We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“As usual a very nice stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #39 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As usual a very nice stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I really feel comfortable at this hotel. It has everything you need and such a peaceful location! I love how clean the rooms are and it puts me at ease to know it is cleaned well. I actually sleep well at this hotel because it seems to be very cared for and clean! The beds are very comfortable.I feel the staff gives you the info and service that you need without being overbearing. I love the different flavored waters provided in the lobby. After a long day of traveling(for me a 6-hour drive) it is very refreshing. Last year I treated my mother and father to a spa day as they had never gone to a spa. They were very pleased and my mother could not be more happy with the treatments she received and the advice she got for hair/makeup. The view is always lovely on the riverside and not too bad on the "mountain side" either. The trail that goes along the river out front is wonderful and so convienient. We will continue to stay at this establishment whenever we visit Portland. I hope that the standards of customer service,convienience, and cleanliness will continue as I am constantly disappointed at other establishments. Thank you Avalon hotel & Spa!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Avalon Suites on the mountain side and it was just beautiful and huge. Great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGretaSiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Miss GretaSiam,

Thank you so much for such wonderful account of your stay at The Avalon Hotel and Spa. We very much appreciate your feedback as well as your loyalty to our hotel.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members. We understand you have many hotel choices when visiting Portland, so we appreciate that you have chosen us on several occasions.

Thank you once again for your great review and we very much look forward to welcome you back.

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    337
    123
    72
    41
See reviews for
205
389
75
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Living Social gave us a great deal to try out the Avalon Hotel and the Aquariva Restaurant and we loved both. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I wish there were a rating between poor and average. This hotel doesn't deserve a poor but I also don't think of it as average. At check in we asked for a quite room. The staff said we were one room from the end and that we shouldn't have any trouble with noise. The room was THE closest to the elevator you could get. She was correct with saying it was the second from the last room, but this was a staff member who clearly didn't know the layout of the building, or just doesn't understand that their elevator dings. Second when we pulled out the tv to turn it to the bed, (I haven't been in a hotel that still has boxed tv's in a long time)the dust behind the tv and on the shelf was unreal. Housekeeping needs to do a better job. The view of the river through the tress was nice, but there is nothing to do there. It is to far from downtown to walk.There is no pool and the hot tubes are separate by gender. The continental breakfast was very good. Different breads, cereals, fruit, juice and coffee. The restaurant's happy hour was fantastic! Friendly staff, great bites with nicely priced drinks. We will go to the restaurant again.

Room Tip: As for a room on the north side of building since the elevator that dings is on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Avalon Hotel and Spa. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

As I mentioned in my e-mail sent directly to you, I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Portland.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Avalon Hotel and Spa

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We came here with a bridal party to do a girl's night! It was such a nice place - the staff was wonderful! We all got up and went and did Pedicures in our jammies! Loved it! Very relaxing with nice views of the river - it doesn't feel like you are in a big city.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Brooke H,

Thank you for your kind words. We love the views of The Willamette River, we are so fortunate with our location. Please do come and stay with us again soon,

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent one night at The Avalon because we got a LivingSocial deal. We would most definitely stay again. Next time, I would like to try out the spa services. The restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Alysia S,

Thank you, we would love to see you back with us very soon

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This place is absolutely amazing on all levels. Wonderful staff that were so professional yet warm. We checked in a little late and were given a room on the first floor on the end. The room was lovely but we had hoped for something higher with more view. Mind you we were using a Living Social deal but I took a chance and asked if there was any other room we could upgrade to. Totally willing to pay for it. The Front desk young lady found us a bigger room and gave it to us with no extra charge! Making a birthday that more special without even knowing it till after the fact! I will come back and send everyone I know there. The restaurant and the hotel compliment each other perfectly. Aquariva Italian Kitchen also has amazing staff and awesome food. We had happy hour and dinner there it was that wonderful. Make sure to save room for dessert!

Room Tip: Riverside is beautiful with personal patios. Quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear VonFab,

What a treat to read your review, It was a privilege to have been your choice of accommodations during your trip to Portland and we are looking forward so much to welcoming you back to The Avalon Hotel and Spa.

The staff appreciates your compliments of their service and on their behalf; I thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We just returned home from a three night stay at the Avalon in Portland. It's a lovely hotel and spa in a neat spot overlooking the river. Though it rained our entire stay, we did take advantage of the walking/running trail along the river. We really enjoyed having breakfast right on our floor, and it's far and above your typical "continental breakfast". The granola is hearty and very tasty...the pastries were "bakery status". Good coffee and juice as well. As many other reviews have mentioned, the only two things we would recommend changing: 1. Upgrade the TV's to flat screen. 2. Get rid of the valet parking. It is just ridiculous that the parking lot is right outside the front door, and the valet walks about 20 feet to grab the car (and then you feel obligated to tip him/her). Other than those two things, we will definitely stay again at the Avalon and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Heidi C,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Avalon Hotel and Spa from your recent visit, we appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodations and continental breakfast. We would like to take a moment to clarify for others that we understand the parking situation may be out of the ordinary, unfortunately we do not own those spaces, we rent them, thank you for your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards,
Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#20 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Property: River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Address: 0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing