We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Privacy, proximity, comfortable and great host.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sellwood Waterfront Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sellwood Waterfront Park
Back Gate Backyard patio set
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Sellwood Waterfront Park
Back Gate
Backyard patio set
Large private bathroom
Large private bathroom with plenty of mirrors and storage.
Large private bathroom with soaps, shampoo and conditioner. Plus a hair dryer and magnified mirror.
Kitchen drawer contents
Games and books
Kitchen cabinet contents
Cable TV
Livingroom
Livingroom
Kitchenette
Kitchenette
Kitchenette
View of bedroom from livingroom
Bedroom built-in closet
Bedroom area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
Washington dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Privacy, proximity, comfortable and great host.”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Staying in Portland for a week with numerous appointments made coming home to Sellwood Guest Suite a welcome respite everyday. Hot tub, barbecue and quiet private outdoor space are just the beginning. Terrific upscale bath, very comfy bed, and thoughtful amenities in the kitchenette, lounge, and laundry made it clearly a place put together by a world traveler. Walkable to town center and accessible throughout Portland with a 10 minute drive. I would definitely stay here again. Our host, Rose, was wonderful to work with and available if requested. Thank you for a great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, superior bath, excellent bed.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staying in a great little walking neighborhood.
Liked least: ceiling was a bit low but it did not really matter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kla720198...
Madisonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My fiancée and I could not have asked for a better place to stay while visiting, Oregon. Rose was so sweet and really cared about her guest. The room was so nice and perfect for us. We loved having our own private entrance. The bed in the guest suite was super comfy and all together the suite was homie. I recommend Roses sellwood guest suite over a hotel any day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frey2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

When travelling to Portland, I usually stay in a hotel. This was so much better. We stayed in the basement which was dark but had everything we needed, including a very nice bathroom. Thoughtful little details made for a very nice stay. My son really loved the hot tub and I enjoyed the beautiful yard and neighborhood. Restaurants 1 block away, easy access to downtown Portland. Highly recommended. Thanks, Rose!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marycathe...
tacoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So beyond excellent”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
6
people found this review helpful

I honestly did not know what to expect, as I had never stayed in someone's home. Warm, cozy, comfortable and extremely clean.
The area, Sellwood, is perfect for wandering about....great shops and restaurants. And dear Rose, the owner of the home, provides a list of places to go and things to do. Also, a bit of history concerning Portland.
But, enough of that. Rose has done a wonderful job of providing the perfect place to stay. She was out of town, but we communicated. The location is great for easy access into downtown Portland. I would recommend this little slice of heaven to both people I know, and strangers alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was the best
Liked least: not a thing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you Mary Catherine for your kind words. I am thrilled that you had such a positive experience. That is what I strive for with all my guests. Since we talked after your departure, I know that I will get to see you again next time you are in town.
Warmest regards
Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamflorid...
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Quaint”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Rose is the best! And little Suzie Q her pup is the sweetest. The house is quaint and well located-Sellwood area is fantastic-great restaurants and bars within walking distance. If you are larger or taller, i'd suggest renting the upper floor of the house as the basement guest sweet has lower ceilings. Would be perfect for someone traveling alone as bed is against the wall and have to get the other person up if you need to use the restroom in the middle of the night. Well equipped with fridge, microwave and any necessities you'd need for a visit. Gorgeous back-yard area with hot tub. LOVED the fact she has a washer/dryer set-up readily available for your use-was extremely helpful. Greeted late at night by cookies, milk and local berries. Would definitely stay with her again-she is a wonderful hostess. Parking space on street in front of house in case you have a vehicle. Bathroom is not attached to the bedroom/kitchenette space-it's about 2 feet from door directly next to but do have to be in public hall space downstairs to access. There are a few steps leading down from the door into the area for those that might have trouble with stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Sellwood location was fantastic, quaint home, convenient
Liked least: Low ceilings, bathroom not attached
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading_t...
READING
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Rose's suite is a very nicely appointed, conveniently located residence in the pleasant area of Sellwood. Close to restaurants, grocery stores, bike paths, and shops. The hot tub was an extra treat, as was the dish of blackberries with cream that she provided on our first day. Had only two problems: Rose hadn't changed the key code so we couldn't get in when we arrived. Fortunately the cleaning lady was there to let us in or we'd have waited outside somewhere for an hour until Rosé arrived. And there's a low ceiling between the living area and the bed area that my husband smacked his head on several times. (He's 5'11"). Rose was the great hostess others have mentioned, and we would definitely stay here again if we are in Portland.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: Low ceiling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
I enjoyed having you two stay in my guest suite. I am sorry for the delay in getting the code set for the door. I was delayed at a furniture store while trying to load a new dining set for the suite into my car. It had to be dismantled and it took more time than I imagined. My cleaning lady is in charge of guests when I am not available so she also acts as my assistant.

Basements ceilings in old houses are not always as high as the main floors. In this case, there is an air return vent in part of the kitchenette that is lower that the rest of the suite's ceiling. I worry about it being a hindrance but I have had guests stay for extended periods who were as tall as 6'5" without incident. My own sons are tall, the youngest being 6'9" and they prefer to stay in the suite when they visit. I suggest that you try staying in the owner's home next time you visit as the ceiling heights there are 9' tall. Additionally, the amenities are greater and the space is almost three times larger.

I look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing