We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
136
135
36
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
135
36
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal ballroom zeus cafe shared bathroom soaking pool whole foods mcmenamins hotels the pearl basement bar fun funky quirky hotel street noise fun hotel powell's books salt water pool burnside street provide ear plugs music venue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 320 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Very unique and funky hotel in a great location. When in Portland, you might as well get the full Portland experience and stay here. The rooms are small and uniquely decorated and have shared bathrooms. Our bathroom was right outside our door and was ALWAYS clean, so no issues there. There is a sink in your room, but that's it. There are no TV's in the rooms or in the hotel at all (not that I saw anyway), but if you need to watch a sporting event there's a bar across the street and another down the block (Crystal ballroom where I believe you can charge drinks and meals to your room). Very nice bar/restaurant within the hotel with bistro tables outside on the sidewalk. The bistro tables are great for people watching, and Portland has some seriously funky people walking by! Oh, and they have live music in the basement (with table service), and we sat and listened to two different solo guitarists, who were both okay, not terrific, but I love live music so it was good. There's also a hot tub somewhere in the basement, but we didn't partake. May only complaint was traffic/city noise during the overnight, including a firewood delivery right outside my window at 3am (idk why). If you want the standard American hotel, this is not the place. But if you want to experience Portland and all it's quirkiness, then book this hotel. Very cool and hip.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! We are not your average hotel, this is true. We are, however, appreciative of your feedback, and hope you'll get a chance to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Great location right across the street from Powell's. Good location with a nice inhouse restaurant. Rooms are small, but eccentric with a good boutique vibe. Beds could be a bit more comfortable. Good for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CalebM206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Yes!! Thank you!! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Come back and visit again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

The room, the staff, the food, the location excellent. the food in the bar was very reasonably priced and the burger and chips was very good. The staff at breakfast were very attentive. The waffles are terrific.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 111 ...very quiet and beside the lift and stairs
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Korky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! I apologize for the late response, but we are happy that you stayed with us, and left your amazing feedback. We appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

My daughter told me about the McMennamin's hotels and when I had just one night to be in Portland I chose the Crystal Hotel because it is walkable to the Powell's City of Books, which was something else on the list to visit. The Crystal is in the Pearl District of Portland with many shops and micro-breweries nearby. The hotel's wedge shaped building creates interesting room shape and hallways. Wander through the floors and hallways as all have posters of bands and musical groups that have performed there over the years as well as historical photos of people and places in Portland.

The room had a sink but the full bath was shared and just across the hall. There never was a problem with waiting. Another full bath was just a couple of doors down the hall.

The dining room/bar is exquisitly decorated with victorian chandeliers and stained glass windows. I only had breakfast there but I imagine at night it's quite lively.

Room Tip: Look at room photos on the hotel website. I was traveling with an adult daughter and selected the double twin room. Photos are accurate.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank newyearsbabySt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!! What a great review.... We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and hope you'll get a chance to visit us again, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

we regularly stay at this place on overnights for Timbers games. So close to Providence, and easy to park at the lot down the street. We love to see a game, soak for a while, and then relax with a drink and some music. We are busy while there, so the no TV, and shared bathrooms are never an issue. So reasonable for such a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annatheresad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello Anna-Theresa,

Thank you for your review... We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback, more importantly the detail in regards to the shared bathrooms and no televisions. When you're in the area, please come by and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews