We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$166
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$239
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$199
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
68
79
26
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
79
26
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshayden islandpancake machinelarge shopping centercoffee downstairsfront desknice breakfast arearoom was cleanquiet locationcomfortable mattresscomplimentary breakfastsheavy sleeperplan on stayingcontinental breakfastbiscuits and gravygreat propertynice stayshopping and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 188 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed there this weekend while playing at a nearby Bridge tournament. Excellent rooms and a superb breakfast included at a modest price. Microwave, and large refrigerator were a welcome Bonus. Instead of spending 40-50 dollars for dinner, we were able to go to the nearby Safeway, buy some great food and wine, and enjoy a low cost meal in between sessions of bridge. Very high quality room and linens. Recomended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice. It can be difficult to find if you aren't familiar with Jantzen Beach. Nonetheless, it is only five minutes from I-5. It takes 15 minutes to get from the hotel to PDX and it is convenient to both downtown Portland and Vancouver. There are many restaurants and shops on Jantzen Beach that make the location interesting.
We have always found the front desk to be helpful. The rooms are quiet and clean. Being off the freeway has its advantages. There is no freeway noise.
We have made a reservation to return next month.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandFRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is tucked behind some big box stores but is easy to locate. Once at the hotel you are well removed from any of the freeway noise, airport noise, and even the hustle and bustle of the nearby stores. Common areas and guest rooms were well attended to. I did not take advantage of the exercise room or pool during this trip but they look to be above average for this level of accomodation. Breakfast bar offers a great variety of continental items as well as a few of the breakfast staples like eggs, bacon, pancakes. 3-4 minute drive across the river to downtown Vancouver, WA where our event was being held. Location was perfect for our needs on this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in the Jantzen Beach HIE in January and were very pleased. Very clean, quiet, good breakfast, comfy bed, etc. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed a long weekend at this Holiday Inn property recently for the second time in a year and had the same basically more than satisfactory experience both times. Depending on your plans, since the hotel is on an island on the Columbia River between Portland, Oregon and Vancouver, Washington, the location is a little out of the way for access to anything in the Portland metro area apart from what may be going on in Jantzen Beach. It’s only a few minutes from Portland airport or from Portland Meadows; but there are many other lodging choices adjacent to those destinations. Fifteen minutes will easily get you to downtown Portland.

The hotel is clean, quiet, and well maintained. Check in and check out was fast and efficient. I did not notice any issues with my reservation or my bill. My room was pretty roomy and had a small microwave, small fridge, and LCD television with only basic cable choices. The complimentary wi-fi worked fine all weekend. There is also guest PCs in the hallway next to the lobby though I didn’t actually see any guests use it all the time I was there. There were relatively few guests both times I was stayed at this property but they appeared to be mostly those on family vacations rather than on business.

In case you’re interested, the complimentary breakfast consists of basic hot entrees such as scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon or sausage patties, and biscuits & gravy. The gravy was a little thin but acceptable. You may be interested by the pancake machine that will dispense somewhat flattened pancakes with the push of a button. The breakfast coffee was fine. The hotel offers a pool and a fitness center that looked ready for use. Also, a guest laundry with coin operated washing machine and dryer. Plenty of free parking just outside. I noticed several guests smoking just outside the entrance but apart from that the hotel itself is smoke free and smelled clean and cancer free.

The hotel is in a part residential and part retail area. There is precious little that a guest might actually want to go to close by. The shopping center looks like it’s dwindling but still has a Best Buy, Target, Staples, and several other stores. Down the street in Jantzen Beach there are more choices like a Denny’s, a McDonald’s, a Safeway’s, and a Hooter’s. There are even more choices heading north into Vancouver, WA or south into the Portland Airport region.

I would recommend this property as providing a more than acceptable lodging experience in the north Portland area with good access to events in Vancouver, Washington or north Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews