We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Marine Discovery Tours is a MUST DO when you visit Newport!

Marine Discovery Tours is a 'must do!' when you visit Newport, OR. From the moment you arrive you... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
240elaineh
,
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
via mobile
Fantastic experience!

What a great experience this was. I recommend it to everyone! I took a group of middle school... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kathleen G
Read all 193 reviews
  
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
156
24
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
156
24
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab hour cruise whale watching grey whales sea lions great trip see whales animal life saw seals commercial fishing fun experience naturalist captain boat porpoises ocean bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 193 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2023 via mobile

Great staff. They were Knowledgeable about marine life! Snacks on board. Willing to answer questions. Once a whale was spotted we hung out there so we could see it several times

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank jennifermI2526WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2023

Great experience. Probably 6th time we have gone. Never disappoints! Kids love it naturalist engage them very well. Plus we saw whales 🐋 🐋🐋

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank hallsandolr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2023

Beautiful. Informative. Cheerful and knowledgeable crew. At the beginning of the trip we dropped crab traps into Newport Bay, then we went out into the ocean. We got lots and lots of looks at gray whale. Also saw plenty of auks flying and swimming. Then we came back and pulled up the crab traps. All the crabs were identified and eventually thrown back in.

Date of experience: July 2023
1  Thank 267jeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2023 via mobile

We booked our outing on a whim and could not have been more pleased. The weather was splendid and the educational items were interesting. We were lucky enough to spend the majority of time in the presence of a magnificent gray whale. The captain relayed his own personal story about this particular whale which was good to hear firsthand knowledge as well as the information from the two marine biologists on board.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Y220MZmaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2023 via mobile

My kids and us had a fun time! We got to see two whales! They also caught two crabs and a sea star that they let us hold. Super informative!

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank NDGOEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews