We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love all Shilo Inn's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Rose Garden

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Ranked #102 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
“We love all Shilo Inn's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is smaller than the other Shilo Inns that we have been to, but the rooms are just as comfortable with a great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jence2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    43
    36
    27
See reviews for
43
62
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Yes, it would be nice to stay downtown but the cost was two-three times higher. If you are able footed, this is great value. We took the Max from the airport and the stop was two short blocks. Public transportation is very close and it takes maybe 10 min to get into town or less. The hotel was clean (carpets a bit worn), the shower/tub new, had frig and microwave plus the usual basic breakfast included. It was quiet. The room we had had a King and was small but quite fine. It was clean. Free parking if you have a car. Not a deluxe place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear painnurse,

Thank you very much for posting this review about your recent visit to our property. “Affordable Excellence” is our motto and we pride ourselves on giving the best prices to our guests’ for clean, comfortable rooms. We are only about 5 minutes from downtown and in the “Fairless” zone for the light rail train making it very easy to have the downtown experience at a cheaper price. We appreciate your business and hope to accommodate your hotel needs on your next trip to Portland.

Jenifer Pierce - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spend a few nights in Portland 4 or 5 times each year and like to stay near the Convention Center/Rose Garden. We often stay at the Courtyard or Residence Inn, but they are sometimes expensive if there is an event scheduled. We recently discovered the Shilo Inn, which is an older facility that has been remodeled recently. The rooms are relatively small, but they are clean and well equipped. The staff are very helpful. And the rates are terrific - half what we would have paid at our usual places and parking was free. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I spent 1 night here after flying in and before catching the Greyhound Bus. We returned for another overnight a week later before flying out again. This was one segment of a six-week trip we were taking; we are Australians.

The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful; nothing was too much trouble, and ready to give information and tips. They were often very busy dealing with a number of folk, but kept cheerful and mindful of those waiting.

Location was ideal for us, close to Greyhound terminal and to a choice of eating places. The breakfast was very basic, but who is complaining when this accommodation is so very reasonably priced!

We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear noellaross1,

Thank for taking the time to post this very pleasant review about your recent visit to our property. Our front desk staff is very familiar with this area and love giving recommendations and directions to restaurants, local attractions, etc. We appreciate your business and hope to fulfill your future lodging needs when visiting Portland.

Jenifer Pierce - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My friend and I spent the night in Portland, OR after attending a show at the Rose Garden. We booked the Shilo Inn and it was a nice place. It was close to the venue- maybe 2-3 blocks walking distance. They answered our request accordingly. The parking lot was well lit. They do have a shuttle but we didn't use it as we had my friend's car. The beds were comfy and the room was clean and quaint! Too bad there aren't more Shil Inns in Texas where I'm from(only 1 location currently). I'll definitely come back & recommend this location for future use! =)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GothicblueCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Very gracious staff, good price and great location!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DylonCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I needed an economical room close to a convention area. This one was clean and close. The bed was good and I only had to walk across the street. I also ended up leaving a ring behind in the room and the housekeeper turned it in and the front office staff had it for me when I returned for it. I appreciate the honesty and the care.

Room Tip: No elevator, so may want to request ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 km away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 138 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
1.2 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
1.3 km away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Rose Garden

Property: Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Address: 1506 NE 2nd Ave., Portland, OR 97232
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Shilo Inn Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Portland Rose Garden Hotel Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing