We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Kimpton Hotel Monaco was a wonderful place to stay with good service, location in heart of downtown Portland and the rooms made you feel like you were at home and thank so much to the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marib345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting our home! We are so glad you were chose to stay with us and had such a great time. We hope to welcome you home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 3,150 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Monaco in Portland is a very beautiful, well maintained hotel. At check in, we were greeted by an outstanding assistant, Sasha, who offered to help us with restaurants, or site-seeing, as well as giving us suggestions of businesses that could help us locally with housing for my son. When checking out a couple of days later, she remembered us. She is a good customer representative for the company.

The rooms at the hotel were very comfortable and clean. You did not feel as though your neighbor was right next door, thus giving you a lot of privacy. The beds and linens were very comfortable as well. It is also dog friendly, which was a plus for my son.

Hotel Monaco was definitely worth staying downtown.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and provide a lot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our guests and staff are very important to us so it is great to hear a connection was made! Sasha is a gem on our staff and she loves ensuring our guests have the best possible stay. Sounds like you also met the most special member of our staff, Dakota our lobby dog! She is he sweetest and loves meeting guest. We hope you have a lovely week you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I live in Portland and if I ever have to stay downtown this is the hotel I stay at. The staff, ambiance, rooms, and location are excellent. The happy hour in the evenings is such a great bonus; if you see Peach Sangria being served - stand in line. It is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank F8349ZJmarkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We love our wine hour and it is great to hear you did too! Wine options include NW wines, local beer and a specialty cocktail each evening. Noted Peach Sangria is one to repeat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

From RJ at the front door, the incredible knowledgeable and friendly front desk people to the luxurious unique rooms and the free daily wine social, this is the place to stay in Portland. It located within walking distance to fantastic restaurants and the incredible Saturday markets.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkeeterCoeurdAleneID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We like to think we have the most friendly staff in the city! RJ being one of them, thanks for mentioning him! Our central location makes if great for getting around the city by foot or one of our loaner bikes. We hope you come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The staff is super friendly. The place is a pet-friendly hotel. I’m not a pet person but it was very cute and interesting. It’s close to many great restaurants and close to the bridge. It was a nice view of the water and great to go bike riding.
I wouldn't take my kids here... it's more for couples and pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zapatierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

So glad you stayed with us! We agree our staff is great! We are pet friendly and even have a lobby dog if you left you loved one behind. Dakota loves giving licks! We are centrally located in the heart of the city but do not have any water views. we are just 5 blocks away from the waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Location is great as it is within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and sites. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel amenities and accommodations are great. The room we stayed in was well kept and well groomed. The privacy it offers is fantastic. My husband and I both got sick with the cold/flu symptoms and it was wonderful to have the option of closing off the bedroom door and I stayed in the sitting room area. The size of the room considering the hotel is older is an added convenience. It was quiet too. We were able to apply AAA discount so that helped reduce the hotel room pricing. And, it was well worth it! I would also like to mention that the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, bar shop are amazing :). Another plus. They were so amazing that I ordered them for my everyday use at home. I need to mention that the robes provided were so soft, comfy and snuggly. The hotel is dog-friendly too. They have dog cookie treats in front. They have a board with occupant dog name(s) posted as you enter the hotel.

Room Tip: Room #s with a # 10 I was told tend to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you choose to stay with us! So sorry to hear you got sick during your stay with us and we are pleased to hear our accommodations helped towards your recovery. We agree our bath products are amazing and after research and guest feedback Atelier Bloem was decided for our properties. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed them and are enjoying at home too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The entire stay was really nice. I checked in late and missed the wine reception they have in the evening. The front desk gave me a card for a free glass of wine or beer in the bar even though I hadn't even mentioned the wine reception. It was just a nice touch offered proactively.

The room was really nice and the bed was comfortable. The fitness room was spacious with good equipment. They even had small containers of trail mix in the gym for a quick protein/carb treat post workout.

Checkout was fast and easy. They even gave tips on commute options.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lhillSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne_moisant, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

That's what we like to hear! Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us here on Trip Advisor. We hope to always provide all of our guest the best stay experience possible and work hard to ensure we do. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $232 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing