We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
152
181
36
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
181
36
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking nob hill free breakfast jack in the box below ground slow elevator pancake machine walking distance industrial area alphabet district freeway access yogurt easy access hotel is located convenience store the breakfast area block walk
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 390 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This was our first visit to this property - we were greeted by friendly staff and given a clean room. We loved the location in NW Portland with lots of great neighbourhood restaurants a short walk away, and the Pearl District a 15 min walk while saving a few dollars compared to downtown properties. Perfect location to explore and enjoy Portland. The bathroom could have been more modern and stylish but that was not a deal breaker for us. Breakfast buffet had lots of options. Awesome coffee place, Groundwork, next door made our mornings even better.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mstravelbugfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Mstravelbugfun,

Your positive rating of Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Ptld is greatly appreciated! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our warm greeting, clean accommodations, and affordable rates. Your comments about our bathroom decor will be mentioned to our team. We're happy that our location was ideal for exploring Portland and it sounds like you had fun doing that! Many thanks for your kind words. We're delighted that your first visit to our property was a great experience and we hope this will be the first of many more to come.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

This was our second and third visit to this hotel since January 2018 (we were just here for a weekend, checked out for a couple days on the coast, and came back for another 5 days). We love the staff! They are always so friendly and helpful. The hotel has always been clean, our beds have been comfy, and the breakfast has been exactly what you would expect in this price-point (the breakfast lady works her tail off keeping the food filled up and the area clean). We appreciate the parking as we hate looking for parking in the NW district (our daughter had a one bedroom apartment within walking distance that’s big enough for her and her brother but not all of us at once). The only reason i gave a 4 instead of a 5 ... slowest elevator in Portland and we had a loose, bucking toilet in our first room that made things interesting, lol). Our second room was perfect!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Zebes,
Returning guests pay us the highest compliment, and we are thrilled to know that you continue to enjoy your visits with us here at Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Ptld. Our team takes great pride in the work that they do, and your kind words are much appreciated. We are also happy to know that you appreciate our clean facilities and comfortable beds, as well as our breakfast options. However, we apologize that you experienced some issues with the toilet in your first room, and we will address this issue promptly. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, and we hope to see you again when you return to the area!

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

great staff and nice accommodations. liked the local dining and activities tips provided upon check in. snacks in the hotel store were expensive. glad there was laundry facilities available. good breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Peter,
Our staff takes pride in making all our guests feel like VIPs and will be glad you appreciated their suggestions for things to do in the area. It's lovely to know that our onsite laundry added to your convenience and that our breakfast selection suited your tastes. We're sorry for any dismay regarding the price of items in our store and we'll keep your comments in mind for future consideration. If you're in the area again, we welcome you back to our hotel.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

This location is just 5 miles from the University and therefore, there are alternate routes available in heavy traffic. Staff is appropriate and helpful. Rooms are typical for this hotel chain. Breakfast has good variety. Drawback is this location is near industrial area, so there are non registered people wandering through parking lot at times. Also only 1 slow elevator used by all guests and daytime personnel cleaning rooms.

Room tip: Had regular king bed room. Desk, outlets, furniture enough. Room faces west, afternoon sun can be brutal.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharen2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear sharen2015,
It was an honor hosting you during your recent trip. We're happy to hear that our breakfast menu was to your liking and that our friendly staff was able to assist with all your needs. While we're glad our proximity to the university worked well for you, we're sorry for any concerns about people in the parking lot and we'll look into it further. Please also accept our apologies for any issues with the elevator. We're glad it was only a minor issue and we look forward to your next visit.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This hotel is convenient to downtown Portland. Overall, the facility is clean and well kept.

I used points to book this room and was given a room right next to the elevator. Although not real loud, the elevator was perceptibly noisy.

Additionally, when I left, I forgot my laptop cord (my fault). I realized it after we did not have time to go back to pick it up. We called the hotel and they had found it and said that they could ship it through a service called ileftmystuff.com. The price to ship was a shocker. Two day or faster shipping is over $50 and regular UPS Ground with up to a week to receive was $23. I believe this is price gouging. The US Postal service has Express Mail for $7.95 for whatever you can fit in a box. Powell's Bookstore is shipping me two oversized books I purchased while in Portland for $6. What could be a nice customer service is instead gouging the customer for something they need returned. If the price would have been $10-$15, it would have been OK. Over $20 for shipping a small item is absolutely ridiculous.

Room tip: ask for room not near elevator
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Mark R L,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team works hard to upkeep the appearance and cleanliness of our hotel, and we are grateful that you noticed. Furthermore, please know that we want our guests to have a comfortable, undisturbed stay with us, and we would have been more than happy to look for a more suitable room for you. We also apologize for the inconvenience with the shipping fees, and understand your frustration; we wish we could have found a better solution for getting your laptop cable to you. We hope you consider staying with us again, as we would love a chance to improve your perception of our service in the future.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews