We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Hollywood Glamour meets downtown Portland”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Great property with a very friendly staff. The beds were super comfortable offering down mattress pads, comforter and pillows. Amenities were great and the onsite restaurant had o.k. food, but terrible service.

The location to downtown is perfect. The hotel is in walking distance to some great restaurants and nightlife. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
There are newer reviews for Hotel deLuxe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,715 - 2,721 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2008

Such a gem. My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend away. We could not get over how friendly and acommodating everyone on their staff was. From the surprise plans my husband coordinated with the manager to the valet, everyone was so helpful and nice. The room was beautiful and the king size bed was soft with just as soft sheets. Everything was so clean. Great location. Fairly central, but not in the middle of all the noise and businesses. I only wish they had a spa in house, but it just forced us to venture to other parts of Portland. I would definitely recommend Hotel Deluxe to others and would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hapasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Evocative of a 1930s Hollywood hotel, the Hotel deLuxe provides an excellent upscale experience at a reasonable price.

Rooms: The King Deluxe room was large (see pictures), with a massive flat-screen TV and an iPod station. The art deco-style bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. All that the drizzly rain outside ... my fiancé and I would have preferred to stay in bed all day and watch movies on that huge TV.

There is a pillow menu that allows you to call and place an order for the type of pillow you prefer, and the "make it so" button on the phone cracked us up.

Our room was located in the back half of the building, where you could hear no street noise whatsoever. The view was of the buildings around us and the hills just west of Portland.

Location: Conveniently located in downtown Portland. I should point out that it is technically across I-405, which should not make a difference, as it is within an extremely short walk from most restaurants, shops, parks, museums, etc. The MAX light rail runs along the side of the hotel, making it easy to get around.

Meals: Didn’t try room service, but we ate at Gracie’s (in-hotel restaurant) for breakfast on a Saturday. There seemed to be several regulars there, probably explained by the delicious omelettes and pancakes.

Other: This is an architecturally beautiful structure. The recent renovation is truly amazing, with obvious care given to both the scale of the larger rooms and the small details. Portland is lucky to have a hotel with this sort of historical elegance and charm!

The workout room could use some improvement. I fully realize my fiancé and I belong to the minority of guests who choose to work out while on vacation, but it was incredibly small and about 110° when we used it at 11 p.m. It needs more equipment and additional space.

Having to pay $10 a day for Wi-Fi should be a thing of the past. The connection was remarkably slow. Internet access is a part of life and fully expected at hotels ... travelers need to check flights, look up restaurants, addresses, etc. It should just be there as part of the room, like the TV, radio or phone.

Bottom line: Like other reviewers have mentioned, you feel special here. The atmosphere is fantastic and I would definitely recommend and stay at the Hotel deLuxe again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brittelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

I had a great experience at the Hotel DeLuxe! Honestly I didn't like the rooms that much, they were very small and I felt like I was closed in, I barely had room to walk in between the TV and the bed. However the customer service was great. I had a good greeting from the girl at the front desk and every staff member I saw smiled at me and greeted me. Even the mini bar attendant was great. She came into the room to stock the minibar. Usually I feel very awkward when maids come in to clean the room but she made me feel very at ease by joking with me about how she needs a garter on her arm so she could look a real bartender (she had a vest and a white shirt on and she looks very much like an old time bartender). I will recommend this to anyone who values customer service and doesn't really care about the size of the room they will be staying in.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kristylourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Deluxe in February 2008 for two nights. Our first trip was wonderful - the staff was absolutely amazing, the room was small but adorable, we were treated wonderfully by everyone, and we decided to make the Deluxe our Portland hotel. On our second stay from April 29-May 1/08, we had a less memorable time. When we checked in we were told I had reserved a double queen room; I had reserved a king room online a month prior and was totally surprised by the mix up. The staff gave us a king room and "kept the rate for the double queen." I guess because of this "mix up" we were given a tiny, tiny room on the second floor with windows facing a wall and incredibly loud neighbours. This time the staff were less than friendly - no smiles or chit-chat like before - and we felt like we were bothering them, our room was not cleaned after our first night and we had to call the desk only to be told that, "They were very short staffed." On our second morning the people in the room next to us woke us at 7am by shouting for the next 3 hours. Upon check out we were not asked how the stay had been and the staff rushed us out the door. We're a couple in our mid-20's so perhaps our complaints were ignored, but I can say we will never stay here again. The rate I paid for the room was $16 more/night - probably because of the "mix up" - than what I had reserved online ($163 vs $179) and nothing the hotel did or offered warranted that increase.

On May 1st we stayed at the Deluxe's sister hotel in Seattle, the Max. Though the staff wasn't great there either, the experience was far better than our two nights at the Deluxe. When we return to Portland in June - we are usually there once a month - I will have reserved at another hotel. Oh, and there's a parking garage just down Yamhill that charges $15/night - we paid the $24 for valet for the two nights at the Deluxe. Save yourself the money.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

really cool room and great hotel, could walk everywhere. Driftwood room was a really cool place to kick back and have a cocktail. definitely would stay there again. Loved the style of the rooms. Only downfall was having to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lucin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Deluxe Portland is in a quiet part of town but no more than 5 to 10 minutes from everything in downtown and the Pearl District. The doormen and check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a King Premier Suite for two nights. The hotel is decorated in 1930s/40s style and is a very relaxing area in which to sit, have a drink or read the paper.

Our room was sufficiently big, but I felt the layout was a little odd as there was a lot of wasted space in the room. The suite comes with not one but two big flat screen TVs and an ipod docking station. Again we went for their romantic couples package. However I'm getting a little tired of North American hotels advertising 'champagne' and then supplying sparking wine.

The beds were big and cosy and to be honest I could have spent the whole weekend in it ordering room service.

On our first night we dined at the hotel restaurant, Gracies. Its in a beautiful room but was absolutely empty the Saturday night that we were there. I guess lunch is more their thing. The food was good and service was impeccable. We also drank a number of times in the hotel bar, The Driftwood Room. Its nicely designed but a little on the small side. The bar is very popular so it fills up quickly.

What makes this place special is the atmosphere and old world charm. You really do feel like a Golden Era movie star and for that I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank majik247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,543 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $208 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing