones on the rack) or they simply ignored our preference. That happens

BUT that wasn’t the worst of it. What astonished us was that every step of the way the hotel used disposable cups, cutlery, plates, and bowls. Not even a real glass for the bathroom or a ceramic mug for the coffee. They must haul out plastic waste by the ton every day. Worse still, the plastic glasses and cups come in sealed PLASTIC wrappers. Non-recyclable plastic waste wrapped up in more of the same.

We concluded that the hotel wasn’t environmentally-conscious when that goal involved a bit of effort at their end, only when it saved money in laundry fees.

Not going back there. Ever.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

We were so disappointed to learn you did not have the great experience that most of our guests have when staying with us!
As I am certain you noticed, we were in the process of doing some remodeling on a number of our decks when you were here. This construction has certainly caused even more dust than normal, and even though one would think with the moisture at the beach dust would be at a minimum--they would be wrong! However, this does not explain the "gooey cement" you encountered. I will certainly do more coaching with housekeeping in this regard. I certainly do apologize for the housekeeping descrepancies.
In regards to the Internet issues, we have contacted our local provider, and they have checked our system out and new parts have been ordered which should resolve any Internet issues in the immediate future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is by far one of the best hotel! They have a wonderful staff and a great general manager named Lela! They made it very special for a 4 day getaway. We loved the room with the balcony and fire place! It made it very romance for me and my husband that we really need. I didnt really want to leave. It was also very nice for them to have cookie and a clam chowder in the evening! We will be traveling again to the Elizabeth Street Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonw4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

We are so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay at our Hotel! It is very rewarding for us to help in the making of such great memories.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the staff, and thank you so much for the personal mention as well.

Hope to see you on your next visit to Newport!

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
870 reviews
2.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.5 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $174 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing