We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaway By the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Jot's Resort(Gold Beach)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Gold Beach(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$86
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azalea Lodge(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 101(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Reef Hotel(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Beach Inn(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ireland's Rustic Lodges(Gold Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere on the Beach(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn at Face Rock(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
67
63
22
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
63
22
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun porchthe ownerliving roomwonderful viewwould stay here againoregon coastoverlooking the baygold beachi'd recommendbed was comfortablelaid backlove this placecircular staircasedining tablelate at nightfacing southan update
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 171 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2016

Over the years, we have stayed here a number of times. We have been upstairs in the larger units, also next to the office, and downstairs. The downstairs units have a central corridor that is all glass to the sea and port, with chairs for relaxing. So, the view is in the corridor, not your room. You easily can go outside and sit on the lawn, also. Downstairs is less expensive, as well.

Upstairs, views from your rooms, some with kitchens, some not. There is a room with a washer and dryer where you can also find books other travelers have left behind, and some games for those rainy days.

All the rooms are clean, and the owner is very easy about telling you the pros and cons of his units, as well as letting you go and see before you rent. He is the only hotel on the water, perched on a cliff over the harbor. Simply so relaxing to stay there. We love the views, the easiness to walk to the harbor or into town for meals.

Every time we return, we see more facets in the owner's photos of the agates he has found over the years. You rent your room from an artist who takes care of his hotel. Relax, you're at the quiet part of the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homelessx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2016

We chose this motel due to the reviews on TripAdvisor. The place is rundown and filthy.
As soon as we checked into room 12, we were almost overwhelmed by the smell of dead mice. I checked the entire room but never found one or a mouse trap for that matter so they must have died in the walls. While looking under the bed, I discovered what looked like a lump of dog DNA that had been kicked under there. That made sense as the following morning while trying to dry our hair with the very thin towels (no hair dryer or shampoo provided) I looked down and saw a bone-shaped piece of dog food that was somehow missed the last time the room was cleaned, which appeared to have been some time ago. 2 bars of soap, literally the size of silver dollars were all that were provided and were barely enough to make it through our 2 showers. In the motel's defense, the views outside were stunning. There were whales in the bay both when we arrived and left. Also, there is a huge ice machine which is a nice convenience. One other note to travelers; if you are in this area on a Sunday night, there are only 2 restaurants open in town. I would recommend staying in Coos Bay or Brookings which have a much larger selection of places to stay and restaurants to dine in.

Room Tip: Choose another city in the area
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Port Orford is an exceptional place, the ocean bay is lovely and the hotel nearly faces the morning sun which is very unusual for the West Coast. But the room lacked basics like shampoo, a coffee maker and a small frig. Since the only decent coffee is two blocks away we really missed in-room tea and coffee. The bed was comfortable but the decor is cheap and outdated.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HildulaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2016

We had a large room + conservatory complete with rocking chair. It was fairly basic but clean and a wonderful view. Rockney was very laid back and friendly. It was well
located everything in the town was walking distance. Good value.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a sea view. Quiet location.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83marilyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

This is a quaint little hotel overlooking the bay. Absolutely beautiful view of the bay from your very own back patio or sliding glass door on the bottom floor. There were only two separate families staying at the hotel so all was very quiet. This is a pet friendly hotel. The owner was very friendly and helpful. There are no shampoo's or soap included in the room and neither is there a hair dryer, so you might want to bring those. Our room had a stove but the oven did not work. comfortable furniture and bed.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews