We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like the photo.”
Review of Waves of Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waves of Newport
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The room was outdated and ugly. But clean,comfortable and very spacious. The photo online looks nothing like the the hotel. It has been repainted an ugly brown and is very run down feeling.It is also is no where near the beach, in fact there is not beach access anywhere close to the hotel (one of the main reasons we booked). Its actually located on a cliff, so if you think you're going to be able to walk out the door to the ocean, you can't. Our "partial ocean view" room was the roof of the building across the street. We could not see any ocean at all. If you are on the 1 or 2nd floor don't expect any view. The pool is great for the kids (the other reason we booked) They did have a lot of fun swimming since it was too cold to really spend any time in the ocean. (expect there to be a lot of kids & quite noisy though).
It was cheap & it had a pool & breakfast so it was a good value. But just really disappointed in expecting a bit nicer hotel than it was.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean view do not get on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

The room was adequate and clean but quite noisy. We heard every footstep the people above us took, and every time they ran water (shower, toilet flush, etc.). Also the ice machine was near our room and it offered its share of noisy disruption as well. If you can't get a room on the third floor so no one is above you, look for a different place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Location was good, pool and hot tub nice, room clean, breakfast good. Room was large, The only complaint we had is the windows out to the beautiful ocean view were extremely dirty. So we tried our best to clean what we could from the open window, which helped considerably.

Room Tip: I would choose top floor (3rd floor ) and a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

This was the only hotel in the Newport area that had a room with two queen beds for my brother's birthday weekend. Room was clean and there was a mini fridge, microwave, TV, and DVD player. The hot tub, pool, and sauna are in a separate building across the parking lot. The hot tub had way too much chlorine in the water! The other downer was that the parking lot doesn't have enough spaces for all the hotel rooms, at least on a Friday night. However, the location is convenient and, as busy as it was, it was very quiet.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DramaRatQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This motel is an older motel and definitely shows it inside the room. When we walked into the "non-smoking" room we immediately smelled a musty odor. There were several gouges in the sheetrock walls as well as other areas where the paint had peeled off. The sheetrock above the bathtub was peeling and we found a cigarette butt under a chair. The room was extremely warm and there wasn't any air conditioning or way to cool it down. We opened the window, but it is a smaller window that opens in an upward fashion so even though the wind was blowing outside, it wasn't coming into the room to cool it down. After a shower I wiped the condensation off the shower curtain rod and discovered that it had not been cleaned for awhile. Dirt and corrosion came off and onto the rag. There was very limited parking in the parking lot next the hotel. There was extra parking a short distance from the actual hotel which means that you had to carry all your bags a distance to your room. The continental breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, pre-made frozen waffles (heated up in the toaster of microwave), orange juice, apple juice, milk, and water.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G9428TXgeorged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I stumbled on this great hotel with a week in Newport. The views of the ocean are amazing, the cleanliness is excellent, and the staff more than accommodating. The pool is sheer heaven, and there is an elevator for those of us on the third floor. I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Advise if you need the elevator to access a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BBushRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Spent a couple nights and despite the poor weather we fit in some time in the salt water pool and spa. The room had a great view and all the basics. The continental breakfast was up to par and housekeeping was helpful.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jason11573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,103 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.1 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
3.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves of Newport

Address: 820 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $115 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves of Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waves of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Of Newport Hotel Newport
Waves Hotel Newport
Waves Motel Newport
Waves Of Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing