We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rugged Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Friendly, welcoming, clean, bargain.
A little off the freeway but easy to get to, plenty of parking and you won't get better service at a hotel that charges ten times what we paid here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridemoreponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    126
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
84
126
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutherlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Loved everything about his place. Very nicely decorated with lilac sachets in room and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Management was very friendly, informative, and helpful. He brought cookies and milk to our room!!! Who does that? Breakfast was great, everything was fresh. The location was perfect for what we needed. Pendleton Woolen Mills right down the street. Hospital right next door. Downtown was straight down the road a little ways. This will be where we stay every time we come to Pendleton.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The totally refurbished rooms are more like a bed and breakfast with fresh cookies always available. The lavender plants that grow on the property are made into sachets that are placed in the bathroom for a great touch! The owner who is so friendly and down to earth really cares for quality and enjoys to meet to meet you. Comfortable bed with anemities such as mircowave..The only downside was the air conditioner too close to the bed that makes a noise, but we got use to it. We enjoyed this motel that it has a great breakfast, clean and friendly. Did I mention the lavender, which was a favorite mine!. While in Pendleton we saw the underground tour, which was well worth the price and the extra day stay.

Room Tip: I liked my room location, right in front of where we parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed here with my 3 dogs. The room I had was spacious and quaintly decorated, it included a microwave and fridge. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean, and it was peaceful and quiet. Management was very personable and friendly. An excellent place to stay! A++++

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillamook, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This place was small and nice cheap friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asteinmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We wanted so badly to like this hotel. I researched it online and it had good reviews and seemed to have character. But we were disappointed. We found the young gal at the front desk inhospitable when we checked in, for some reason demanding to know who would be in our three rooms. When we replied that we were a family of 7 with young children and that we would be figuring that out once we saw the rooms, she insisted to know their names. (??) So instead of welcoming us to the hotel, she relentlessly demanded to know information that I found unnecessary and consequently I had to sternly tell her to stop asking. The way she handled the situation was unprofessional. Then, we get to our rooms and found ants on 2 of the beds! We were so tired, had been driving all day (from the coast to Pendleton), and didn't want to move rooms or hotels, nor did we want to deal with the inhospitable hostess again, so we killed the ants, sprayed bed bug spray on the beds and went to sleep anyway. The rooms were very small and there was no counter space in the bathrooms (not a good thing for a family of 7). The place seemed old and in need of repairs. A screen was missing on one of our windows, which may account for the ants. It was noisy... as train tracks were just below the hotel (not something clearly represented on the hotel website). On the positive side, it was nicely decorated. But that didn't make up for the other negatives about the place. The continental breakfast was ok. The only cooked item was biscuits & gravy. Not really our cup of tea. The coffee was great, however, with plenty of creamers to choose from. The air conditioner took some tinkering to get to work, which we also found irritating. We had to call the front desk several times for assistance. The hotel was old and needed more updating and a better cleaning. There is no pool on site. This is not a good hotel for families with children. There was a fridge in the room, which was warm when we arrived and we had to wait awhile for it to cool down.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. No pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneBusyMama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

As mentioned elsewhere, the rooms are small but quaint and cozy. Very clean. The beds are great. The people running the place are laid back and friendly. The breakfast was definitely a notch above normal. Our only complaint was the noise from the road and train, but it didn't keep us awake. Funny but the birds singing outside our window is what woke us, not too shabby.

Room Tip: Back rooms might be quieter as far as road noise, but then you are closer to the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bret-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
1.5 km away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
3.5 km away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
664 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#11 of 17 in Pendleton
361 reviews
1.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Property: Rugged Country Lodge
Address: 1807 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-3348
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing